We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #98 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 6 nights with five other family & friends in three rooms. Rooms were clean and beds comfortable, and the service was friendly and efficient. The included breakfast buffet was superb, and the one evening meal we had in the dining room was refreshingly different and of good quality. Their recommendations for other not-so-touristy places to dine were very good. Location is excellent for visiting the city - within easy walking distance (we like to walk) of most "old town" attractions, and both subway and tram services are close by for longer treks or when you have had enough walking. Room wifi service was free and availability good. If the bar is busy in the late evening, they could have a bit more staff. An older hotel, but very good value for the price when the main use is to rest for the night.

Room Tip: The three rooms we had were 317, 318, and 343 and there were no complaints by anybody. There were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbob155032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay at the Hotel de France.

I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you have rated us so positive.
Furthermore I am thrilled that you mentioned the positive 'can-do' attitude of our staff. I will certainly pass this on to my team.

We hope to welcome you again to our Hotel de France in the the future.
Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

The main rooms in the hotel are very nice. The breakfast is great and there is a fantastic variety of food BUT THE ROOMS ARE TIRED and really need refurbishment. Th window in our room was frosted luckily - as the view from our room was the back of the hotel looking at another room. It is at least a ten minute walkj to any variety of shops. Monsay 1st November is "All Saints" day and nothing was open.Something which our travel agent negleted to tell ujs. So in reality our 3 night 2 full day break turned out to be 1 full day and one day with nothing to do. None of the english speaking channels worked on our tv and gthere was only one chair in the room! All in all a bit disappointing. However Vienna is a beautiful city and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: wish I knew a tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel de France as part of a group touring Vienna. In the months prior to our stay, the tour manager was shown the rooms that would be provided to our group. When we arrived, what was promised and what was provided were totally different. I was given a room no more than six by ten with a frosted window and a television that must have been one of the first manufactured. Along with the tour manager I went to the front desk and complained about the room. I was followed by a number of my fellow travelers who had the same complaint. After being told there were no other rooms available, and after some talk in the back room, they made the room changes.

Despite this bait and switch, the hotel was clean and the breakfast exceptionally good.

Room Tip: See the room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micki Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a good hotel for business and tourism as it is in the very center of Wien, walking distance from the main attractions of the city. The service is overall acceptable, but the rooms are clearly old and in need of renovation. On the positive side, the breakfast is really good with quality foods, variety and good coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Santa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel de France so much, especially that you commented so positively about our buffet breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Sincerely,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Nice hotel in a great location. The public areas were very pretty and the rooms well done. Would like a little more light in the room. The mattress was very firm and was not comfortable to me personally. The breakfast was very good with many selections. Our dinner at the hotel was very good. Loved all of the beautiful light fixtures. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated.

I hope that the next time you visit Vienna, you will once again choose to stay at Hotel de France. We shall look forward to welcoming you.

Sincerely,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very nice location, near City Center, and yet not too congested. Situated in a very convenient location. Loved the decor, modern, yet old world charm- very nicely done up. A true hidden gem. Wish we had stayed longer. We stayed at the Sacher Wien also, but loved this one much more than that- go figure! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Every room is good. And very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freespirit5568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October. We also stayed at this hotel 6 years ago and liked it very much then. The rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast bar was excellent. The service dsk was very formal but efficient. We booked 2 similar rooms but they were not the same size - one was a big room with 2 (two!) bathrooms overlooking the internal yard, the other was smaller and overlooked the side street. Unfortunately this smaller room was located at the wing which had an undegroundtrain line underneath, and although we were on the second floor of the building with high ceilings, we could hear and feel the vibration caused by underground trains passing under the hotel,
We arrived at the hotel at 8 o'clock in the morning after the night on the train. As the check-in time is only 2pm, we knew we would be not able to get a room earlier. but asked if it would be possible to have an extra breakfast and include it in the bill. We had a very sleepy child and did not want to leave the hotel until he wakes up. To our disappointment we were told we could not do that and were sent to the hotel bar where we could get only hot drinks (coffee, tea etc.) It was a disapointing moment for us, We have never been in similar circumstances refused a breakfast we were ready to pay for (at 26 Euro per head!).
I also must say that I found the mattresses quite hard. I have a feeling that the rooms' amenities are not similar fromn room to room as I do not remember any problems during my previous stay at this hotel. During my previous stay we had a similar category room overlooking the Ringstrasse, it was very quiet and the mattresses were very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front wing, not above the metro line, it is much quieter there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swissmurka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kraber, on behalf of Michael Pohn, General Manager at Hotel de France, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all I want to thank you very much for your detailed feedback.

I am pleased to read that you had decided to stay at the Hotel de France again after 6 years and that your repeat visit was worth 4 points.
Albeit I have to apologize for the disappointment upon your arrival. Of course it is possible to have an extra breakfast and I very much regret that you were given this wrong information.

We are looking forward to welcome you to the Hotel de France again - hopefully it will be as soon as possible.
Best regards,
Michael Pohn, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,388 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#14 of 358 in Vienna
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#2 of 358 in Vienna
1,895 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: Schottenring 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#85 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#102 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $121 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de France 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vienna City Hotel de France is the first address for an unparalleled holiday in Vienna, the capital of Austria. In this exclusive hotel no wish stays unfulfilled during your city trip to Vienna. The charming Hotel de France lies in Vienna’s first district right by the famous Ringstrasse, one of the most beautiful boulevards of the world. It is perfect for extensive shopping trips through Vienna. One of Vienna's landmarks the Stephans Dome - is situated in direct proximity to the hotel. Free Wi-Fi and hot buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De France Vienna
Hotel De France Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing