We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4* really”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Ranked #121 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not a 4* really”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I expected much more from a 4* hotel in Vienna. First of all, there are are two buildings of this hotel, I think I was staying in the old one which is on a 'hill'. Wifi didn't work very well, was always connecting and disconnecting. Room was clean, ok, but still you could see it was a very old building and needs renovation, if they want to be considered as a 4*. The most important thing is that the double bed, were 2 single matresses next to each other!!!! Breakfast was too simple, cheese and hams, cornflakes, only cold dishes basicly.

Other than that, there are nice places to visit nearby, restaurants and pubs, and the metro is just 3 mins walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McMar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your precious feedback about your recent stay with us.
Our hotel is divided in two building: a modern one, with entrance on Fleischmarkt, and a classic one with entrance on Desider Friedmann Platz. In the first one we have our Standard and Privilege Rooms, in the second one our elegant Classic Rooms in viennese style, so something for every taste!
I deeply regret that at the time of your stay we were experiencing issues with our Wifi network. Please accept my deepest apologies.
I hope we will have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel!
All the best,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    732
    227
    58
    23
See reviews for
209
725
89
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights in the Mercure and really enjoyed our stay. The location of the hotel is second to none; only a brief 3/4 minute walk into the centre of town. The hotel itself is basic; the bar was lifeless and we did not eat in. However the rooms were well maintained (if not a little small & dated) and the staff were lovely. Although close to the centre the area itself is very quiet and there was little or no noise at night. Lovely stay and would definitely recommend as a convenient base to explore Vienna from.

Room Tip: The normal rooms are very small - perfect if you are out all day exploring, but a little claustropho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanTDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for leaving a review about our hotel here on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to read that you had a comfortable time with us and you would recommend us for visiting the beautiful city of Vienna!
Once again thank you for your feedback.
Best wishes,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel in June for 3 days for touristic purposes. It was close to many restaurants and cafes, some tourist attractions, city tour buses and the main shopping streets. There was a metro stop at 5-6 minutes walking distance.There was free wi-fi in the rooms and it worked very well.Also there were 2 computers for guests to use in the lobby( so thoughtful and nice ) The room was not big but well designed,there was a minibar in the room but not a coffee maker(maybe because of famous cafes in the city they didn't need to put one).The bathroom was nice and clean.The breakfast was excellent with many options.All staff was wonderful-front desk was so helpful and smiling and kind all the time.People working in the restaurant were also so nice. I really liked this hotel and want to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Femme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear guest,
I am really happy to read your positive comment and I would like to thank you for the time you spent in sharing your experience with the readers of Tripadvisor.
We will be happy to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best wishes from Vienna!

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our spotless room on 8th floor, near the lift, was absolutely quiet and pleasanty cool in the summer heat. Staff friendly and most efficient, breakfast 4 star standard: one negative point: "powder" instead of fresh eggs used for scrambled eggs, good selection of cheese bread and fresh fruit. We will come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank steiny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for describing your recent experience with us!
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedbacks and your words give us all the right motivation to offer you always the best service.
We will be happy to welcome you again in our Mercure Wien Zentrum!
All the best from wonderful Vienna,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent several days there. First we had small room, but we upgraded it to a suite in the old building.

In general it is nice hotel with good service. The receptionists were helpful and always answer you with a smile. The best was the Italian lady, Elena, however, the experience with all receptionists in this hotel is good and pleasant. It is only the cleanliness that I have some issue with. Also, the internet in some areas hadn't been working properly. We were in Salzburg Suite.

Room Tip: Salzburg Suite is nice, But don't take Classic room because they are really small
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maithem a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear maithem a,
thank you so much for your valued feedback! I remember you both with joy and it put a big smile upon my face to read that you remember me as well!
Cleanliness has the highest priority by us. Please rest assured that what you experienced represents an exception for us and I already talked to our housekeeping manager to prevent future occurrences. I hope you can accept my sincerest apologies.
I hope you had a safe journey and I wish to have the chance to welcome you back in the near future!
Warm greetings from sunny Vienna,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best part of the hotel was its location. Very close to the Ubahn station, city center (all shopping malls, restaurants etc). The rooms were nice but I expected more from this hotel being this is a 4 star. The overall look did not seem to be of that of 4 star hotel. However, the hotel staffs were very helpful and courteous. The breakfast was expensive for us (EUR 17 per head), we had ours in a cafe shop close by (there are so many choices in this location).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjaysaha81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for leaving a review here on Tripadvisor.
We really regret that our hotel didn't completely meet your expectations. Please accept my sincerest apologies. I am glad to read that you felt at ease with the staff and you enjoy our perfect location in the heart of Vienna!
It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards from beautiful Vienna,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This hotel is no-nonsense, affordable and right smack in the middle of everything. We walked to all events such as the Stephansdom, Kursahl, Freud's apartment, and the Lipizzaner stables. (and one of our travel companions is 92.....) Rotenturm Strasse with a variety of interesting stores and lots of outdoor patios, restaurants and cafes is right around the corner. The hotel has wireless and two fast computers in the lobby. The staff is always there, happy to assist, and extremely polite and helpful. The breakfast buffet is extensive and will keep you going for most of the day. We enjoyed being able to end our evenings with a nightcap on the little outdoor cafe adjacent to the hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the street side and weekends get lively in the neighborhood. The windows seemed to be pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etyontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your great feedback, it was a pleasure for us to read your positive and
motivating words regarding your stay with us!

We are already happily looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel!

Best wishes from sunny Vienna

Katharina Moustakas & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#35 of 360 in Vienna
423 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#134 of 360 in Vienna
980 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#125 of 360 in Vienna
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#71 of 360 in Vienna
456 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
501 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#55 of 360 in Vienna
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wien Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wien Zentrum

Property: Mercure Wien Zentrum
Address: Fleischmarkt 1a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Vienna
#80 Family Hotel in Vienna
#86 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#89 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wien Zentrum 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Vienna in the historic city centre. Not only business life of the city takes place in close neighbourhood, also cultural life pulsates all around : St.Stephans cathedral, the State Opera, the recently re-opened Albertina, Hofburg, Museums Quarter and the exclusive shopping areas are within walking distance. The hotel offers all facilities for a perfect stay and more: individual service with Viennese charm and the world famous Viennese Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wien Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Wien Zentrum
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing