We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby rooms”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #105 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Great location, great staff, courteous and helpful, very good breakfast but the rooms are worn and shabby. Lighting is poor in room. Temperature too warm and difficult to control. rooms need a complete revamping. Not a four star hotel!

Room Tip: rooms on the north side, away from the Ring are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your feedback. Apart from the location, I have got the impression that you liked the 'software' but not so much the 'hardware' - which I actually take as a compliment for us.
May I suggest you choose a contemporary Deluxe Room or Maisonette for your next stay and I am sure it will come up with your expectations.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again. Kind regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,590)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 1,590 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I chose the Hotel de France because it was close to everything, including the Christmas Markets. The staff was helpful, the hotel was very nice, and our room was comfortable. Our favorite part of our stay was the wonderful breakfast buffets. There was a large selection, and the wait staff attentive. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely add breakfast when staying there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleHappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for feedback and recommendation. Christmas markets are soon coming this year again!!! Hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Best regards, Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hotel de France in Vienna for a week. We were pleasantly surprised to find a charming hotel with a very courteous staff. The room was very clean with two bathrooms !! The location is excellent , within walking distance of many attractions , and a subway stop. A terrific value.....highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, Geneal Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your feedback and your recommendation. I wil certainly pass it on to my colleagues to get them even more encouarged.
Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just came from Vienna and stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. Hotel is really nice and clean and the best part its in the good location. Rooms are big and clean. the breakfast was really good. but hotel needs to change their pillows , they were really uncomfortable. Almost all of the staff are nice. Special thanks to Tom who was a great help with any questions you asked him cant say this about all the concierge people ( that's why i cant give an excellent mark) one of the concierge was not helpful and some kind of rude. other wise we liked the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoya S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It's the first time that we have to learn about the pillows, but will have a look into this matter.
With pleasure I have read your comment about Thom which I will pass on immediately.
We hope to welcome you back!
Kind regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

we stayed 3 nights .Hotel is well situated Staff were brilliant and the general decor outstanding The bedroom was good but not as great as one might have expected, bearing in mind the prices.Nevertheless the breakfast was truly amazing . The "bargain"at light lunch or evening supper is the sausages, bread , mustard and horseradish in the Atrium there..seven euros. Generally very happy to go again but note public rooms rather too warm for our taste

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, onbehalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the De France. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Bets regards
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our third visit to the Hotel de France, which we choose because it is on the Ring, close to transport and in easy walking distance of all the central Vienna locations. We had a car this time and parking near the hotel was easy on the weekend, but in the week there is timed parking in the surrounding streets until 10 pm - an initiative of the Austrian Greens to get people out of their cars, we were told. As a consequence we asked the hotel to park our car in he local garage which they did with great efficiency.

The room was very spacious and well-appointed and kept very clean and the breakfast bar was efficient and well stocked with a wide variety of comestibles. We did not dine in the hotel on this occasion.

All in all the staff were courteous and very helpful and when next in Vienna we would return to this hotel.

David C

Room Tip: If you want quiet and don't care about view, then rooms facing the inner courtyard are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, onbehalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am thrilled to hear that you have stayed at the Hotel de France three times already and have enjoyed each stay. Thank you very much for this sign of confidence!
We are looking forward to welcome you again for your 4th trip to Vienna and remain,
with kindest regards,

Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I used this hotel during a business trip to Vienna and found it excellent. The price the I got the hotel for was very good using alpharooms.com. When we arrived in a hire car we wer met by a porter who said he would look after the car and move it into their garage overnight. The decor in the hotel was very nice, clean and in line with a 5* hotel. The room was spacious, big and well-equipped bathroom, airconditioning and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was a buffet style but very pleasant with a lot of choice.

The location is about 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre where you can find plenty of bars and restaurants. If you have a car that has been garaged overnight be careful as you will be presented with a charge of Eur 26 for the service the following morning. We did not eat in the hotel and I just had a peep at the drinks pricing which seemed quite high. We just went to a restaurant in the city centre and on the way back, we founf an Irish bar which served good drink as well as showing the Champion's League soccer.

Overall the hotel is nice, clean and comfortable but not too much going on in the hotel itself - very quiet. Having said that we were there for only one night and that's what I'm basing my observations on - it may be different at weekends etc.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeK999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Just in order to provide correct information: The price for the valet parking is 1:1 the price the garage is charging itself. The valet parking service is free for our guests, but you certainly should have been informed in advance about the charge.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, I remain with best regards
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#39 of 359 in Vienna
1,322 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#13 of 359 in Vienna
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#52 of 359 in Vienna
928 reviews
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#37 of 359 in Vienna
1,271 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#86 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#97 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $130 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing