We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty hotel and a long way from the city centre” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arion Cityhotel Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
Ranked #196 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dirty hotel and a long way from the city centre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

We booked this hotel as it was cheap and we just wanted somewhere to sleep one night. The hotel is dirty with stained carpets everywhere. The room had a kitchenette but no equipment in it. Not much point in travellers having a kitchen if you can't even find a pot to boil water, much less find a spoon (or any) eating utensils. Couldn't try the cooker as we had no equipment to cook with. Staff were somewhat helpful and thankfully spoke English (my high school German couldn't cope). We didn't try the restaurant, but didn't like the look of some of the characters hanging around the bar/restaurant at night. Not our most comfortable experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank real_kiwi_bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    118
    74
    30
    18
See reviews for
93
82
11
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The room looks outdated but at least it was clean and the AC was working. Quite far from town - expect a 15 euro taxi ride. There was Wifi but it wasn't working during my stay.

The staff service was OK but when I asked for a favour (whether I could get any change for a euro note) I was told that "they were not a bank" by none other than a manager! They could just have said no. Appalled by their manners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Caras severin Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

I was Really surprised to see how spacious the apartment was. Modern, Nicely lit, fully functioning a/c, nice American kitchen. Very efficient staff. Big, nice breakfast. All this for 50 eur a night! It's certainly the place to stay when in Vienna

Room Tip: I certainly recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N0ne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were staying at this hotel only because my high school was on a music tour of Europe and this accommodation was cheap. It was the worst hotel I have even had the displeasure of staying at. You can live with a bit of outdatedness, even a dodgy AC or slow lift, but the cleanliness was zero. There were stains all over our apartments carpet and a moulded sock in a corner of the room. It reeked of cigarette smoke and was close to unbreathable. The rooms were cleaned- simply beds remade and towels replenished. Other rooms which our group had included: vomit smells, stained pillow cases with red and yellow spots, cigarette buds everywhere and dark stains set into the shower. We warned of theft. People in our group experienced theft. The staff don't help at all and few speak English or German. At breakfast prepare to not eat with cutlery. Out of my four days there- 3 I didn't have a spoon for cereal and 1 I had to butter my bread with a spoon. Tablecloths and plates don't look washed and have stains. The hotel is far out of town, with red light districts advertised at the lift phamplet section. The only two positives I see we're free wifi and comfortable beds (oh and that's we're still alive!). The cleanliness must improve. Dont stay unless you live filthily.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessiekouli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

its far from center of Vienna you have to go by bus ,tram,metro,or by car.The staff is very helpful.Big room,clean,good service,very good breakfast.Free parking

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARISc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Go for it! If you like to be waken up by your neighbour's AC or to be sure when they shave or brush their teeth behind a partition that is so thin that you think that there is an intruder in your bathroom. Or you can stumble downstairs to the toilet in the maisonnette room and then wait when the AC you turned on with the light will finally stop. Never again.

Room Tip: Maisonette rooms on the top floor are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ekaterinburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

The rooms are not so big, but enough for a couple.
Great breakfast.
Poor WiFi. Works only near the reception.
Very far from the center and metro. To get to the closest metro station, you have to walk about 20 minutes, then take an expensive tram, where tiket machine accepts only coins :(. By tram you have to go about 7 or 8 stations.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Rodya0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Neubau
Pension Pharmador
Pension Pharmador
#36 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lenas West
#223 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Hotel Altmann
#253 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Dobling
Derag Livinghotel Kaiser Franz Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arion Cityhotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arion Cityhotel Vienna

Property: Arion Cityhotel Vienna
Address: Hintschiggasse 1, Vienna 1100, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#139 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Arion Cityhotel Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Many thanks for your interest in the Arion Cityhotel. In the best convenient position to the Vienna city-centre as well as to the business district of the Wienerberg shines our newly renovated hotel jewel. Free car-parking and the recreation area Wienerberg make her stay in combination with our big hotel-rooms a pleasant experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Arion Cityhotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Apartmenthotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing