We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very nice interior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Ranked #120 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Great location, very nice interior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The location is simply great. The house itself is nicely furnished, very modern design. The bed is excellent, also the bathroom. Breakfast offers a large variety.

Only at some points you realize that the building itself is older than the interior furniture. For example, you hear some noise from the corridor if people talk there.
On the other hand, the advantage is that you can still open the window - which is impossible in newer buildings.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkreiliger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest!

I am so happy to read that you had a great time with us and I want to thank you for sharing your experience with all the readers of Tripadvisor!
Our location is really unbeatable and it is nice to hear that you could make the best out of it. I am glad to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast and you liked the room’s style!
We will be happy to hear from you soon and welcome you again in Mercure Wien Zentrum!
All the best!

Elena Covelli & Team

Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    719
    220
    59
    22
See reviews for
206
714
88
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'd like to highlight the excelent cost-benefit relation. The hotel is a walikg distance from the Vienna's historical centre. The rooms are spotless, quiet and furnished with comfy beds.
The breakfast is good enough to allow the tourist walk all day long 'till dinner time.
Very friendly staff, worthing to mention the unicannly goodwill of Helena.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice and motivating words regarding your stay with us.
Good to hear, that you could appreciate our excellent location in the most famous place in the city center for your days in Vienna. We are happy that you liked our rich breakfast buffet.

We will share your words about our staff with our entire team and especially with Elena.

We are hoping to welcoming you again!
Best wishes from beautiful Vienna

Katharina Moustakas & team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

The hotel is very well located, rooms are big enough and very clean. There were two problems: on the day of departure hot water in all hotel was switched off during several hours and hotel staff spent too much time to solve this problem. Also, the service at the breakfast was very annoying and the pastry had low quality, there were not fresh croissants, orange juice was not natural one.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adoro15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your precious comments: it was a pleasure to have you with us.

When you departed we had works at our central heating system. We tried to keep our Guests as much up to date as possible and I am really sorry we caused you some inconveniences. Please accept my sincerest apologies.
I would like to thank you also for the feedback about the restaurant: I already forwarded your words to the Restaurant Manager.

I am glad you could enjoy your time here and that you had an overall good experience with us.

All the best from Vienna
Elena Covelli & Team

Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Such a refreshing chance from your average City centre stay. The placd had a light and airy feeling to it. The showers in the bathroom made you smile with a rubber duck sat waiting for you. The interior of the rooms very contemporary. The TV was a little temperamental. It refused to find BBC World News but was happy enough with CNN.

When we opted to watch a movie and the vision kept breaking up. The receptionist keep rebooting until we could watch it and politely advised me she would not bd charging for the film.

As with so many hotels- breakfast is an expensive option at 16euro. Go outside ANC take a short walk to St Stephen's, take any street and you will find charming coffee shops servicing breakfast at less than 16euro for two!

Enjoy this fabulous city is a charming affordable hotel in central Vienna

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tattee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were very pleased at the central location of this hotel and found it very convenient to walk to all the major central city attractions. The staff were exceptionally helpful, cheerful and attentive, and unlike so many hotels, we actually felt that they wanted to establish a bond with us. This was particularly helpful since we stayed for 4 nights and had plenty of questions to address to them. When we arrived they told us about a free Saturday morning walking tour. We decided to accept the voucher for this and were met on Saturday by Regina, a very knowledgeable and welcoming guide, who took us around the Old Town area for two hours. What was great was that she took us down lanes and into courtyards and back alleys which we would never have bothered with normally, but which were historically and culturally of importance. The nature of this tour led us to be more curious about other parts of the city and increased our enjoyment hugely. On the travel side, we arrived at Vienna airport by Easyjet, took a train to Wien Mitte for only 2 Euros each (3.70 Euros back during the rush hour) and walked to the hotel following our map. This was all very convenient and gave us an immediate taste of the city. We were grateful to the staff at the Mercure (of which there are many other hotels in Vienna) and thoroughly enjoyed out time there.

Room Tip: There can be a little noise from the street at night on weekends, but we didn't find it a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for you warm and nice words about our hotel.
We are satisfied, if we read that you could enjoy your stay with us in beautiful Vienna.
We are sorry that you had some inconveniences with your tv.
Thank you again for taking your time to write a comment on tripadvisor!

We are happily looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Best wishes from cold Vienna
Katharina Moustakas & team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I can't imagine a better location to stay in. The hotel is central to everything. It was a bit loud outside on Saturday night but every other night was fine. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. All in all, I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your excellent feedback! It puts always a very big smile on our faces to know that we had an enthusiastic guest staying with us!
I wish you all the best from beautiful Vienna and truly hope to welcoming you soon again in our Mercure Wien Zentrum!
Warm greetings,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is at the center of Vienna. Touristic attractions are at 5 min walk away from the hotel. They had a free two hour walking tour (Vienna at a second glance). Our tour guide was Regina, who was an experienced guide. She just wanted us to comment on the tour and hotel on Tripadvisor. Rooms are ok. Reception was responsive to problems. The sink was fully clogged and it was dripping on the floor also. Reception changed our room right away.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nartbedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to hear about you and I want to thank you very much for spending your time in writing your experience at Mercure Wien Zentrum.

We are offering a free walking tour to our guests who are staying here on Saturday to give them the chance to get the best of beautiful Vienna. This tour is great not only for those who are in Vienna for the first time, but also for those who have been here already as it doesn’t go through the main sight but will guide you around small streets full of history, explaining you what you will not find on a guidebook.

I am really glad you felt at ease with us and I would be happy to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best wishes from Vienna

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#134 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#127 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#53 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Das Tigra
Hotel Das Tigra
#50 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wien Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wien Zentrum

Property: Mercure Wien Zentrum
Address: Fleischmarkt 1a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Vienna
#80 Family Hotel in Vienna
#87 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#89 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wien Zentrum 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Vienna in the historic city centre. Not only business life of the city takes place in close neighbourhood, also cultural life pulsates all around : St.Stephans cathedral, the State Opera, the recently re-opened Albertina, Hofburg, Museums Quarter and the exclusive shopping areas are within walking distance. The hotel offers all facilities for a perfect stay and more: individual service with Viennese charm and the world famous Viennese Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wien Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Wien Zentrum
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing