We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #27 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I stayed in Grand Hotel Wien for 3 nights in June & enjoyed the visit . The location is very good
& within walking distance of all attractions in "Old Town " . I enjoyed a nice breakfast every morning ,but ate around Old Town for lunch & dinner. We discussed dinner options with the concierge each day & went with his recommendations each night......all were excellent meals at
reasonable prices . This hotel is a grand ,old hotel but the rooms have been updated and are nice with plenty of room. We had to change our schedlue due to personal problems & the concierge tried to help but was unable . He then escorted us to a travel agency about 1 block away who handled our problem very well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Larry M,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 1,196 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Positive points: Wonderful luxury hotel, ideally located near the Opera and the shopping streets. The food in the restaurants at the Grand Hotel as well as the breakfast is excellent, the rooms are very nice and quite, with a particular attention given to all details.
Negative points: extremely poor free Wifi connection (for the better connection you must pay!) As well, apart from the concierge who was very helpful, the personal of the hotel in general is not very friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnès O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Agnes O,

We appreciate your comments regarding your visit at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Please accept me deepest apology for the issue withe the internet. We already discussed this with our IT department.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We loved our stay in Vienna at the Grand Wien. The hotel is conveniently located walking distance to the heart of shopping. The hotel has very large and well appointed rooms. Attention to detail is apparent in every aspect of the hotel. The hotel restaurant has a large offering of food and was a great place to start our day. The concierge was very helpful and arranged for a variety of trips for our family of 6. I would highly recommend a stay at the Grand Wien.

Room Tip: We our family had four rooms and all we lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winofoodtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear winofoodtravel,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Starting with the latter, the wifi is HORRIBLE. There is no way you can imagine that a hotel that is so nice, so clean, so well equipped, having nice rooms, great bathrooms, great staff; everything according to high standards is able to provide such a lousy free wifi service. Yes, you can pay for the faster connection but for minimal 300 euro/night in 2013? Sorry Grand Hotel Wien, great refurbishment, silent rooms, no noise from inside or outside, in short all perfect but why don't put some "cash" into a proper wifi system that is also normally communicating with Apple devices (instead of having the cookies enabled - "otherwise it does not work, sir"). Tip to the travelers, pay a visit to the hotel lobby bar, including nice live piano music and great waiters!!!! Very attentive, even when the place got crowded.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frequentflyerspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Frequentflyerspender,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Regarding the WiFi I have to apologize. Our IT department is still working on that issue.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Grand Wien for 3 nights on a trip to Vienna. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room was lovely, spacious, clean and luxurious. We did not eat in any of the restaurants, but did enjoy drinks in the bar, the quality was good although I have to say the service was a bit hit and miss if they were busy which was a little frustrating. Reception were always very friendly and helpful and the concierge was excellent, helping us choose a classic concert to attend and getting tickets booked for us. A top quality hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susie_Stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Susie_Stevie,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The Grand Hotel Wien really is the ultimate hotel.

Everything about this establishment is Heavenly.

It is never a disappointment. The rooms are incredibly comfortable, the service is immaculate, the ambiance is warm and cozy and the location is great.

It was just the way it always is: perfect.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatricSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear PatricSA,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our dinner was the best one can imagine.
Everything, including the ambience and service,
quality of food and selection of wines, was impeccable.
We had lamb chops with homemade sourkraft, goulash soup and coffee.


Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear transreal,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our restaurant team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#16 of 358 in Vienna
1,205 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 358 in Vienna
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,555 reviews
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Palais Hansen Kempinski
#10 of 358 in Vienna
1,231 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Address: Kaerntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#28 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $256 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing