We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" Nice hotel "”
Review of Hotel Kummer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kummer
Ranked #56 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“" Nice hotel "”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed there 8.10.2013 for two nights, hotel looking very nice from outside or inside "classic" but if you like modern hotels maybe You should book somewhere else.
We had room 310 and enough space in room even big bathroom.
Location is great for shops, restaurants as You are on famous street for shopping.
WiFi only in lobby but most hotels are same.
Breakfast is nice, plenty choice. Staff very friendly and ready to help of course.
I will stay there again :o)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    402
    83
    22
    9
See reviews for
145
429
55
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great Hotel from the 1800 well kept,the decor is beautiful,the facilities are nice,rooms are great.The location is perfect,close to the metro,just across the street,also is not traffic on the street so it make it great to walk around where you going to find a lot of shopping and restaurants.Safe to walk even at night,this place is in the center of everything .Rooms are nice and very spacious.Friendly staff,they were a great help with information.I recommend this hotels for couples.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosanamuscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. The room was very large, as was the bathroom. There was a full size tub, and my husband and I each enjoyed a soak in it. It's on top of a metro station, which is fantastic, and only a short walk to the museum quarter. Breakfast each morning was wonderful, though it seemed to get a bit hectic around 10 am (service ends at 10:30). Staff was always very helpful. We'd definitely stay here again and recommend others stay here as well. Note the double room was two twin beds pushed together, which we haven't found uncommon in our travels, and we found the beds exceptionally comfortable.

Room Tip: Our room on the 5th floor had a great view of the aquarium, an old flakturm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here in September. Asked for a twin and got a double room. Probably because there was no room to swing a cat in it.
I'll list below the good and bad
Good
Staff are friendly although not totally competent.
Breakfast was good -gluten free bread provided
Shower had good pressure and hot water

Bad
Tiny rooms
Rooms needing upgraded
No WiFi except in lobby
6 tables outside for smoking
No tea or coffee facilities in room
Air on is fixed at 22 degrees
Noisy if room is front facing

No way is this a 4 star hotel... 3 yes
The walk in rate is 250 euros for a double.
We paid 108 euros via booking.com and still I did not get value for money
I am usually good with reviews but would not give kummer my businesses again.
Not recommended

Room Tip: Back of hotel is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were looking for something affordable that was close to the museums and we made a good choice. This property was small, and on a busy street, but was close enough for us to walk to the major museum sites. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was nice. They also included wifi in our rooms which allowed us to stay in touch with family.

Room Tip: Ask to not be on the low side of the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlefler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in one of the main shopping streets in Vienna, close to metro station, so it` s well connected to the rest of the city. I stayed for five days at the end of july in one of the single rooms on the second floor. Room was facing the street, but there were no noise. It was spacious enough for a single room and very clean. Breakfast was excellent, and the whole staff (mostly younger people) were very pleasant. I would gladly stay here again next time I visit Vienna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sania11000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed after booking by Expedia so paid reasonable rate. In great position ,above the underground station so getting about both cheap & easy. Street very busy but we were in room facing side street so nice & quiet, as was the fantastic air con.
Staff were all keen to help in any way. Breakfast was good including gluten free bread for my daughter. Room was totally clean and had everything you could need with exception of wifi (in public rooms) but free.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the side road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#86 of 361 in Vienna
1,198 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Hotel Pension Corvinus
#188 of 361 in Vienna
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#22 of 361 in Vienna
1,080 reviews
Mariahilf
Austria Trend Hotel Anatol Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
#164 of 361 in Vienna
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kummer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kummer

Property: Hotel Kummer
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 71A, Vienna 1060, Austria (Formerly Kummer Hotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Family Hotel in Vienna
#53 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#104 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kummer 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in traditional building situated in the heart of shopping area, between Westbahnhof & the State Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kummer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kummer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing