We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay at the Sacher”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #3 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Sacher”
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at the Sacher since the renovation and the hotel is now even more stunning than before. Our room was beautiful, the facilities amazing and the staff could not have been more charming and helpful. That, topped with being in a first class location in the centre of the city mean that I will definitely be going back. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    173
    51
    12
    11
See reviews for
269
790
95
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great location, close to everything. Tremendous staff. Check in escorted us to our room, concierge provided excellent advise and recommendations. Room was a standard that was very large, quiet, and comfortable. Excellent temperature control. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2468933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

stayed here in Oct 2013. What a great hotel, best so far. Location couldn't have been better as one can walk onto the old town from there. We were greeted by the Manager and felt welcomed immediately. Room was fantastic. As it was my birthday trip i had a bottle of champagne waiting for me! And of course a small Sacher Torte. Breakfast was great so much variety. My in laws had stayed there twice and raved about the hotel, now i know why. Would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailing2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week in Vienna. We checked out the "famous" Sacher Wein to see if we would like to stay there. After 20 minutes interacting with the staff, we left never to return or recommend.

Pros: Good location, close to many things in Vienna. Many pictures of famous people on the wall.

Cons: Very dated - has an old, musty smell, overpriced, and most significantly, a staff that is indifferent at best, and often just completely rude. Seriously, you have a hotel job and you're going to stick up your nose at me? If you don't like working in service, then find a new occupation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hotel Sacher Wien. I am very sorry about your disappointment regarding the attitude of our staff and I would like to assure you that your experience is a very rare exception as our staff is known for being most polite and courteous. Please accept my apologies, I will certainly share your feedback with our team to address the problem area you identified.

Unfortunately you have only seen a very small part of our hotel with the main lobby in a very traditional design. After a huge renovation process that was only finished in 2012 all our rooms & suites are completely refurbished and offer modern, yet classic design with state-of-the-art bathrooms and modern technical amenities. However, as we are a Viennese landmark, we did keep the lobby as well as our fine dining restaurants in a traditional design, this ensures a nice blend of trend and tradition.

At the Hotel Sacher Wien, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Please do get in touch with me for a future reservation request and I will be happy to assist.

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia Region, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The Sacher is one of the most popular destination at Vienna and worthwhile why you must visit.
Charming atmosphere,good service and as always as nice for holiday.
Do not miss to try Sacher cake and cafe late,real Viennese style!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOFIABU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We are royal customers of this hotel and it hardly ever fails us. This time it was just perfect. From reaching this lovely hotel and at check in you find friendly faces and smiles. The check in was swift and efficient. The receptionist took us to the room and was chatting with us in the lift about the lovely Vienna. The room had white color as the theme of its decoration. It was spacious, spotless and elegant. They have put fruits and chocolate courtsey of the hotel not forgetting the famous Sacher Torte. It was really nice gesture. The bathroom was big with separate bathtub, shower and WC. All amneties were provided and their miniature shampoos, lotion and bathgel smelled of chocolate, yummy. I liked the beautiful TV screen on the mirror. The bed was big and comfortable. The room was overlooking the wonderful Opera house which was beautiful place. Everybody in the hotel was friendly and helpful. The concierge staff were really experienced and efficient. At check out the process was again quick and they give you Sacher Torte as gifts on your way out. This hotel is our favorite, no doubt

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Opera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days while visiting Vienna and attending the Opera Ball. No troubles, no problems, only happiness! Our room was lovely and quite well decorated with many lovely details. The staff was very accommodating with every request. Loved the Blue bar for a drink, the whole place is a little gem of a sanctuary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duckleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#6 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Property: Hotel Sacher Wien
Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing