We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Ranked #117 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Colchester, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“small room”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed here with my wife May 17 - 20. Location was very good. Room was clean and the staff at the desk were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good. The review is for 3 stars because the room was very small, perhaps for a lone business traveler. Even with the room being so small, I would still consider this hotel if in Vienna again if I can get the room at the right price because everything else about the hotel was good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for writing about your experience with us.
I am glad to ear that you would reconsider being our guest in the future!
I hope you had a safe trip back home and wish you all the best from sunny Vienna!

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    742
    227
    58
    23
See reviews for
212
733
90
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Mercure Wien Zentrum from 5/9 - 5/12/13 and it ended up being somewhat of a disappointment. We arranged for a car to pick us up from the train station through the hotel and unfortunately our driver left when we arrived. Our train from Prague encountered a 20 minute delay during our trip to Vienna, so our train arrived approximately 25 minutes after the estimated arrival time. We had to take a taxi to the hotel because apparently the hotel drivers will only wait 15 minutes for guest to arrive.

The hotel itself is split into two buildings. We stayed in the “classic" style building which was located up a slight hill and not too far from the other main hotel. Overall – we were disappointed with the comfort, size, and cleanliness of our room. Our room was situated on the third floor and did not have much of a view as it was facing the backside of another building. In addition, our room felt pretty outdated and was equipped with an older TV set, tacky carpet, had very little closet space, and reeked of cigarette smoke. The bathroom was the size of most cruise ship bathrooms and the shower area was a very tight fit. We noticed that the ceiling had many cracks and sections were held up by tape. The Wi-Fi did not work in our room and only worked in the lobby.

Despite the disappointing accommodations, the best part about this hotel were definitely the staff and the locations. Amina in particular was extremely energetic, helpful, courteous and patient and answered all of our questions very professionally. The staff all spoke excellent English and were very accommodating to us and we definitely appreciated their assistance, suggestions, and advice. One could not ask to be in better location as our hotel is situated about a block and a half away from the Schwedensplatz subway station, is in close proximity to numerous bars and restaurants, and is only a few blocks away from Stephensplatz Square where many high-end stores and restaurants are located. The subway stations in Vienna are very easy to navigate and we were enamored with the city’s love of gellati/ice cream. While we certainly enjoyed our time in Vienna and we loved the location of the hotel, we would consider other alternatives for our next trip. We would recommend this hotel for location for sure, but not so much for the overall value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Channer26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you a lot for your detailed review regarding your stay in Vienna.

It`s great to hear the words about our team, we will share your comments with them especially with Amina.

Please accept our deepest apology because of your bad experience in one of our rooms!

It`s very sad for us, that you didn`t tell us at the recpetion, there would be no problem to change you to a completely new renovated and bigger room!

We are also sorry for missed taxi driver at the train station, unfortunately they are only allowed to wait for 15 minutes!

Nevertheless thank you again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards from Vienna

Katharina Moustakas & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights on our first trip to Europe and the hotel was perfect. The room was very spacious, modern, very clean and comfortable, and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were in a lovely large dining room and there as a good choice offered. The hot dishes were excellent and everything was lovely and fresh. The location of the hotel is also fabulous, being just off the main street area, but only a few steps to get on the main central part of the city. We found it nice and quiet for sleeping too. Staff were also very helpful about suggesting restaurants and also had copies of their menus, and were helpful if we needed any bookings made. Highly recommended! We'd love to go back there someday, we loved Vienna and this hotel really made our stay perfect.

Louise and Graham (South Australia)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear guests,

it`s a real pleasure to read your great and lovely feedback regarding your stay with us!

Thank you so much for the nice and motivating words for our staff, we will share your comments with the entire team!

We are happily looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best wishes from beautiful Vienna

Katharina Moustakas & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have just stayed at Mercure Hotel. since i was on corporate rate the price performance was good! i like this chain and usually the quality of rooms is good, this hotel is no exception, good room high standard. good breakfast ( they can have more option for veggies ).

location is great right in city center and freeee wifi!.

i would recommend this hotel for bushiness and pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear dragnot,

thanks for leaving us a feedback on Tripadvisor.
It is an onour for us to read that you would recommend our hotel!
Our location right in the heart of Vienna allows our hotel to be the best starting point to explore the city!
Once again thank you! We look forward welcoming you again soon!
Best wishes,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located in a quiet street in the city center, not close to the Hofburg but at walking distance to the train station connecting to the airport, close to a Red Line subway station, close to the Danube tours, and surrounded by pubs and restaurants. I've stayed at the business part of the hotel (the main building is located the other side of the street), with wifi and breaksfast included (good breakfast, diversified and well served). Small lobby, with self-service espresso coffee, open-access computers, just a few seats. Enjoyable room, not large but not too small, with work space and much light. Compact but well equiped bathroom. Smiling and helpful staff, nice small touches (smiling yellow duck in the bath tube, glasses [not plastic cups] in the bathroom, umbrellas in the lobby when it is raining,...).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingTheWorld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for writing a comment about your recent stay with us!
Receiving good feedbacks is for all the staff the best motivation as we strive to offer the best services. I am really happy to read that you felt comfortable in one of our elegant Classic Rooms and you enjoyed the free Nespresso Coffee and the Computer in the lobby.
We will be pleased to welcome you again in Mercure Wien Zentrum.
All the best from sunny Vienna,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapporo
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just spent two nights at the Mercure Wien Zentrum. Excellent location with easy access to most things people will want to see. My room, 207 was stylish and comfortable. Traveling alone it's fine, but I don't like the fogged glass bathroom door with a hole for opening and shutting the door. If you're with someone else it would be pretty hard for them not to see when you're on the toilet. On the plus side, I like the ceiling shower head. Downstairs, Breakfast had a very good selection. And the hotel is about 2 blocks from the airport bus stop, another plus. Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xClark-Griswoldx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you very much for taking some time and writing us a review on Tripadvisor!
I am glad you had a comfortable stay with us and you could enjoy the fabolous location of the hotel!
Please be assured, that we also have rooms with wooden doors for the bathroom, which guarantee the privacy needed! It will be a pleasure for us to show them to you in occasion of your next visit in Vienna!

Best greetings from blooming Vienna!

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Before I start my review, let just state that the location of the Hotel is excellent and the staff working there are absolutely great!

The first positive impression of the hotel came before we even arrived in Vienna, when I contacted them via email to confirm my booking (was done through AMEX Travel) and request a car to pick us from the airport. Communication was flawless and very fast, within an hour I had a reply. The highlight on their service though, was the following: I had booked through Amex Travel a non-refundable room but an unfortunate death in the family forced me to cancel my initial booking. The hotel accepted the cancellation (as I said the room was NON-refundable!) and the staff was very understanding and did their best to find me another room in the new dates.

As for the hotel, its location is excellent! You are 5’ walking to St. Stephan Cathedral and within walking distance to all major museums and sightseeing places as well as a metro station. I cannot think of a better area to stay, if you want to see Vienna on foot or by bicycle. Of course there are many other hotels in the same area, but they are much more expensive (like 2 or 3 times more). For me and my wife, location is paramount when you visit other cities for just a few days, since you do not want to spend your days commuting. We highly recommend to rent city bikes (http://www.citybikewien.at/, public bicycles, very affordable and convenient since you drop them in any station and pick them up later) and tour the city. In addition, the street is very quite. I did see 2 clubs opposite the hotel, but they were closed (I do not know why, since we stayed on the last weekend of April ), so no noise from there.

The personnel of the hotel are extremely helpful and polite. Probably the best asset of the hotel (along with its location)! Everyone in the reception was friendly and very willing to answer all our questions (no matter the time) and provide us with all the help we needed. If you stay there, just let the staff in the reception know that you want and they will take care of it. The people working in the restaurant have the same helpful and polite attitude. A BIG thank you, to all the staff!

We stayed in a standard room, which is well appointed although a bit small. We did not mind, since we spent most of the day outside, wandering around Vienna. However, if you require more space, then maybe you should think of upgrading to a privilege room. The room has all the standard amenities, a safe and also free Wi-Fi is offered throughout the hotel. The room was clean and tidy. In addition, if you want to print something (like your boarding pass if you check online), you can use the PC’s in the lobby which have a printer connected to them and everything is free of charge.

On with the breakfast, which is very good. They offer a big variety of cheese and cold cuts (which are excellent quality and taste), a huge variety of bread and all the standard things, like cereals (big variety), yoghurt etc. Also, there is a nice selection of fresh fruits and fresh fruit salads. On the hot side, you can chose between boiled or scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, potatoes and beans. Lastly, there is a selection of pastries and all are very good (absolutely loved the apple cake). Coffee is really good (they bring you a sizable pot for 2 people) and tea selection is quite extensive.

Concluding, I highly recommend Mercure Wien Zentrum. The location is perfect, the personnel are excellent and everything else is very good. For us, was an ideal hotel to stay and spend most of the day around Vienna. If you want all of the above, at a reasonable price then look no further! But If you want something more romantic and a room that you will spend most of the day in, then you should check other hotels, not so central. We will definitely visit Vienna again and surely we will stay at Mercure Zentrum again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Fanis M,

you left us all speechless with your great feedback: a BIG thank you to you, for appreciating our effort to provide every guest the best service!
I am sure that your detailed review will help a lot of travellers willing to visit Vienna and our hotel!
Thank you very much again from all the Staff: we look forward welcoming you again in Mercure Wien Zentrum!
All the best,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 361 in Vienna
434 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#134 of 361 in Vienna
991 reviews
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#144 of 361 in Vienna
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#77 of 361 in Vienna
458 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#35 of 361 in Vienna
330 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#83 of 361 in Vienna
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wien Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wien Zentrum

Property: Mercure Wien Zentrum
Address: Fleischmarkt 1a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Vienna
#80 Family Hotel in Vienna
#85 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#89 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wien Zentrum 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Vienna in the historic city centre. Not only business life of the city takes place in close neighbourhood, also cultural life pulsates all around : St.Stephans cathedral, the State Opera, the recently re-opened Albertina, Hofburg, Museums Quarter and the exclusive shopping areas are within walking distance. The hotel offers all facilities for a perfect stay and more: individual service with Viennese charm and the world famous Viennese Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wien Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Wien Zentrum
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing