We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #104 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Really lovely hotel in great location. Breakfast buffet was excellent offering hot and cold options. Our room was very spacious with two bathrooms and we were provided with bathrobes, nice touch. The room was very quiet at the back of the hotel but because of that was very dark with hardly any natural light. Overall really enjoyed hotel for comfort and location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Dear Guest!

I am pleased to read your feedback! Thank you!

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael Pohn
General Manager
Hotel de France

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,614 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Overally I had a good impression. Slightly old-fashioned, but very clean and with a great location (less than 50 metres to transportation means, tube and tram). Staff is very polite and helpful, though, as everyone said in my business company (people from 6 different countries), unfriendly..Room was rather spacious - espacially for one person - and quiet with one full bathroom and a seperate shower. Bed was low and mattresses were soggy and caused kind of back pain. Buffet breakfast is nice, great variety, though I expected more regional goods, such as apple strudel, sacher cake etc. Wi-fi worked very slowly and if you are working is quite annoying! And every day or if you reached 200 megabytes (which is very little) you have to go to the reception and get another name and password for each device..

Room Tip: all rooms do not have the same view. I suggest you ask for a room with a view in Schottenring strass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiki116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Situated on the northern part of the ring, 50metres to tram and underground stations, but easily walkable to city centre attractions. Slightly old-fashioned hotel but clean and comfortable with great staff who are very friendly and helpful. Excellent buffet breakfast served in bright airy room. Did not eat at restaurant as seemed expensive and we wanted to eat traditional Viennese food in places with typical Austrian character. I had booked a double room but was shown on arrival to a fairly small twin room. As it was our Ruby Wedding Anniversary, I explained that we would prefer a double. We went out to eat and on our return found that we had been upgraded to a much larger room with queen-size bed!!! WiFi worked in our room but was a bit slow. TV worked fine but hotel could invest in some flat-screens!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor were typically larger than on the second. Rooms were very warm but the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynCambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ordered with hotels.com. Deal seemed too good to be true and was just that. Room was rather spacious and quiet with one full bathroom and a seperate shower. One could not shower in the bathroom without dangerously flooding it. Bed was low and mattresses were soggy and caused back pain. room had a two windows, both facing walls so one could not see the outside, the feeling was that of a prison cell.
Staff was polite and helpful when addressed, yet inspite od "do not disturb sign" housekeeping invaded the room one day. Breakfast is very nice. Location superb.
We stayed at the nearby Hilton Plaza before - nothing to compare!

Room Tip: make it known that you know of these rooms and refuse to stay in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very disappointed to read via TripAdvisor only, that we could not meet your expectations and would have loved been given the chance to react immediately on your complaints.
Maybe you return to Vienna sometimes again, probably choosing the De France again as well and booking a spacious Deluxe room or even a Junior Suite on the higher floors with the most mangnificent view.
Yours sincerely,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Pros - located in the center of Vienna, everything is close on foot, also U-Bahn is nearby. Tea/coffee facilities in the room.
Cons - old furniture and very low speed internet. In the 21st century this is not acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton_RF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your feedback.
Just a short comment on the internet. We offer free WiFi and you are right, the throughput is limited but can be easily upgraded to high, high speed internet :-) at charge. Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

To start with some positives, the location of the hotel is OK, just in Schottenring, which is approximately 15-minutes walk from the most important places in Vienna. However, this was the only positive impression I had.
This is officially 5* hotel, but what I experienced felt like a 3*-standard in Poland. First, this hotel is simply old and outdated and desperately needs renovation (e.g. TV set in my room could well be placed in a museum of the 80ies). Then, service & quality: having booked a non-smoking room, I was given a room that resembled a smokers' lounge in an airport (you know those glass cages filled with people & smoke?). Everything smelled with cigarettes, so I asked for the room to be changed. After a long time at the reception desk, I was given the smallest room I have ever seen in a 5* hotel. But there was a bed, so I wasn't complaining... soon it turned out that the the room was overlooking Schottenring and that the windows were manufactured in times, when nobody knew the word "soundproof". This room was awfully noisy.
I guess this is enough to ruin a weekend stay in a 5-star hotel. So just add an incredibly small breakfast area, which was so overcrowded that I had to wait for a table and people were queueing to get food from the trays... half of which were empty. Add the waiter in the hotel restaurant (called No. 3), who looked offended that I ruined her evening, being blunt enough to order a glass of wine. And add the driver of the hotel limousine, who took me to the airport, thinking he is Michael Schumacher and Vienna streets are like Monza circuit.
Never again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheButterflyEffect75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your feedback.

The Hotel de France was switched to a complete non-smoking hotel but we needed to change a lot of the furniture and other things in the past smokingrooms. The change took time, because some of our classical furniture had to be renovated. I am very sorry, that one of the last rooms to be cleaned from all that smoking, gave you that experience.

I would be pleased, if you would give us another chance to prove, that our service and our rooms improved and the team and I can give you a much better experience of the Viennese hospitality.

Once again please accept my apologies.

Yours sincerely,

Michael Pohn
General Manager
Hotel de France

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Last stop of my Europe trip was Vienna - Hotel de France is extremely central to public transport and infamous ring rd... All the well noted architectural attractions are in walking distance...
I found the hotel to have an old world feeling which I loved !! The stairwell is a marble and has beautiful artwork all the way up. The rooms are spacious and very well kept. The staff were particularly helpful & the breakfast is really nice - quite extensive as well as salmon, cheeses and champagne :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your positive impressions. Hopefully you will return to Vienna and the Hotel de France. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

Kindest regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 359 in Vienna
1,361 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 359 in Vienna
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#75 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#85 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#96 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $125 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splitty, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing