We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Ranked #78 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Parkhotel Schoenbrunn is located in a very nice area, just next to the Schoenbrunn Palace ( all you have to do is cross the street and enter the palace's garden). The area has many coffee shops and restaurants with terraces and some nice boutique shops too. One can reach the city centre in about 10 minutes from Hietzing underground station (that too is just across the street).
Had a very nice room, very spacious (for European standards), with a big terrace facing the always quiet inner courtyard. This was a deluxe room so maybe that's why tea-making facilities were there.
Breakfast was very good, with good coffee. Food in the cafeteria was good too and the staff there very nice and helpful.
I wasn't so happy with the cleaning staff, they didn't really clean and they didn't supply the toiletries .
I slept very well for the first three nights but the fourth one (I find getting some good sleep before traveling quite important) they had a wedding party. I called the reception twice and asked if they could slightly lower the volume but nothing happened, on the contrary. They did close two doors on the hall but that didn't really help. So I had to bear some loud Arabic ( I believe it was ) music till about 2 am. I even tried to enjoy it but that didn't work out.
I was expecting the manager to offer an apology (I'm sure I was not the only one bothered by the loud music) but that didn't happen. Just a written note would have been ok. After all, I pay so that I can sleep.
Overall it was a nice stay and I would probably go back there but I would avoid the weekends or make sure there's no party planned.

Room Tip: As far from that ballroom as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreea2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    382
    116
    34
    22
See reviews for
190
443
34
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were booked in on a tour so I was not expecting the best rooms in the house. But the room we were assigned gave a whole new meaning to "close to the elevator" - we could hold the elevator door open while standing in our doorway. The front desk was able to find us a quieter room in a different section of the hotel, although we had to get used to the confusing hotel layout to find it. The elevators were tiny, just the size to hold one couple with their basic airline luggage allowance. There is only a small place to pull in at the front of the hotel for check in, and taking bags off the bus was precarious, with streetcars and traffic passing by with very little clearance. Bags had to be pulled in over steps, and there seemed to be a shortage of staff for porterage.

Once settled in, we appreciated that our room was quiet and spacious with good bedding and a quiet if dated decor, and we slept in great comfort for 2 nights. I don't believe our room was completely renovated. It took time to get used to the odd placement of switches and outlets at waist height - I kept reaching for a higher location. The TV had a lack of English channels and we soon tired of BBC and CNN news.

We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet which had a great assortment (European style) and sparkling wine. It was the best of several hotel breakfast buffets we experienced. The set evening meals for our group were also the best ones we experienced on our tour.

The location of the hotel was excellent for visiting the Schoenbrunn palace - it is just across the road. And there are many shops and restaurants along the street, although they are not open late, with shops closing at 7 o'clock.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTravellerToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

A rude porter, not providing tea making facilities until I had to go down to the reception personally (because no one would answer despite calling for more than five minutes ), not replenishing tea bags and tissue paper boxes, person checking mini bar coming into room without knocking at all, inability to provide a corkscrew for opening wine bottles.

Not worth it. Don't come here at all. The snobbish people will just ruin your holiday

Helpful?
2 Thank Lim C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Onchan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

All too brief 2 night stay in Vienna; even before arrival the reception staff had responded quickly and accurately with information about the room and helpful advice for reaching the hotel from the mainline station. The room was comfortable and spacious; if a long walk from reception this was unsurprising given we'd booked through lastminute.com . The breakfast buffet was marvelous but then it should be for 17€; we were happy to pay this but the cost was not advertised, maybe it should be at least in the rooms? Only criticism is that there was no tea-making facility in the room; it was charmingly explained that this was because of our 'package' but in fact one was then provided free of charge. Location is excellent; peaceful with first rate links into the centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Callow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
396 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a recently renovated hotel. Some of the rooms still keep the old furniture, though. Rooms are pacious for european standards. It is very well located near the Schoenbrunn Palace; actually, the lateral entrance to the palace garden is a few steps from the hotel. Attentive reception personnel, good breakfast, nice cafe (though not exceptional). It is near Schoenbrunn palace, but far from city center; it thus depends on what your are planning for your trip. Our room had no air conditioning, only a vent. It made no difference this time of the year, but might be bad during summer time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ok you know hotels have no refundable policies but when you book almost 8 months ahead and have to cancel because you simply made an error, you would think the hotel would know they will book that room as they will have plenty of time. They don't budge. I call that bad business and know that when you call the front desk they are extremely rude and very cold you then know never to recommend nor book this hotel.

I think when a hotel has many months and they are notified shortly after their reservation they should cancel. But greed is more important than taking care of a guest who may have come back, especially a travel agent.

Room Tip: Find a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annasimpkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Very nice hotel in a quiet environment, close to metro station and just at the Schönbrunn Palace. We stayed there with a delegation of tourism experts and the feedback was very positive in general. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beliz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#76 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Margareten
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Holiday Inn Vienna City
#59 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#36 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna

Property: Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna
Address: Hietzinger Hauptstrasse 10-14, Vienna 1130, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Hietzing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#56 Family Hotel in Vienna
#65 Business Hotel in Vienna
#72 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel, once the Emperor's Guesthouse, located opposite the Schoenbrunn Castle & Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Parkhotel Schoenbrunn Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing