We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Wien Zentrum
Ranked #118 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great location hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, the hotel is clean enough, its just the wifi cant reach our room in 3 floor, bit noisy at night cause of traffic on the road and too bad the aircon is off so we have to open the wibdows

Helpful?
Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review on Tripadvisor.
I am really sorry to read that the room didn’t meet your expectation. It’s a pity you didn’t tell us, as you still were here in the hotel! We have different room types and we could have shown you a different one which doesn’t face the street side!
The wifi should be working in every room so I thank you very much for the feedback! We will check it immediately on the 3rd floor!

I hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel and surprise you with the quality of our service.

All the best from Vienna,
Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

1,486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    741
    227
    58
    23
See reviews for
212
730
90
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

The room was right in the heart of Vienna which suited us. Close to all the major attractions (including the shops, which were quite something!!!)
We have both been to Vienna a couple of times and always liked the city and the people. The staff at Mercure Wien Zentrum were just fantastic and went out of their way to help us and explained how to get around using the public transport system etc. We also liked the coffee machine in the foyer.
An experience not to be missed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baperloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for leaving a feedback about your recent stay in our hotel! It’s always nice and motivating to know we had a happy guest staying with us!
I am glad you could enjoy our strategic position, perfect for shopping, moving around, visit the main sights.
Everyone here wishes you all the best and hopes to welcome you again in beautiful Vienna and in Mercure Wien Zentrum!

Warm greetings,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at Mercure Wien Zentrum for 3 nights in Sept 2012, and we couldn't ask for better location. The hotel is walking distance to Stephansplaz...ALL of the shops and restuarants are within reach. It is also easy to access the subway system - just walk to Stephansplaz or Schwendenplaz. Becuase it is only two blocks away from Swendenplaz, you can walk to the Twin City Liner easily to catch a cruise to Bratislava. All in all, the location is perfect for our 3 nights.

As for the room, it is a bit on the small size... but we were okay with that. The room was clean, well equipped (no coffee maker, but has a frig). They even surprised us a small bottle of champagn because we were celebrating a special occation. And yes, free Wifi (it is a must!)

One negative: although the TV guide showed 4 English speaking channels, we could only get one...CNN.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SFNL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

I hope you had a safe journey back home. I would like to thank you for your positive feedback, which adds a hint of motivation to our already dedicated job!

Hopefully you will keep special memories of your time here!

Thanks very much also for the feedback about the TV: We are now checking all the TV programs with the technicians!

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in Mercure Wien Zentrum and we wish you all the best.
Kind greetings,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is in a convienient location, near Stephandom and the central city. You can walk to all the city sights. Food in the restaurant is good and the staff are friendly and helpful.
Rooms are a good size, modern and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccardo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for sharing your experience with all the readers!
I am glad you felt at ease with us, that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant Kornhäuslturm and took advantage of our perfect location!
I look forward welcoming you again!

Warm greetings from Vienna

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location less than 5 min from the u bahn and tran stations; and about 5 min walk to stephanplatz. The rooms are tiny and compact; we stayed in a newly renovated room so everything was new and clean. There was not much room and it felt a little cramped. There was variable reception to the free wifi -it was poor within our room and in some spots there was no signal at all. There was much better reception in the corridor and foyer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ll1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your impressions about us on Tripadvisor!
I also thank you a lot for your precious feedback on the wifi: I already called the internet company and a technician will come today to have a look at the wifi signal: we do have 2 routers per floor so the signal should be good in every single room!
I hope you had a safe journey back and hope to welcoming you again in Mercure Wien Zentrum!

All the best,

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great choice if you would like to explore central of Vienna and not sacrifice the comforts of a beautiful hotel room. Although this hotel is under a huge chain Mercure - it feels like a boutique hotel. Rooms are good size compared to many other rooms I have lived in Europe. King size bed, 2 tiny side tables and room for a medium size work desk. My room is actually facing the cinema which is at the end of the street - so it is very quiet - I had a peaceful night. Having said that - some of my colleagues with rooms closer to the intersection of the road found the rooms noisy as bars are just round the corner. So request for rooms that are above their restaurant - perhaps third floor upwards. 5 stars for cleanliness as that is my primary concern when I stepped into any hotel. NO smell of cigarettes or mold which is a plus. I feel that this hotel is newly renovated. Bathrooms comes with a modern forest shower - good size for me (i'm only 5ft4 ). Good selection of cold cuts and breads, fruits and some warm food if you fancy for breakfast. 5 mins walk to 2 main stations - Stephanplatz and Schewdenplatz which is fantastic! Staff was very friendly! I was very happy during my stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors and on your left when you face the front door, (mine's facing cinema, 6th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingsalesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Guest!
What a pleasure to read such an enthusiasm! Thank you very much for your overall positive words, which put very big smiles upon our faces!
I am so glad you could enjoy our unbeatable location, have a good sleep and rest in our clean rooms and a good start in the day with our buffet breakfast!
I take the chance to remind all the Tripadvisor followers that we still have some smoking floors so I invite you to specify your preferences while reserving a room in our hotel!
Once again: thanks for the great feedback: it will be a honour to welcome you again in Mercure Wien Zentrum!
All the best from Vienna

Elena Covelli & Team
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Mercure Wien Zentrum is located in what has to be the most ideal of locations - between the Schewedenplatz and Stephansplatz U-Bahn stations - closer to Schwedenplatz. That's especially useful right now as U1 is closed down from Stephansplatz and it's easier to get around from Schwedenplatz.

The rooms are well-appointed and very modern, with comfortable beds. Wifi is included, and there are a couple of computers in the lobby for those who don't come equipped. We heard good things about the restaurant but didn't end up eating there, with so many options nearby.

The front desk staff were extremely helpful, and can arrange concert tickets or really anything else you might want during your time in the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickB488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena Covelli K, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Mercure Wien Zentrum, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest,
It`s a pleasure for us to read your positive comment. We are happy that you could savour our excellent location right in the beautiful
citycenter of Vienna. It`s good to hear that you like the modern style of our rooms, they are all equipped with free wifi access.
To read about the friendliness of our staff, is the best motivation for us!
We are happily looking forward to your next visit!

Best wishes from Vienna
Katharina Moustakas
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#33 of 361 in Vienna
432 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 361 in Vienna
988 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Topazz
Hotel Topazz
#73 of 361 in Vienna
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old University Quarter
Alma Boutique-Hotel
Alma Boutique-Hotel
#129 of 361 in Vienna
264 reviews
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#38 of 361 in Vienna
315 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#82 of 361 in Vienna
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Wien Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wien Zentrum

Property: Mercure Wien Zentrum
Address: Fleischmarkt 1a, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Business Hotel in Vienna
#80 Family Hotel in Vienna
#86 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#89 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Wien Zentrum 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Vienna in the historic city centre. Not only business life of the city takes place in close neighbourhood, also cultural life pulsates all around : St.Stephans cathedral, the State Opera, the recently re-opened Albertina, Hofburg, Museums Quarter and the exclusive shopping areas are within walking distance. The hotel offers all facilities for a perfect stay and more: individual service with Viennese charm and the world famous Viennese Cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Wien Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Wien Zentrum Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Wien Zentrum
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing