We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If they make a renovation we’ll probably return.”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #99 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
spain
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If they make a renovation we’ll probably return.”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

- The rooms are quite big but are completely old and a refurbishment is needed urgently.

- You can’t control the room temperature and we had to sleep with the window open because the temperature was completely high. Is completely bizarre because we went on December, and the temperature in Vienna is around 2-5 ºC!!

- The room has a strange smell, we supposed due to the old carpet and a questionable cleaning. I am sensible to the dust and in the night I had some minor breathe problems.

- As other reviews mentioned, the TV is a “vintage”. We don’t really care, but is funny to find this kind of TV in today’s hotels.

- The bathroom is quite modern (more than the room), has a great shower is everything you need.

- The breakfast is great! You can find almost everything you can expect. Juices, cereals, different breads, yogurts, cheese, ham, fruit, eggs, bacon, sausages, crepes….
In general the breakfast staff is not completely friendly, but we supposed is the Austrian style.

- The reception staff is quite friendly.

- Internet is included in the room, but is extremely slow, but enough to check the e-mail and the pages of the attractions.

- The best thing of the hotel is the situation. Close to main attractions, a metro station in less than 50 meters, with some good cafes and restaurants to eat.

If they make a renovation we’ll probably return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USGAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Mr Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback and your positive comments on our breakfast selection and our friendly staff, which were very much appreciated!

We have also taken note of your other comments regarding a renovation and will forward it to our owners .

We are looking forward to welcome you again to Vienna soon.
Yours sincerely,

Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    661
    234
    76
    24
See reviews for
200
751
64
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Lock would not work on outside door. Was fixed at eight in morning when we were in bed. Manager was very rude. Rooms were old fashioned and cold. Not very central and no assistance or help offered from staff as to how to get around the city or where to visit. Windows would not close properly in room. Staff were not friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BByrne11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

I use this hotel for my business trip to Vienna. The style is a little bit too old fashioned. However the service is good and the rooms are fine. The locatin it's pretty good for moving around into city centre and very well connected by public transportation thanks to subway an tram stations just around the corner.
Negative point it's morning coffee and cappuccino. Maybe the worst I'ver tasted.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Altarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Mr Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel de France.
Your comment about the morning coffee prompted us to recheck on the quality again and re-evaluate our supplier. Thank you for mentioning it!

Best regards,

Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The room is small (even for a European hotel). My room didn't even have a desk. Even an Ibis has a desk!

The rooms could use a refresh as well. The bathroom was re-done, but the room itself was sad and very dated. The television was a small CRT (think big heavy things that haven't been in hotel rooms since 2004).

The temperature controls didn't even work in my room.

The restaurant is quite good (No3 it's called). But don't order dessert, it was always disappointing.

Point forms:
- Breakfast is better than usual.
- Internet is free, but VERY slow (Swisscom, I hate those guys!)
- Bed was comfortable, but tiny little pillows. All four on my bed were equal to one normal pillow.
- Eager house-keeping. They were knocking on doors at 8:00 on my floor.

Overall I would not stay here again. Location was good though and the staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Tip is don't stay here if you want a good size room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I regret that you were not satisfied with your room during your stay at our Hotel De France. I have also duly noted your other comments and passed it on to the relevant departments. Hopefully you will come to visit VIENNA again,

Yours sincerely,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

When we arrived as part of a pre-paid ( and not inexpensive trip through European Destinations.com ) we were shown a very small room on the fiorst floor, with one chair
and very little space to move around in ( this is supposed to be a 5 star hotel??) I then
requested and received an upgrade...the room was lovely, but should be, for over $100
a night extra.....instead, it was unbearably hot the first night (they have either heat or a/c--not both!) when we opened the windows, the stree noise was unbearably--motorcycles, garbage trucks in the early a.m. hours etc. To correct the situation they placed a fan in my room
(after telling me the air conditioning would be back on, (it was unseasonably warm) but again,
you needed windows open....at check out I was given credit for one diet coke from the mini-
bar to make up for 4 nights loss of sleep! This place is ludicrous...not a skilled concierge on
the premises, you are really totally on your own & Good Luck!

Room Tip: Go when you need heat badly
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

I regret that we could not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconveniences caused. As already explained in our reply to your email the air condition is only in operation during the hot periods of the year. Therefore we had shut it down by the middle of October as normally this is more than sufficient. Unfortunately – or luckily – quite as you like - we had one very hot day in October, which was much to our surprise.

Once more please accept an apology for the unfortunate circumstances.

Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 6 nights with five other family & friends in three rooms. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable, and the service was friendly and efficient. The included breakfast buffet was superb, and the one evening meal we had in the dining room was refreshingly different and of good quality. Their recommendations for other not-so-touristy places to dine were very good. Location is excellent for visiting the city - within easy walking distance (we like to walk) of most "old town" attractions, and both subway and tram services are close by for longer treks or when you have had enough walking. Room wifi service was free and availability good. If the bar is busy in the late evening, they could have a bit more staff. An older hotel, but very good value for the price when the main use is to rest for the night.

Room Tip: The three rooms we had were 317, 318, and 343 and there were no complaints by anybody. There were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbob155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at the Hotel de France.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you have rated us so positive.
Furthermore I am thrilled that you mentioned the positive 'can-do' attitude of our staff. I will certainly pass this on to my team.

We hope to welcome you again to our Hotel de France in the the future.
Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The main rooms in the hotel are very nice. The breakfast is great and there is a fantastic variety of food BUT THE ROOMS ARE TIRED and really need refurbishment. Th window in our room was frosted luckily - as the view from our room was the back of the hotel looking at another room. It is at least a ten minute walkj to any variety of shops. Monsay 1st November is "All Saints" day and nothing was open.Something which our travel agent negleted to tell ujs. So in reality our 3 night 2 full day break turned out to be 1 full day and one day with nothing to do. None of the english speaking channels worked on our tv and gthere was only one chair in the room! All in all a bit disappointing. However Vienna is a beautiful city and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: wish I knew a tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamper453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#34 of 360 in Vienna
1,221 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#55 of 360 in Vienna
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#86 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#97 Family Hotel in Vienna
#102 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing