We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience excellence in its glory!”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #5 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Despite the fact theat we were a big family group staying here, these people seem to care for every single client individually! Anything you ask is possible.
The rooms are classic and grand with all comforts and amenities! Finally the have a free wifi :)

Their cafe could have been better as their food menu there is rather poor and not so successful - it's a pity really! Their breakfast is TOP CLASS and you are spoiled for choice!

Service is impeccable, friendly and warm. Crowds are classy and chic but you feel equally comfortable with your jeans.
We are returning guests for years and...there are many good reasons for that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva-cyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,849)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,849 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent a few days over Christmas in this fantastic institution and I know that we made the perfect choice.
We were upgraded to a suite at check in and we were in our room within munites after arriving.
Our suite was looking towards Albertina and the Opera newly refurbished with a lovely classical decor but with all modern gadgets as well as a huge marble bathroom with equally huge separate shower cubical all in lovely marble. All usual amenities and of the highest quality.
The staff is really first class extremely polite and friendly. The public areas are grand full of antique furniture and a warm atmosphere. Wi fi is available free in all areas of the hotel and for the ones who must, a small lounge is available for the smoking fraternity.
The restaurants are top quality and well patronised by visitors and locals. I would advise you to book tables well in advance as these get booked up very quickly.
The Hotel is a landmark in Vienna and within walking distance of the main attractions of this beautiful city and a lot of tourists visit the place even if it is to taste the famous Sacher Torte!
I know that many big name hotels are already in Vienna but for me if you want to feel you have visited Vienna then you must stay at the Sacher!

Room Tip: High rooms get better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

My wife's birthday is on Christmas day so every few years we get away from everyone and everything and have a special treat. What could be more Christmassy than Vienna, we wondered, and sure enough when we awoke on the night train from Cologne the snow had fallen and the City was beautiful.
Unfortunately, the snow turned to rain, but the welcome and the ambience at the Hotel Sacher couldn't have been friendlier and warmer. Our room was beautifully decorated (as is the entire hotel, awfully plush but with absolutely no hint of chintz) and comfy, and made the perfect base from which to explore the City - the Sacher is right in the heart of the action, although extremely well insulated in every respect.
On Christmas Eve we spoilt ourselves and celebrated with the Gala dinner - yes, expensive, but excellent wine and imaginative food and a real sense of occasion.
A really fantastic experience - and we're thinking of trying the Sacher Salzburg another year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhinosurfpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is realy amazing very organised , friendly people , stylish rooms , clean and refreshing atmosphere , I realy loved it ... one week wasn't enough for me i feld sad when i left next time I will visit Austria I will stay longer for sure

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannahweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at the Sacher for 3 nights on 7-10th December for a pre-Christmas break to Vienna with my Mum.

The check in process was seamless, and I was delighted to discover we had been upgraded to a better room category - I had booked a deluxe and we were given a top deluxe room.

Our view was non descript but we weren't worried about that as we were there to sightsee and shop, not gaze out of our hotel window! Although we were on a very busy thoroughfare into the town, the windows kept out every noise and the room was extremely quiet and spacious.

Beds were very comfortable and had a pillow menu to choose from. One very small gripe is that the duvets on our twin beds were quite small and we needed to order a fan as the room was very warm even with the air con. Everything we asked for however was brought to us with no fuss or complaint and service was prompt and professional from all hotel staff.

I was slightly annoyed we didn't receive any "welcome" gift as promised in the literature and on the website. When I questioned this, a surly lady at reception assured me we had been provided with fruit in our room... this was 100% not the case. Also, no bottles of water were given in the room which meant we needed to purchase our own in town.

We did receive our complimentary small sacher cube on departure, the check out was again very easy and I appreciated being wished a nice trip home and a merry christmas.

Our meal in the Rote bar was exceptional and the Blau Bar is very quaint and cosy for a drink before braving the freezing temperatures outside.

We booked a spa treatment in the Sacher Spa during our stay. The facilities were very good, the herbal steam room was lovely as were the sensory showers. Our "Aromaoil Massage" was very nice, but the oil had absolutely no smell whatsoever and I thought that was the whole point??! No explanation was forthcoming for this.

As a side note, I wish the staff in the Sacher cafe treated all patrons as well as the staff in the hotel - alas this was not the case. I know they deal with thousands of people every day but some of their attitudes were not as friendly or accomodating as they could have been.

Overall - a wonderful stay in the iconic hotel which is ideally situated to explore Vienna with just a few minor gripes that the hotel could improve on.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therosebud_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. Due to a last minute room change, which was caused by the upgrade to a higher room category, our staff did not manage to transfer the welcome amenities to your room in time. We are very sorry for this delayed delivery and for your disappointment.
We are happy that you had also some time to relax at the Sacher Spa. According to our experience there are many guests who react allergic to extensive aroma oil and therefore we use the oil with great caution.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Best regards,
Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

After many years,we returned for a long weekend in Vienna and of course there is only one
Place to stay.The Sacher is unparalleled when it comes to service,the staff are as friendly
As I remember 40 years ago and made our stay memorable

Room Tip: It's not cheap but it's worth every penny to experience a service that ranks as high as is p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ESB189852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is one of the great hotels of Europe - tradition, quality, service, atmosphere, location, everything is to a very high standard. Although the hotel is more than 100 yers old, the rooms are newly reconstructed, meticulously maintained, very tastefully arranged in a traditional style and very clean. The bathrooms are extremely comfortable. The blue bar is a charming place to spend an evening, and offers not only good drinks, but also excellent Austrian wines. The spa is newly rconstructed, and good enough for me, although I have seen better in comparable hotels. Breakfast is fantastic. Sacher is very expensive, but not overpriced considering the quality and the tradition of the hotel. If you can afford it and want to stay in "old Vienna" surroundings, do go.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RainerMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,603 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 359 in Vienna
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
1,216 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#6 of 359 in Vienna
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $433 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing