We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“over and above expectation”
Review of Hotel Kummer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Kummer
Ranked #57 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
israel
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“over and above expectation”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is excelent in any and every point of view. Nice and well maintaind rooms, helpfull front desk, rich breakfast and very clean. Not in the real center but the underground is 10 meters oposite the hotel entrance.
Only negative point is no free wi-fi in the rooms.

Room Tip: We had the junior suite on the 5th floor. Little noisy if you have to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Hotel Kummer, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback concerning your recent stay at the Hotel Kummer!
We are of course delighted to hear, that we have exceeded your expectations and most of all that you were pleased with our helpful team members.

Thank you ones again for your comments. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. In this case, please do not hesitate to contact myself personally.

Yours sincerely,
Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Hotel Kummer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    402
    83
    22
    9
See reviews for
144
429
55
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great location, right across the street from the subway line.

Awesome breakfast. All you ever want for breakfast. Fresh and good. Remember this is not an easy thing to get a hotel.

Wonderful aspect, both outside and inside the room. Large rooms, a lot of space, charming bathroom.

We had a view right on the MariahilferStrasse, with windows however soundproof so nothing woke us to early, even though there was a lot of traffic.

The only downside is the price of the WiFi. I really hate it when hotels try to mess with you by overcharging the internet. Seems tacky.

Other than that, thumbs up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MihaiBrasoveanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Hotel Kummer, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

we want to thank you for taking the time and letting us know about your experience!
We are happy that you had a pleasant stay and besides our good location, enjoyed our standard and service.
Regarding WiFi access, we do offer this service complimentary for all our guests in public areas. We apologize, if this was not communicated to you correctly during your stay.
Thank you ones again for your constructive comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
In this case, please do not hesitate to contact myself personally.

Yours sincerely,

Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Hotel Kummer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

From the airport by pre-booked taxi (32 Euros) it took about 30 minutes to reach Hotel Kummer which is ideally located on one of Vienna’s main shopping streets and about ten minutes walk from the museum quarter. The hotel entrance leads direct the reception desk and small lobby area. A bar is to the left and the restaurant leads on from there on a lower level. Around the sides of the central area of the hotel is a wonderfully grand, wide staircase.

My room contained all one would expect for a four star hotel; mini bar, room safe, flat screen TV, air conditioning, wi fi access, bathroom with bath tub and shower and a very comfortable double bed. I found it difficult to reduce the heat (Vienna was hot at the time) but fortunately the windows could be opened and the quiet location of the room, at the back of the hotel, meant that no noise disturbed my sleep. Wi fi access in the room was expensive at over 20 Euros for 24 hours but free wi fi was available in the lobby and bar areas. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of hot and cold items including fresh juice. Hot food included egg, bacon and sausages. Hotel staff were efficient and friendly, adding to a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vanmunchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, for Mr Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Hotel Kummer, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and giving us your feedback regarding your stay,
we are of course very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at the Hotel Kummer.
We know how important a good breakfast is for a pleasant stay and want thank you for the positive feedback.
Ones again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asyut, Egypt
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

as i mentioned in the title, the most important character in this hotel is its central location being just opposite the Underground station and in the middle of Mariahilfer strasse wich is a main shopping street in Vienna. breakfast was OK for me as most of the meat are of pork and i do not eat it. the rooms are spacious and clean but downside is no Free WIFi (only complementary 30 minute voucher) and no kettle. staff was good and some of them are friendly (when they have time). will definitely go back again when in Vienna

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Hotel Kummer, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback about your stay.

We are of course very happy that you enjoyed your time at the Hotel Kummer.
Considering free internet access for our clients, we are always looking for ways to further improve this Service also in our guest rooms.
Next time you are with us, we can show you our deluxe rooms and junior suites, where we also have tea and coffee making facilities.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and please do not hesitate to contact myself personally.

Yours sincerely,
Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Hotel Kummer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have just come back from a few days in vienna, we stayed for 1 night at the hotel kummer. An exccellent hotel, excellent lcation, clean room and great breakfast. Will deffinatley be back. Price is reasonable too. The only comment I wanted to leave is that it took us ages to check out! Just beacuse they had a small group check in, doesn't mean you need to take over 20 minutes to check out. To say it all, the group leader was a complete pest and nuisance, it was as if she was taking over the whole hotel. But still, these things should be taught of by the management and if need be, extra help is sent to reception to help out. But as I said for the ret, the hotel is a thumbs up.

Room Tip: 3 rd Floor is finne. Elevator access is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Hotel Kummer, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feedback regarding your .

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The Hotel Kummer' s location is indeed something we are happy about,
we are sorry for your waiting time at check-out , our front office manager is looking for ways to avoid something like this in future.
Ones again, thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Please do not hesitate to contact myself personally.

Yours sincerely,
Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Hotel Kummer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hotel Kummer is ideally located on the main shopping street Mariahilfestrasse, just over the road from Neubaugasse Ubahn station. You can either take a 15 min walk to the Hofburg complex or a 5 min train ride right to Stephansplatz. There is a cinema showing latest English films two mins up the road.
The hotel staff are really pleasant and helpful, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Only downside is no kettle in the room also be careful when taking a shower that you don't get water all over the floor. Breakfast is tremendous great selection of meats, cheeses, fruit and cooked food. Will definitely go back here when next in Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlelambsie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Hotel Kummer, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time and letting us share your experiences during your stay at the Hotel Kummer.
More so, we are very happy that you seemed to have been satisfied with quality and level of service at the Hotel Kummer, specially in regards to our breakfast and the helpfulness of our team members.
In regards to providing a kettle in the guest rooms, I can inform you that we actually do offer this service only in certain room categories, of course also our bathrooms vary, depending on the type of room booked.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and please do not hesitate to contact myself personally.

Yours sincerely,
Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Hotel Kummer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed at Kummer Hotel for two nights for business in July 2012 and I could not have been more pleased. For me, being near the Kunsthistorisches Museum made it the perfect location. It's a 15 minute walk at a city pace, 20-25 if you're strolling. Mariahilfer Strasse looks like any city centre shopping district, but don't let that put you off as its location is convenient to several museums.

I had a single room (booked by my employer) and for those accustomed to European hotel rooms, it is plenty spacious enough for one person and includes a work desk and an area for your luggage. The bed was very comfortable and as I was on the 4th floor, it was also very quiet. The pillows felt like feather, but they were in fact foam -- very useful if you have the alluring affliction of asthma such as myself. The room was utterly spotless as well.

The breakfasts can only be described as amazing. I ate so much from the massive banquet that I didn't need lunch on either day. As this was included in my room rate, this saved me a bit of money.

I had one of the best dinners of my life in the hotel restaurant as well, and discovered Viennese wine! If you are a fan of red wine, you must try it. Ask the hotel restaurant staff for a recommendation.

The only negatives are that there is no free wireless in the rooms, and no iron. I can live with wrinkled clothes, but if you're there on business as I was, having to go down to a desk by reception at 10pm to prepare for meetings the next day is a bit inconvenient. For this reason alone I give the Kummer Hotel four instead of five stars. If the in-room internet is not an issue for you and you love museums, good sleep and wonderful food and wine, then you will find this hotel is perfectly suited.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lady_Rhubarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, Ladislaus E. Batthyány, General Manager at Hotel Kummer, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback about your stay.

We are of course very delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Kummer and that standards and service in all areas were as you expected.

In regards to free internet access for our clients, we offer this service now in all public areas of the hotel and are looking into ways to further improve this service in the guest rooms.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future and please do not hesitate to contact myself personally.

Yours sincerely,
Ladislaus E. Batthyány
General Manager
Hotel Kummer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#87 of 360 in Vienna
1,178 reviews
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#25 of 360 in Vienna
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#49 of 360 in Vienna
926 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
Hotel Fuerst Metternich
#162 of 360 in Vienna
372 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Pension Corvinus
Hotel Pension Corvinus
#192 of 360 in Vienna
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kummer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kummer

Property: Hotel Kummer
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 71A, Vienna 1060, Austria (Formerly Kummer Hotel)
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#51 Family Hotel in Vienna
#53 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#104 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kummer 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Commercial Hotel in traditional building situated in the heart of shopping area, between Westbahnhof & the State Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kummer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kummer Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing