We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a budget 5 star hotel”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #97 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a budget 5 star hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I've been there on Oct 2012. this hotel is opposite the Japanese consul so that many Japanese stay here. the location is Ok, not so far from those scapes but not in walking distance. but this makes the hotle quiet. I've booked the Junior Suite here. the room is lovely becasue it has 2 floor, both floor has bath room, bed room is on up floor. 2 floors makes the room felt quite big. however, the room is not that well furnished. Facilities don't reach 5 star level. no free bottle water offerred. services and cleanliness are ok. breakfast is buffet style which is good. the prices of this hotel is valued. this is why I choose this hotel.

Room Tip: Junior Suite is just a little expensive than the deluxe double room. so it's more valuable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fish_Ting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    641
    232
    74
    23
See reviews for
196
733
61
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, so close to the city centre and within walking distance of many attractions. Our room was quiet, clean and very spacious. The breakfast in the hotel was very good and had lots of choice. The staff were friendly and helpful.

There is a really nice Italian restaurant opposite the Rathaus along with Café Landtmann.

We will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We highly appreciate your feedback - you have mentioned almost all our USP's.
- location
- breakfast
- friendly and helpful staff
We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon,
Kind regards,

Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

So close to the centre of the city, based on location alone, I would stay here again. There is some differences with the size and standard of the rooms, but you can check this. Overall the Hotel is great, it is quiet, the staff are helpful and friendly, restaurant food good and overall it is good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank metz58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a great pleasure to read your review. Such nice and appreciative comments, thats exactly what keeps us going.

We hope to see you again!

Kind regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed at Hotel de France for 5 nights. The hotel was clean and quiet, well situated for visits on foot in the city centre and to access public transportation. Hotel staff were helpful and pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuceHenriette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate all your comments that will certainly encourage other TripAdvisor readers to stay with us.

Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Padre Island, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived, the staff was extremely helpful. Bags out of car, we expected it to be taken directly to garage. Porter told us car could stay in front of hotel until 9 the next morning (Monday) and they would then move it to garage. This was a nice saving. Our original room was to be in front with street view and on lower floor. We asked to be in back with interior view and were moved from 1st to 4th floor. True, there was no view, but the room was quiet and quite large. Double closet with enough hanging room and shelves for clothes. Comfortable bed and pillows, good sleep. The a/c was not yet on, therefore no white noise from fan possible. However, since we were on interior side we could open window to have cool air and there was white noise from air
shaft.
Bathroom large enough with tub and shower combo. Towels need upgrading...time to replace. All fluffiness long gone.
Room was of adequate size with Several chairs, nice desk, pants pressed too.
We had light dinners several times in the hotel restaurant on the evenings that we were too tired to go back out. The other nights we also ate well.

The hotel breakfast is outstanding. Quality and variety excellent. Don't sleep through breakfast. There is just about anything that a heart could desire. The staff brings coffee or tea, but there is a coffee/espresso/cappuccino machine at the back across from the juice/wine table that is wonderful. I think the hotel is a strong 4.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room. Staff will make a change if requested and if alternate room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Hotel de France.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in Vienna,
Kindest regards,

Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My sister had a big birthday looming so I treated her to 5 days in Vienna, doing all the cultured stuff !! Was v excited about booking a 5* hotel in the city and kept it a secret from her as a big surprise as she thought we were going down market B & B. Well the room we were taken to was appalling. I have posted photos to demonstrate the awful room. The beds were so small that I kept falling out ( 2'6) the bathroom had a small shower no bath. The outlook onto an internal space was dreadful as the decrepit brick wall was about 5' away from the window and had enormous pipes running along them. The wardrobe was tiny and cheap and tatty........ The disappointment was immense. I cried. I headed straight to the front desk and complained. The helpful gentleman was sympathetic and promised to upgrade us the following day. The upgrade to a deluxe room was most welcome and the outlook couldn't be more different. I am so grateful for this turn of events..........have posted photos. Very clean, very good location, nice staff, but have major reservations as to whether or not this hotel should be marketed as a 5 star accommodation

Room Tip: Don't settle for a poor room Reception staff are v helpful, but u will be disappointed if u en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helenashenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest.

I am pleased to hear that your stay at the Hotel de France ended up happier than it has started, thus I hope to welcome you once again in Vienna!

Kind regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stay in Vienna quite a lot for business and was fortunate to try a lot of different hotels around the Ring. This hotel is OK. It's right next to a subway, so very convenient. Breakfast choice and quality is great, BUT... rooms are tiny, clean but could use an upgrade soon. Not a bad stay, not a great one either... Better choices available in same price class.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbirdtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We would love to welcome you back soon to be able to accommodate you in one of the spacious Deluxe rooms or Maisonettes on the top floor. The small Classic single rooms, approx. 10-12 sqm, bookable via our homepage only are a sepcial offer ( EUR 99,- to 115,- including breakfast per night) to guests for a 1 or 2-nights stay.

Kind regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#40 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Josefstadt
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
#169 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#41 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#86 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#97 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing