We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Software, but maintenance needs to be improved”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #4 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Software, but maintenance needs to be improved”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Hotel Sacher is one of the Top Hotels in Vienna - and the Service was excellent from arrival to departure; Great Concierge team - excellent F & B at Anna Sacher and Rote Bar; outstanding Bar Service at Blaue Bar; Had twice Room Service and it was also outstanding
Software: Top ratings
But
Hardware: There is definitely a Maintenance Problem as can bee seen on the Photos; the Rooms on the 7th Floor were designed by YPR and one can see his touch everywhere - it is a pity that poor maintenance - loose cables / scuffs / small speakers on the Wall / Small TV and again two additional SONY speakers were added; The Bathroom Shower door could not be closed, the Shower head Rod was loose / a TV was added and again loose cables could be seen; there was also a pounding noise, maybe from the heating installation, every 10 or so minutes, which was not attended to for 4 days and was very annoying - the Outstanding F & B quality and service made up for the shortcomings -

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room overlooking the Opera and not the Courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotelier2510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding our service. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you also for bringing the maintenance issues to our attention, I will make sure that all your remarks are being taken care of and I am very sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    179
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
282
825
97
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying 3 nights at Hotel Sacher Wien in December while on a Christmas Market trip with a friend. When we walked into the beautiful hotel, it seemed as if every employee was there to greet us-even the owner (a very lovely, chic lady). They each welcomed us and called us by name. We felt like rockstars! We were escorted to our rooms-my friend had a 1 bedroom suite and my deluxe room connected. Both were gorgeous! Her suite included a large living room, bedroom and bathroom. My deluxe room was large and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was huge and included every amenity. I can't say enough about the service at this hotel. It was impeccable! The location is convenient to all of Vienna's attractions. We walked everywhere and it was wintertime. If you want to be treated like Viennese royalty, stay at the Sacher, in this beautiful palace. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Have checked-out from this hotel this morning.

Well........what could I say abt this hotel? Lots of good stuff, for sure :D

First of all, room 406 is great! My sister and I loved the colour scheme : dusky rose. We felt very pampered and the room is very European in style.

The housekeeping is top notch! The bed linens / bedsheets are pressed crisply and tucked nicely without any creases. That is an indicator of how well a hotel is run (IMO). Not to mention how fast our room was cleaned.

The bathroom floor was heated and it felt heavenly during this cold season.

The hotel is within a walking distance to all the major attractions and surrounded by starbucks, McDonald's etc. Staatsoper and the bus to Pandorf (premium outlet) are just across the road.

Thank you, Sacher Wien, for giving us such a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Sacher 23 -25 December 2012. We have stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world during the past 20 years and this has to be one of the best. Great location, fabulous rooms, delicious breakfast and wonderful staff.
We arrived at 6.30 am on 23rd and our room was not ready yet (check in is not until the afternoon as usual) We were shown to a lounge and told there was breakfast in the restaurant if we would like it. Concierge made us very welcome. At 7am we decided to have a light breakfast. We were shown to the beautiful breakfast room and then not charged for the coffee juice and croissants we had which was very generous and unexpected. At 8am we were told that they were upgrading our room and that we could check in. This was just great as we had a long trip and needed to freshen up. It made our day as we could now get changed and out and about.
The room was immaculate, fabulous beds wonderful bathroom - just perfect. The breakfast was fabulous each morning and the staff just couldn't do enough for you. The staff were always so lovely and friendly. On Christmas eve we received a plate with a beautiful Christmas scene made with pastries and chocolate in our room and when we checked out we received 2 mini sacher tortes. We had room service one night which was delicious and delivered by friendly staff. This was our third time in Vienna and if we go back again we will definitely
stay at Hotel Sacher. Wonderful !!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onicaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Sacher Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks!

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Hotel Sacher Wien!

Best regards,

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is really nice hotel with excellent service. Yes it's not cheap. But quality value of this money. Our room cost about 600 euros in night. Location is also very center just front of opera Hause and albertina.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Apart form the sheer opulence of the property, the service is exceptional. Even during the incredibly busy Christmas/New Year's season, our group of 10 was attended to with grace, courtesy, efficiency and professionalism. A New Year's day buffet that was out-of-this-world, and glorious rooms. What more could you want? And for our purposes--opera and classical music events--the location on the Kärntner Straße, directly across from the (Staatsoper) State Opera, could not be better. Truly one of the finest hotels in a city full of deluxe hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AriaTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was not only beautiful but the staff was amazing. The attention to detail was like non other. We spent New Years Eve and it was one of the most incredible experiences of a lifetime. Upon arriving we recieved champagne and wonderful chocolate cake. We were upgraded to a lovely one bedroom suite. I will forever cherish the memory of Vienna....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia4488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,442 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#6 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 361 in Vienna
1,140 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Property: Hotel Sacher Wien
Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing