We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hotel Sacher Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Sacher Wien
Ranked #7 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed December 6, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful hotel... Very centrally located. Loved the Sacher cakes.. Great rooms and also seen soom of the suite rooms.. Modern hotel in a historic building with great helpful team.. One of the luxury hotels. Visited by who's who list..

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rajat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,411
    178
    53
    13
    13
See reviews for
283
815
96
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The Hotel Sacher is an experience in itself. It is situated right in the heart of the city, walking distance from most of the main sights. It is oppulent and gracious and the service is impeccable. My room was not large, but was very comfortable and the bathroom was warm and well fitted. Room service was excellent and I enjoyed a delicious lunch and dinner. Breakfast was served in a very grand room hung with chandaliers and was quite superb. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to see Vienna in style.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guinivere_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

i was shocked with this place: great rooms with great view (especially last floor! with balcony!), great decoration and super-puper tasty cakes!! they give them as a present!!!!
in the shp (which is by the way in the same building) they are quite expensive, but it worth tasting and worth spending money!
and opera! only one step!!
the only one thing to improve - is smiles! while i was waiting on reception nobody asked me a word(((

Room Tip: book corner room on the last floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katalina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The Hotel Sacher is one of my favorite hotels in the world, in part because it is sui generis: unlike the Four Seasons or Ritz Carltons, which, beautiful and/or luxurious as they can be, feel as if they could be located in any city in the world, the Sacher could only be in Vienna (and maybe Salzberg, but I've never been there...) We stayed there recently for five nights and the Sacher's whole is definitely more than the sum of its parts; our "top deluxe" room was luxurious and had a beautiful view of the Albertina, but was not particularly large; the spa is well-designed, but by no means uniquely beautiful; the gym is well-equipped, but small; the concierges were generally very helpful and friendly, but occasionally overtasked, resulting in longer waits than appropriate to recover the key to our room; the Rote Bar was a wonderful, cosseting apres opera venue for supper, but the food, while good, was by no means remarkable. Yet the wonderful public rooms - the lounge, which my daughter referred to as her living room, the Blue Bar, the Sacher cafe on the corner. the perfect location across from the opera house and hard by the Albertina and the main shopping pedestrian mall, and, above all, the ineffable sense that staying at the Sacher confers upon its guests honorary Viennese citizenship - all of these factors make the Sacher a near perfect hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very pleasant stay with view of the Opera House and perfectly soundproofed room. Excellent and helpful staff.
My only criticism of the room was that if you turned the bathroom light at night enough light escaped to wake my wife.
We eat in the Rote Bar Restaurant twice and the food was extremely good.
We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GGPtrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I booked a junior suite at the Sacher Hotel in Vienna for 4 nights as part of our European 25th Anniversary trip. During our stay, we used exclusively 5 star hotels in Switzerland, Austria and Italy, with one night in London. All of the hotels we used were members of the Leading Hotels of the World.

We checked into the Vienna Sacher right after leaving the Sacher in Salzburg (one of our best experiences ever!!). Check-in went smoothly and we were soon in our room, which was quite perfect. Upon entering our room, we found a gift Sacher Torte that was sent to us by friends in Philadelphia as an anniversary gift. There was also a card.

Later that evening, my friend emailed us to ask us how we liked the expensive champaign they had sent us. I was embarrassed to say that we did not get any champaign. When I contacted the front desk, they informed me that we did in fact get the champaign. I kindly explained that we did not. Instead of immediately remedying it, they told me we had to wait for the employee who was working that afternoon to come in so they could tell us what happened. I questioned why, and requested that regardless, I would like the champing sent up to my room. That request was ignored. I then went down to the front desk in person later that evening, and could not seem to get the issue resolved.

THE INSINUATION WAS THAT I WAS LYING!! Regardless, the right answer would have been, oh we are sorry, and get us the champaign immediately. Instead, the employee showed up and said they did delivery the champaign. I asked to speak with the manager. Now they sent up the assistant manager to talk to me, again empty handed. I explained again that my friend sent us the champaign, the hotel billed him for it, and we did not receive it. They asked if I was "sure". I told them, hey, you emptied the trash, you see the room, we did not get it. I also told them I was very uncomfortable with the situation. I had to beg them for a "anniversary gift" from our friends, and all along, they made me feel as if I was doing something wrong. Finally, they delivered the champaign, but by then, it felt horrible. At the end of the day, we were spending over $4000 at their hotel, and felt as if we were being accused of trying to cheat them out of a couple hundred dollar bottle of champaign.

Other than that, the hotel was just OK, not great, compared to the other hotels we stayed at during our trip. While the location of the Sacher is second to none, the building is in need of attention, especially the lobby area. Most of the first floor is non-smoking, but the one area that is smoking permeates the smell of old smoke throughout.

You always have to wait for the concierge, and we were never successful in getting served in the lobby for cocktails. They seem to be slightly understaffed and undertrained, which is a shame given their reputation. Don't get me wrong, it is still an experience to stay there, but all in all, I would think you can do better for the money in Vienna.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacherVienna, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Sacher Wien, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback, please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced. I am deeply sorry about your disappointment because of our internal miscommunication. By no means our staff wanted to insinuate your comments which have been all valid. We fully understand your frustration especially if you are travelling for an Anniversary Trip and your friends wanted to send you their special presents.

I would be very grateful if you consider giving us another opportunity to prove that we can do much better at the Hotel Sacher. Should you visit Vienna again in the future, please arrange your next reservation directly through my office so that I may assure you of my personal attention.

Reiner Heilmann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Sacher is simply an institution, however, despite their rich history, they have never stopped investing into the place and it does not feel outdated by any means. The upper floors don't feel as dense and packed as the rather dark-coloured lobby would suggest. Everything seems neat and very well maintained.

The service is outstanding and the attention to detail is superb. My room (two nights at suite 417) was flawless and everything met or exceeded my expectations: from the quality of the bed to the window's sound insulation to the water fitting (it takes 2 seconds until you have hot water and the temperature remains stable - unlike other places where it takes a long time for the water to heat up).

If it's within your budget, stay at the Sacher - all the advantages will be worth the admittedly high price.

Room Tip: My room was 417 which is a junior suite. It is a corner room with three large windows overlooking bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeegeeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,419 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
849 reviews
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#8 of 360 in Vienna
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,130 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sacher Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sacher Wien

Property: Hotel Sacher Wien
Address: Philharmonikerstrasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vienna
#2 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#3 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#7 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Sacher Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe Hotel Sacher Wien was established in 1876 by Eduard Sacher, son of the creator of the famous Original Sacher-Torte, and is still privately owned by family Gurtler & Winkler. Situated in the pulsative cultural heart of Vienna, directly opposite the state opera and Albertina gallery, the hotel is just moments away from the most impressing sights of the city. High-quality materials, high-tech equipment, imposing original oil-paintings and precious furnishings in all 149 rooms and suites as well as marble bathrooms with floor heating and flat screen TV's which are integrated into the mirrors combine living tradition with a modern spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sacher Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacher Wien Hotel
Sacher Wien Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing