We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Vienna is Sacher Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sacher Wien to your Saves list
Hotel Sacher Wien
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria (Inner City)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #10 of 369 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Kuwait
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Vienna is Sacher Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

Sacher hotel is one of monuments of the beautiful Vienna. The traditional hotel has kept its appearance and has forced its name on every visitor to Vienna. Can you leave without tasting the Sacher Tarte or at least take it as a souviner to your loved ones ? Every time we go to Vienna we have to spend it in Sacher hotel. It is like home to us. The people there are friendly, caring and professional. They have equipped the hotel over the years with new technology so you would not miss your W-lan or LCD TV, but the rooms are still like in the 18th century with their furniture, paintings and the luxurious bathroom.
We recommend Sacher hotel to any visitor to vienna and enjoy the Tarte as well.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,097
    147
    45
    11
    9
See reviews for
211
641
79
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

Very centrally located, Hotel Sacher is a stones throw away from all of Vienna's interesting sights.
The tiny check-in area is tucked away, and upon first arrival a little confusing.
Our room was spotless and the bathroom was impressive with a large unenclosed soaker tub, and a big separate rain shower. Dual sinks allowed for a no fuss start to the day, and heated floors ensure comfortable teeth brushing.
Our particular Suite had a very generous patio, although it was too cold to enjoy, the view of the city was wonderful.
In the hotel we enjoyed the spa area, which was very compact, but nonetheless clean and relaxing.
Located in the building is a shop/cafe selling the famous Sachertorte, which is quite delicious. A tip, unless your buying a gift, no need to buy one as it is served up daily with breakfast.
The breakfast can be eaten in one of two adjacent rooms, one of which is a darker wood/paint version of the other, but equally as luxurious. Super fast staff pleasantly assist when required, but otherwise its a buffet of delicious cold items as well as a diverse fresh prepared hot area. All very fresh, and full.
On several occasions we had the concierge service retrieve tickets, make reservations for us and we were ensured the best seats, windows etc, all of which we received.
Once again small, but beautiful blue bar/lounge area has a super sexy feel. Although there is an area near the check in with interesting photographs from the past to present, however it leads directly on to a smokers lounge, which is not enclosed. Obviously bad for your health I unfortunately didn't get to enjoy many of the photos.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moose2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

Hotel Sacher is a classic "old world' hotel in an elegant setting. Everything one would expect from a top rated hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andermeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I've been traveling to Vienna for more than 13 years on business, usually 4 -5 times per year. In the past, I stayed at The Imperial, The Grand, The Meridien, The Bristol and several others. But on this trip my partner suggested I try The Sacher.

This is the best high-end hotel in Vienna, end of story. Rooms are clean, quiet, and modern. Bathrooms are beautifully decorated and shower and tubs are more than generous. Serviceis superb and friendly. Morning breakfast buffet is the best in Vienna. Location is also hard to beat and food is outstanding. I look forward to my next stay and won't stay anywhere else in Vienna but the Sacher.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericr101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I'd been apprehensive at some of the TripAdvisor reviews on the Sacher, but we had a hugely enjoyable stay in one of the finest hotels we've ever visited. The general manager takes an active and personal interest in its running, and greeted us on arrival personally and with huge charm.

Our junior suite was beautiful, roomy and cosy at the same time, with an exquisite chaise longue which proved surprisingly useful! Lighting is clever - so important in making a room look beautiful. Also, automatic one-touch shutters afforded complete privacy from the outside world whenever we wanted it (or needed an afternoon snooze between lunch and the opera!)

Bathroom was understated and luxurious, travertine from floor to ceiling, underfloor heating and lots of useful places to store your cosmetics etc without them cluttering the room. My husband said the shower was the best he'd ever had. I loved the bath with its clever towelling-covered beanbag that made it so comfy to lie back in, without the usual neck-cricking performance required to relax in the bubbles. Why don't all bathrooms have these? Nice big squodgy towels on the heated towel rail too, and a clever nightlight to help you find your way back to and from the loo in the middle of the night. Everything has been thought of.

Lots of different places to eat and drink. Blue Bar was perfect for cocktails, the Red Room just drop-dead fabulous and I can't think of a better place to come back to after an evening out and consume the most exquisite hot chocolate ever tasted, laced with a perfectly-judged shot of good rum. It's like a mix of early 70s Biba, Belle Epoque Paris and that indefinable Viennese something that makes it classier than both. Even the lifts are gorgeous, intimate spaces covered with fascinating old photos.

Location is fantastic, right opposite the Opera House and adjoining all the best shopping areas - central and safe, but still with lots of old-fashioned charm and near the trams and subways.

Finally, the Sachertorte is addictive - be warned. This is the real thing: deceptively simple but once sampled, never forgotten. We sent some to family at home and it arrived within 2 days. I bought a rival version at the famed Demel's - an exquisite shop on the Kohlmarkt, beautiful packaging and terrifying prices but disappointing cake and short-dated too. Stick to the real thing at Hotel Sacher. It won't let you down even if the staff can be a bit abrupt under pressure,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Excellent 3 nights stay with reasonable prices for this level of quality, except for breakfasts. Extremely nicely decorated including the restaurants which we did not test.
Very pleasant and dicreet service with efficient oncierges to help us for our first stay in Vienna

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisBEAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Junior Suite, you pay extra, you get so much more!

Experience Vienna as it should be experienced. This is the only place you want to stay in when in Vienna, and you will want to come back again and again and again....

I have nothing else to write, it is just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49fiori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 369 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 369 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#3 of 369 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 stars 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#19 of 369 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 922 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 369 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 1,687 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
#14 of 369 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 stars 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Property: Hotel Sacher Wien
Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#6 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing