We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Position Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Ranked #113 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Position Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We did a trip to Prague, Vienna and Budapest and loved each of the three cities - each one with their own ideosynchrasies. We loved Vienna, in no small measure due to the experience we had at the Hotel Astoria. The place is picture perfect and position perfect! An old Hotel, spacious and full of character. The renovated old mesh elevator/lift, wide staircases and double entry doors to classicly furnished rooms. We loved it.

The location is superb for tourists wanting to literally be in the city of the city. The pedestrian shopping area is at the door with outsanding shopping and cafes (check out the Viennese chocolate and dessert specialities). The Opera House is around the corner from where the city tourust bus departs for a view of all the sights.

Definitie recommendation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    333
    126
    35
    16
See reviews for
131
270
34
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Our first impressions were postive. The Astoria is a charming old hotel in the pedestrian are of Vienna old town. The room was large and spacious and well furnished. However, our illusions wers shattered the first night. Our room overlooked the main street and with no air conditioning and a heat wave we had the windows open. All night we were disturbed by screaming, shouting and singing from the street. The first night we dismissed it as due to the soccer fans in town for the Austria- Germany match but the next was no better. All we could do was close the windows and suffer from the heat. It is a pity as otherwise the hotel is fine. The breakfast buffet is excellent. Nothing that couldn't be fixed with air-conditioning

Room Tip: Do not book a room overlooking the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OttawaResortlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Stayed in December 2008- a while back now!! But would really recommend this spot for the location- makes everything on the trip easy. Nice breakfast, clean & friendly, maybe a little faded but the location compensates.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Laethantasaoire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The location of this hotel can not be better for a city trip; many things are withing walking distance. The rooms was excellent and was an oasis in the city centre. Good breakfast and most of all very welcoming and nice staff!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, with insulated windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelTulip2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sungnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We stayed at 3 hotels during our trip to Austria and this hotel had the most ideal location! We walked to the Musikverein and the Wiener Staatsoper, all within reasonable walking distance and really enjoyed the shops and boutiques on the way. There was also a huge, mostly vegetarian buffet restaurant right by our hotel which we enjoyed going to~
The only downfall was there was no air-conditioning in our room, so it was rather warm. But, the hotel staff provided us with a fan which cooled the room temperature down, considerably. They do have air-conditioned rooms, but not too many, it seems. If you plan to stay here during the summer, it would be a good idea to ask for an air-conditioned room in advance.
Apart from that, the room was spacious and clean. Our room was away from the street, so it was very quiet and the concierge was very considerate to help us get transportation to the airport!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SungnamGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

Location is top class - tourist as well as business related. The Hotel is located at walking distance from major attractions and is also convenient for catching transport facilites to travel further.
The negative point, as was mentioned in other reviews also, is the noise level which could affect sleep - definitely not for the light sleepers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venkatesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

We spent a weekend at the Astoria Hotel in Vienna. The hotel has a unique location in the inner city, just a few minutes from famous places of interest such as Hofburg, Stephansdom, Museum of Ethnology or beautiful city parks. Our room was nice and comfortable. We prefer a bit more spacious batroom. Service was OK, we love smiling staff!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luigi71lv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#153 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#184 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#66 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#146 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien

Property: Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Address: Kaerntner Strasse 32-34, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#119 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#119 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Trend Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing