We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and spacious room. Good value for money.”
Review of Hotel Nestroy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Nestroy
Ranked #179 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed in a junior suite room in the main building where reception is. It was a good size, warm and comfortable. Room was cleaned to a high standard daily with fresh water and toiletries.

Hotel is not right in the city centre but is literally a 5 minute walk to two different u-Bahn stations. It's easy to walk to the centre of town in about 20-30 minutes which we did easily on several occasions. Also handy for the train to the airport. Get on the S-7 train to get to Prater which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

Didn't use the bar or have breakfast so can't comment on this. The only negative I would say is the housekeeping staff called quite early in the morning-just after 9- on a few mornings when we weren't ready so I would recommended popping the 'Do not disturb' sign up if you rise late! We had little to do with the staff during our trip but generally although never unpleasant, we did not find them particularly warm or friendly.

I would certainly recommend this as a good value, clean and comfortable hotel in a decent location.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fkmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 584 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed in a double room, which thankfully have no carpets. Something my asthma really appreciates. The room is good sized, and clean. the beds comfortable, and the bath is nice too.
The hotel itself is approx. 5 minutes from the underground, and is located away from the main roads, which means that it is quiet, something that means a lot when traveling on business so a good nights sleep is secured.
The staff are friendly and professional, always prepared to help with directions, attractions, tickets to concerts etc.

I always stay here when in Vienna, and probably always will. Why change a good thing?

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDobbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is a comfortable hotel located near some Vienna's landmarks. Although it takes 15-20 min walking to get to Stephan Platz, you have a subway station very close which helps you to easily move from the hotel to any place in the city. They have the main building and some others around. We were assigned to a building in front of the main one. Rooms are clean, space is good, clean bathroom and in general well equipped for a hotel this category. They offered for rental tablets with a city guide that help you to easily identify the places you want to visit, and guide you on the route. Suggested walks guide you to easily visit the city with no time waste trying to get oriented by yourself. I recommend this place to stay in Vienna for family vacation

Room Tip: I did not stay in the main building, but rooms in the building across the street are good, convenien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cholupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Nestroy is within easy walking distance of the major attractions in the centre of Vienna - we walked everywhere while we were staying here. Nothing particularly special is located nearby, but since you can walk to the Innerstadt or Prater, this is not an issue.

The room was of adequate size and reasonably appointed. Bed was fine, not super comfy but by no means uncomfortable.

Bathroom and shower were good - even had two hand basins?!?

Breakfast was nice, and reasonably priced.

Front desk staff were helpful, organizing tours for us and giving advice on catching a train to Prague.

Overall, good value and a very pleasant stay - I might not necessarily seek out this hotel if I returned to Vienna, but would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beiwzd, Ass. General Manager at Hotel Nestroy, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comment here on Tripadvisor.
It’s a pleasure to here that you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with our service.
I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Daniel Zwieb
Ass. General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER&Nestoy Wien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Location was good within easy walking distance to subway. Breakfast was included and was a buffet of cereal, and meat & cheeses with bread. It was ok, but nothing to look forward to. Room was spacious and well furnished.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I wrote thie review having in mind that we're dealing with a 4-star rated hotel. My first impression of the hotel was not exactly the best, but it got improved afterwards. That "negative" first impression occured because the hotel is having a secondary building which is not mentioned on the website of the hotel (by the way, this is not quite ok) where they wanted to accomodate me. Based on one review which I have read here, I have refused this offer and asked for a room in the building with the reception and the restaurant. There was no problem in getting a new room.

The room: large enough, with a nice flat TV, a really efficient air conditioner, a large wardrobe, a nice and efficient mini-fridge, a large enough working desk (I was in Vienna for business purposes), free-of-charge coffee and tea and a king size bad :D. The negative aspects of the room were that part of the furniture was painted blue (personally, I would rather have it in a warmer colour), the power sockets were not so well distributed inside the room (I haven't been able to find them, I had to ask for help at the receptionist and the receptionist, a young asian lady, was very nice and she helped me instantly with this issue) and the working desk was quite noisy, it was creaking.

The bathroom: that was really a large one (circa 3,5 x 2,5 meters), with two sinks (i didn't understand why is there a need to have two sinks...), a WC and, surprise, just a shower cabin. I would have preffered a bath tube or so, but there was only the shower cabin. At least, there was hot water available at any moment and the housekeeping staff was every day taking very good care that the room and the bathroom were clean and that there are enough soap, shampoo and toilet paper.

The Internet connection: there is no extracharge for it and it is quite a decent connection. Not the best, but definitely a good one. You only need to get from the receptionist a password which you can use for connecting and that's it. I have got a 7-days password, but I suppose that other types of passwords are also available.

The breakfast: the breakfast room could have been a little larger, but it also does the job in the actual configuration. It is nicely decorated and the furniture inside it shows good-taste. The food selection is not the "richest" which I have seen, but for sure it is a fair one and the quality of the products is a very good one. The only negative aspect which I have found was the milk, which is not natural milk, but it is made from milk powder. I consider it a negative aspect because I am quite a milk consumer and I always choose for the natural product. The breakfast restaurant also has a kitchen, so you can also ask for some other cooked products (fried eggs, for instance). The breakfast staff is very nice and always ready to help and to serve you.

As other people have said before me, the hotel is in the close proximity of some of the public transport stations: subway line U1 (Nestroyplatz station), subway line U2 (Taborstrasse station), bus line 5A.

Overall, it was a nice experience. I consider the offer of this hotel as a fair one, I would come again to stay at this hotel and I would also recommend it to other people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Călin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Excellent hotel in a central location...concierge staff is great. Three blocks from two metro stations,walking distance to the ferris wheel and park.

Rooms are spacious and spotless...restaurant and bar overpriced, and empty.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Imlauer Wien
Hotel Imlauer Wien
#75 of 359 in Vienna
738 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 359 in Vienna
1,021 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
Hotel Ibis Wien Messe
#141 of 359 in Vienna
1,249 reviews
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#164 of 359 in Vienna
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nestroy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nestroy

Address: Rotensterngasse 7A, 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $88 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nestroy 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nestroy sits on a quiet street, a 15-minute walk from the Prater amusement park with its giant Ferris wheel. Tarborstraße U-Bahn station is 2 blocks away, and it's a 15-minute walk to St. Stephen's Cathedral and the sights of the historic Old Town. The hotel blends a traditional facade with a contemporary interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Nestroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Imlauer Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing