We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I slept like a king”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #4 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A true Wien hotel experience. This is a very traditional hotel nicely decorated. It seems that you go back in time: you feel like a lord or a prince. The room was very spacious and clean with an enourmous king-size bed. The only not-so-good experience was at the reception: besides being too small, my room was not ready when it was supposed to. But at least I had an excuse to spend more time in this beatiful city. The hotel is very well located and walking distance from many interesting attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_R_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sacher Wien
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

Is this the best city hotel in the world? We think so.....
Starting with the check-in process, the upgrade to a suite and the tour of the hotel and explanation of the history and room particulars was top notch.
The general feeling of calm efficiency ruled throughout and having the bartender knowing your name after the first evening only succeeded in reaffirming this.

All in all, a wonderful stay; good food, great historic atmosphere and excellent staff. 5 stars all round.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToniCoted_Azur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in the Sacher Hotel for 3 nights and had a wonderful relaxing and pampered stay. The hotel staff go above and beyond in their efforts to make you feel welcome. In particular we would like to thank the concierge staff who arranged our opera and concert tickets for us and who were generally extremely helpful. The Sacher brings the old style elegance and charm of Vienna into every aspect of your experience from the lobby, bar and restaurants to the beautiful rooms and spa. Try to book a room with a view of the opera house which is next door. We highly recommend this hotel as a thoroughly enjoyable Viennese experience.... And who can resist the famous Sacher Torte!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went to a lot of luxury hotels around Europe but in that case, I can say that this is my best hotel experience!
From the check-in with a very nice and kind staff, to the room which was just perfect (size, view, ...) This is of course classic luxury but completely revamped and it remains sober, with grey shades, nice materials.
For the breakfast, the buffet is not as huge as we can have it in some hotels but the quality of the products is really top.
The spa is also a real pleasure to relax and take care of yourself.
Of course, all this has a cost but it is really worth it: for the same price that an average 4 star hotel in Paris, you have the epitome of luxury in Vienna.

Room Tip: Room with balcony on the 3rd floor is perfect.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredK1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a lovely lunch in the hotel one day. The decor is period and a fun way to get a feel for what Austrian glamor was in the day. Originally, we wanted to just try the famous and legally trademarked, "Sacher Torte" from the original locations, but changed our minds and left the cafe and decided to have a proper lunch instead.

It was a nice break after touring around the city on our walking tour day and sit down in a comfortable, historic hotel for a proper lunch. I wouldn't bring young children here, but our group thought it was a nice experience. The hotel had many smaller rooms rather than a large entrance. It has a cozy elegance and a nice break from the mad crowds in the streets. We visited during what is the school field trip season for many countries, and so this was a welcome respite.

Room Tip: Just had lunch in the Red Silk Dining room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank drddunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

By now I believe all the rooms have been renovated and it is a dream.
Friendly welcome starts the moment you get out of the car in font of the door. Reception desk charming and helpful, and Concierge not only friendly bit most important so efficient and have a solution for everything , including getting tickets at the opera and reservations in the most population restaurants.
Spa on the 4th floor small but well done.
Great Turkish coffee at the Cafe Sacher , right facing the Opera.

Only bemol restaurants a bit expensive for what you get.

Just go , you will always come back !

Room Tip: Best in last floor on in the back of the building : no traffic, you can sleep even with the windows...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the minute we stepped out of the taxi, the service exceeded expectation. We were welcomed by name, and escorted to our upgraded view room on the 6th floor. I usually ask for historic rooms, but, this view was too good to leave. The decor is not inspiring, but the level of comfort and excellent service are impressive. The artwork is also worth mentioning, and a welcome amenity was on the table. The concierge was available and able to accommodate every request. The location was convenient for walking the city, and the hot dog stand across the street is the "best." This is a leading hotel.

Room Tip: can't miss with a view room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mavengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,477 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
900 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#7 of 361 in Vienna
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#18 of 361 in Vienna
1,155 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 361 in Vienna
1,174 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#3 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $511 - $1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing