We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel With Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Ranked #122 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Ramat HaSharon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel With Great Location”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Located next to the historical part of Vienna.
Hotel staff is very nice and helpful.
Hotel rooms are newly renovated.
You can find few nice restaurants right next to the hotel.
The great cathedral is 5 min walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ohad I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Ohad,
thank you so much for your feedback.
I am happy to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
We look forward welcoming you again in Mercure Wien Zentrum!
All the best from Vienna

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    719
    220
    59
    22
See reviews for
206
714
88
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked the hotel via a top secret hotel/last minute on the basis it was four star and centrally located. The hotel has two buildings and I suspect we were allocated the older building judging from the outside and the foyer. The staff were efficient and friendly upon check in. Rooms were adequate but a bit small however for a one night stay fine. Location was good and close to several restaurants and bars. There was a computer with wifi use downstairs which was handy and there free coffee and water. All in all a decent stay for the price paid.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinnyboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for remembering us! I am glad you had a good time with us, also if it was only for one night.
It would be a pleasure to welcoming again in Mercure Wien Zentrum!
Best regards

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is the best hotel in our trip.
Its location, staff friendliness and quality of service was excellent.
Only disadventage of this hotel was rest room door, it is glass and has a huge hole on it.
It cannot be locked and unsafe especially if you have a toddler.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your terrific review of your recent stay with us!
I am happy to read that we are a memorable part of your trip!
Everyone will gain daily motivation from your nice words: thank you so much!
I hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon in the near future.
All the best from beautiful Vienna!
Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After staying in a B&B in the days prior arriving at Vienna, staying at the Mercure Wien Zentrum felt like heaven. There was free wifi and it is conveniently located in the city. Lots of food and shopping around the area. You can easily walk within the historic Old Town. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twendymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your terrific review!
I am really happy you felt like heaven with us! I hope you had a nice journey and I wish to welcome you again soon in Mercure Wien Zentrum!
All the best from Vienna,
Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We selected this hotel because of its location and it turned out to be even better than we expected. Centrally located and walking distance from all major attractions. Tram and U Bahn stations were just 5 mins away, so made travelling around the city a breeze.
Rooms are slightly small, but in Vienna I suggest you spend more time outside than in. Luckily the weather was perfect during our visit, so did not have to test the airconditioning system.
Mixed reaction with the staff as had 2 ladies (can't remember their names) who checked us in and were always helpful. With the shift change, the service levels dropped.
Thanks to the hotel and the 2 ladies for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rohit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay in our hotel.
I am pleased to hear that your stay with us was mamorable! I will pass your feedback also to the other lady which helped you with the check-in: I am sure she will be happy to hear your words!
I wish you all the best and stay at your disposal for your next trip to the wonderful Vienna!
Best regards,

Elena Covelli
Guest Relation Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Excellent location , close to all types of transport , including the airport bus.
5-10 minute walk to all major attractions.
Surrounded by many restaurants & bars , but the hotel is quiet .
Staff VERY friendly & helpful , ESPECIALLY the reception desk staff who helped me sort out a problem with returning my hired car. The hotel does not have a car park ,only an agreement with the nearest paid car park.
Great breakfasts, adults & kids found plenty to choose from.
Booked 4 rooms well in advance , after reading reviews on trip adviser, & we were given rooms
in the classic building . Rooms were small but very comfortable & the extra bed we requested , made things a little cramped.
Only problem was that we arrived during 40 degrees + heat wave & the only real air conditioner was in the lobby! But our rooms were cool & the staff gave us bottles of cold water. Very few places in Vienna have air-cond !!!
We were told that the hotel is installing air conditioners in the near future.
Wifi is free & there is a pc with printer in the lobby.
All in all I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for describing your experience with us!
I am really glad to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel,, took advantage of our phenomenal lacation and that the staff made you feel at home!
It would be a real pleasure to assist you for your next trip to Vienna!
All the best,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We enjoyed our recent stay in this hotel. It has an excellent location being a 5 minute walk from an underground station which is one stop from the CAT terminus and which has lines which go to most of Vienna's major sites. Stephansplaz is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel and it is central to other areas of central Vienna. We were in the annex which didn't have a bar or restaurant but within easy walking distance there are a large number of bars, cafe's and restaurants so this didn't matter to us.
We would have liked to give the hotel an excellent rating but it is jaded and tired. Carpet in the corridors was stained and grubby and in fact was cleaned on the last day of our stay. Our room was adequate in terms of size but had very little storage space for clothes for a multi night stay, a lot of our clothes had to remain in the suitcase which could not be stored anywhere - furniture was of a standard usually found in an Ibis hotel, functional but not pretty. The bathroom was compact but contained everything needed and like the bedroom was cleaned to a high standard. We stayed during a heat wave with temperatures not seen for over 50 years and the air conditioning managed to cope. Turning the temperature dial didn't make any difference but the room was a pleasant temperature to return to. Breakfast was served in the hotel and we found it to be good value with a full selection of food with items replenished promptly.
The heat curtailed our activities in Vienna so we didn't see as much as we wanted to but we do want to return. Would we use this hotel again? Yes we would but would want a room with more storage space and with a more "upmarket/" feel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WH56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for taking some time a write such a detail review of our hotel!
I am glad that you could enjoy our unbeatable location in the heart of Vienna!
At the time of your visit we were experiencing a incredbly hot weather. I am really happy to hear that despite of that you had a good rest in your room!
We hope to welcome you back soon in our hotel!
Best wishes,
Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 362 in Vienna
385 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 362 in Vienna
948 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#23 of 362 in Vienna
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#130 of 362 in Vienna
245 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#59 of 362 in Vienna
442 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#50 of 362 in Vienna
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wien Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wien Zentrum

Property: Mercure Wien Zentrum
Address: Fleischmarkt 1a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Vienna
#80 Family Hotel in Vienna
#89 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#89 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wien Zentrum 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Vienna in the historic city centre. Not only business life of the city takes place in close neighbourhood, also cultural life pulsates all around : St.Stephans cathedral, the State Opera, the recently re-opened Albertina, Hofburg, Museums Quarter and the exclusive shopping areas are within walking distance. The hotel offers all facilities for a perfect stay and more: individual service with Viennese charm and the world famous Viennese Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wien Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Wien Zentrum
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing