We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and quite unfriendly in parts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Ranked #112 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and quite unfriendly in parts”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Upon our arrival the doorman (who was an older man) was very friendly, but the man at the counter in reception (another older person) wasn't. In fact the way he spoke to us and his tone was quite belittling. The hotel is old and echoed of World War II which gave me abit of the creeps, however our room was very nice, as it should have been as it was very expensive. There was no shampoo in the bathroom, you would think for the price we paid there would at least be shampoo, and the toilet is different - everything sort of sits on a ledge before being flushed down (just about put me off going). The next day we were greeted at reception by an older woman, another really strict face who also spoke with the same tone as what we had experienced the day before. The guy in the restaurant was nice, although we never ate there because breakfast was so expensive. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, its over priced and our WiFi didn't work. The hotel though is in a great spot, right in the heart of the city, and close to everything. We stayed two nights, and I will admit I had an okay sleep, and the rooms were sound proof. When we left there was a young lady at reception, and she was very friendly and helpful and would make a good role model for the other older reception people we had previously met.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank champ1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    340
    128
    35
    16
See reviews for
133
277
35
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We stay at this hotel each time we arrive in Wien. Would say that this is perfect in case you want to visit the city centre, to go shopping, etc. Staff were always very friendly and helpfull. If you travel by car than there is a public parking very close to the hotel and opera.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serban_sn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Contrary to some of the other reviewers I have just spent two very good nights at the Astoria in Vienna. My room (number 128) was on the side, overlooking a quiet street, and in any case had very good double glazing so no sound came in. It was spacious, comfortable, very clean, had a nice bathroom and separate loo. I slept very well.

Breakfast was good, bacon, sausage and nice scrambled eggs. There was a broad range of other breakfast goodies, so something for everyone.

I also had no problem getting WiFi on my iPhone and on my Macbook, both in the lobby and in the room.

And for the centre of VIenna, the location is as good as it gets, a short walk up the main pedestrian shopping street to the cathedral in one direction and the Opera in the other.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The hotel is very nice and clean.The room that we have booked was huge and the bathroom. Good position in the heart of Vienna.

Room Tip: If you are booking an Executive Double room, call to make sure that is a Double.We got a twin room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittybz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Must be the worst hotel iv ever stayed in 166 euro for one night and a sleepless night it was.the bed was 2 single beds pushed together even though I didn't ask for a twin room,there is no a/c so you either keep the windows closed and sweat or open them and hear drunk locals shouting either way you won't sleep.as a so called 4 star hotel there should be a/c in the room it's not good enough for the price.so in summary DO NOT STAY HERE

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dolan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The perfect location and the large room from the quiet hotel side definitely did the job - we enjoyed to stay there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zilber62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were only able to stay in Vienna for three days - hardly enough time to make a dent in the list of things we wanted to see and do... but Hotel Astoria's location provided a great home-base from which to tour the city. It's just a minute's walk to the State Opera House on the most popular shopping street between two very central "U" (Metro) hubs. Arriving from the airport is simple enough if you know how to read a metro map. I mention this because upon check out when we asked for directions for getting to the airport by Metro the front desk discouraged us from doing this saying it would be difficult with many transfers and he would instead recommend a cab. We had arrived by Metro, though, and so decided against his advice. It is one transfer and a very simple process - don't waste your money.

Now a few notes: as many reviews have stated previously, the noise is an issue. The street is very busy until very late into the evening and the windows do not provide much protection for your ears. If you're a light sleeper, I'd probably not recommend it. I am not sure why the hotel advertises as having A/C when only their lobby and communal areas are air conditioned. The rooms are not. And though it wasn't terribly hot outside (in the 70s) it was stifling in our room. We tried to get out early and come back late in order to avoid the heat inside.

I feel that for the price we paid, we got a decent deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellealphabeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#152 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#183 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#61 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#149 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Property: Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 32-34, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#119 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#119 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing