We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice business hotel outside the center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South
Ranked #195 of 369 Hotels in Vienna
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice business hotel outside the center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The rooms would need some renovation, but they are large, comfortable and clean.Staff is friendly and efficient, the breakfast buffet is good - at least compared to the normal Holiday Inn standard. My only problem was, that the air conditioning did not work (ok, it made noise, but it did not cool) and it was not possible to open the windows. So it was too hot at night. Seems to be a systematic issue, because two of my collegues had the same problem. Other than that - it is fine. I will chose the hotel again for my next stay - and ask for a key to open the locked window.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hivienna2013, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest Mike043

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us and for your detailed feedback about your experience.

We greatly appreciate your positive comments about our colleagues, the buffet breakfast and our comfortable guest rooms. However, I am very sorry to hear that the air-condition in your room was not up to your expectations. Our maintenance team has been informed and will do all necessary steps to check the AC system in the hotel to avoid such reoccurrence in the future.

I am glad to hear, that you will choose Holiday Inn Vienna South again for a future visit in Vienna. We look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Thomas Hain
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    147
    101
    23
    13
See reviews for
55
80
25
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and I can't complain at all about this hotel. Breakfast is good and the rooms are spaceful and silent. The only thing i didn't like was the internet connection price that was expensive but you can't have it all..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CloudsInTheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hivienna2013, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest CloudsInTheSky,

Thank you very much for stating your opinion about your recent stay with us at Holiday Inn Vienna South. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our large rooms and the silent location of the hotel.

With regards to the internet, kindly be informed that we also do offer packages that include full internet access during the stay. Further to that, we also offer free internet to all IHG Rewards Club Elite members (Gold & Platinum) and starting in 2014 for all IHG Rewards Club members.

Once again, thank you for your review. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Thomas Hain
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn South for 5 nights. It was close to where I had to be each morning for business. It was better than I anticipated. Some things however were missing to make it an excellent stay. The room was typical boring business style: brown and beige and some dark reds. The bathroom definitely needs an overhaul.
The bed was very comfortable with a selection of pillows to choose from. My room was facing the back and was very quiet at night. The aircon was struggling with the extremely high temperatures outside.
Breakfast was average.
What really kept my mood up was the staff: all very friendly, helpful and engaged (except the breakfast crew). Would have been nice to have a swimming pool.
The worst was the fees for WiFi: 8 Euro per hour and 18 Euro per day - outrageous if you consider that it doens't cost them a penny extra!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the little wood behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmengerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Carmengerman

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you liked our quit rooms with the comfortable beds and moreover our friendly and helpful staff. However, I do also understand your comments regarding our rooms, where we are on the way to refurb step by step and a big part of all rooms are already done. The situation with the Wifi is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where you can book these service inclusively.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Friendly staff, great accommodation, air-conditioning is good during the hot summer days. Location might not be central, but the neighborhood is lovely. You have everything that you need during your business trip.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Radoslava V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Radoslava V

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your really kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

I'm really delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your great rating. Glad to see you liked our staff, our service and also the AC.

We all would welcome the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer time.

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The location is correct if you travel for business. It is not in the touristic area but not far away from downtown. Personnel is very efficient (Mrs Lucia, at the front desk, is lovely and really efficient).
The issue is that this is not a four stars hotel under the usual standards. It is quite old and the decoration of the rooms and specially the toilets should be renovated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pablo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest JuanFernMadrid

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you liked our service and our lovely and efficient staff. I will personal speak with Lucia to give her your great feedback. However, I do also understand your comments regarding our rooms, where we are on the way to refurb step by step and a big part of all rooms are already done.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here for just one night on a business trip. We arrived late, and so were relieved to be told that the restaurant would serve until 10:30 pm. They weren't kidding - we got half way through our meal but couldn't have a dessert because by then it was passed 10:30 pm and the kitchen was closed! Very good meal, apart from this.

The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. Wifi is a silly price at €3.00 for just 15 mins and €18.00 for 24 hrs. Needless to say I didn't use this service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Michael P

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your kind comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad about your rating and that you liked our well equipped and comfortable rooms and our food offer. However, I do also understand your comments regarding the service received in the restaurant and the Wifi rates. I personal spoke with the responsible staff for F&B to avoid such a situation in the future. The situation with the Wifi is a bit difficult, although I understand your point. We have a kind of lease contract with cost involved to offer that service at all. However, we offer different packages, where you can book these service inclusively.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna to show we care.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
152 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights in a standard room. Room was clean and comfortable, as was the bed. Wish they had some more pillow options available in the room as I didn't like the provided one.
Sauna was ok but very small.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special, serves the purpose.
Location is some 15min from city center in low traffic and some 30min from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moncic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas_Kessling, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Moncic

Thank you very much for taking the time to share and post your comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you liked our clean and comfortable rooms. I do also understand your comments regarding more pillow options, the sauna as well as the breakfast.

I hope you will give us the opportunity to be your host in the future, if your travel will bring you back to Vienna to show we care.

So far I wish you and your family all the best and a great summer!

Warm regards

Andreas Kessling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
0.3 mi away
Austria Trend Hotel Bosei Wien
1.1 mi away
Gartenhotel Altmannsdorf Hotel 1
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Vienna Schoenbrunn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Zeitgeist Vienna Hauptbahnhof
1.2 mi away
Rainers Hotel Vienna
Rainers Hotel Vienna
#165 of 369 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#203 of 369 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South
Address: Hertha-Firnberg-Strasse 5, Vienna 1100, Austria (Formerly Holiday Inn Vienna - South)
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#119 Family Hotel in Vienna
#134 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel is located in the Wienerberg City district of Vienna in Austria. The Business Park Vienna is adjacent to the Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South while companies like Coca Cola, ABB, Wienerberger and Vaillant have their offices right across the street. The famous Vienna Twin Tower, a cutting-edge skyscraper is opposite the property while the Euro Plaza is just a km away. You can reach the vibrant city of Vienna in 15 minutes from the Meidling rail station which is 5 minutes away by bus. If time permits you can drive up to the Sisi Museum at Hofburg Palace where some of Queen Elizabeth's jewels are displayed. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel has 4 floors and underwent a full renovation in February 2016. It has 173 rooms and 4 suites in total. All have HDTV, individually controlled air-conditioning, free High – speed WiFi, large work desks, laptop- sized safety boxes, tea and coffee maker set, a minifridge, a hairdryer, bathrobes and slippers. The bathrooms are equipped with bath-tubs. Also 3 rooms are allocated for the physically challenged. The hotel allows up to two children less than eighteen years of age to stay free of charge when sharing rooms with adults and sleeping in the existing bedding. The hotel does allow dogs at a surcharge. The onsite restaurant, Garden Grille, offers a full American breakfast buffet with life cooking station every day and serves local and international cuisine for lunch and dinner. Our hotel – owned terrace for up to 80 people is welcoming you on every sunny day of the year. The Garden Grille Bar of the Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South offers drinks and snacks in a cosy atmosphere showing sports and news on a big screen. The hotel has eight garden- facing, natural- lit, pillar free meeting rooms, which are suitable for meetings, conferences, team building or social events- like weddings- for up to 350 people. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South hotel offers a free access for all its guests in the onsite Gym, yoga studio and sauna. Drinks and snacks can be bought in a mini- market in the lobby. Our Pavilion Pantry offers 24 hours a day sundries, an assortment of beverages and ready-to-cook meals bound for the microwave oven or the in- room refrigerator. The Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South also offers a business centre with a printer and an on- site parking area for up to 72 cars. Alternatively the parking lot of the Vienna Twin Towers can be utilized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Vienna South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna South Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing