We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic Viennese Luxury”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #26 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Classic Viennese Luxury”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent 5 wonderful nights at this hotel. If you are staying in Vienna stay at one of the grand hotels. The grand hotels give you a true sense on Viennese living. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff could not be any nicer. They were quick to please and alway friendly. Free internet access is included. Location was perfect. A block away from the Opera and the tram is just outside the door. Can't wait to go back to Vienna and stay at this jewel of a hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyN76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear TonyN76,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
vfernandez@jjwhotels.com
+43 1 515801847
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    780
    220
    52
    14
    20
See reviews for
174
529
57
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plovdiv, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is just great. Everything inside makes you feel like royalty. Rooms are big, bed is big and comfortable, bathroom is huge and has two separate sinks. The roof of the room is high. Wireless internet is free. Breakfast is terrific. Lobby is great, service is great. Location could not be better.
The only downside is the price, but if you can afford it and you like classic style rooms, this is your hotel. Oh, and parking is extra fee, which is a bit annoying, considering you are paying north of 400 euro per night.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VentsiBeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear VentsiBeats ,

thank you very much for your comment here on the tripadvisor.com website regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.

It is a pleasure to here that you had a nice stay with us. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel was a one-time stop for us; we booked because we were in Vienna for only one night for an opera and our normal lodgings had no rooms. It was an extraordinary stay--we would love to go back for a longer one but the cost is significant so we will probably continue to opt for more reasonable accommodations. If, however, you are looking for luxurious environments with old fashion elegance, this is the hotel for you. Be aware, however, that there is a reciprocity agreement: patrons are expected to dress the role of gentility while in the lobby, with men in suit coats and ties.

Access to the room was quick; the Grand has a bank of elevators that operate efficiently. Our immaculate room was spacious for two, with an inviting bed and down-soft pillows (we didn’t need to switch these out, but I’m sure options are available for those who are sensitive to down). There is plenty of storage space, a large safe, coffee service, iron and ironing board. The bathroom has a separate area featuring the toilet and bidet; the bathtub has two shower options in addition to the bathtub. Fixtures were gleaming. We overlooked an adjoining indoor mall (quick/easy access to the mall was adjacent to the elevators). The room was silent. Workspace abounds, internet is free and fast, and there is a wide variety of stations available on the TV.

This is just a wonderful hotel, a rare, enjoyable treat for us, one which we highly recommend and would love to repeat. That said, we were there for only one night and did not use any of the facilities so please consider the shortness of stay in evaluating our comments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSC-NOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear DSC-NOVA ,

thank you very much for your comment here on the tripadvisor.com website regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.

It is a pleasure to here that you had a nice stay with us. I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Spent here 3 nights in early May. We occupied an Exclusive Room, beautifully decorated in the Austro- Hungarian architectural style, a room depicted from the film "Sissi".
The entire hotel is an architectural masterpiece, beautiful lobby and lobby piano bar, beautiful facade, beautiful hallways.
I have mixed feelings about the staff. While at the front desk the staff was extremely friendly and efficient, at the main restaurant (where we only had breakfast) and also at the lobby bar the service was extremely slow and chaotic.
It is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel to have only one or two waiters at breakfast time, while the restaurant was full.
One morning we waited to be seated for about 5 minutes, as all the tabels were dirty and there wasn't anyone to clean them (except for one waiter who proved himself inefficient).
Same goes with the lobby bar, where we once waited for almost 10 minute, no one came to take our order and we enSpent here 3 nights in early May. We occupied an Exclusive Room, beautifully decorated in the Austro- Hungarian architectural style, a room depicted from the film "Sissi".
The entire hotel is an architectural masterpiece, beautiful lobby, lobby piano bar, beautiful facade, beautiful hallways.
I have mixed feelings about the staff. While at the front desk the staff was extremely friendly and efficient, at the main restaurant (where we only had breakfast) and also at the lobby bar the service was extremely slow and chaotic.
It is unacceptable for a 5 star hotel to have only one or two waiters at breakfast time, while the restaurant was full.
One morning we waited to be seated for about 5 minutes, as all the tabels were dirty and there wasn't anyone to clean them (except for one waiter who proved to be inefficient).
Same goes with the lobby bar, where we once waited for almost 10 minutes, no one came to take our order and we ended by leaving.
Service was good in the Sushi Bar next to the front desk. Also the maids were nice, always smiling.
Breakfast was good, for a 5 star it could have been better, I think.
The location of the hotel is a great one, near the Opera ( where we went one night, we saw The Magic Flute) and also close to many good restaurants and shopping streets.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank obsessedbytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear obsessedbytravelling ,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. We highly appreciate your comments you have posted on the Tripadvisor website.
We do apologize that we could not fullfill your needs and expectations from the beginning. We are confident that we have found the right measures in order to address to the issues which you have described.

We thank you again for your comments and we would be delighted to welcome you again at the Grand Hotel Wien one day in the future.

With kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations & Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a Grand Hotel in the traditional sense of the term. It is very central (easy walking to all the attractions) and has a luxurious and glamourous feel to it. We stayed for two nights, in a Superior Room which has very nice touches such as the bathroom, fitted with gold-plated taps etc. and a his and hers basin. The Penhaligon toiletries are very luxurious. There is a turn-down service each night and the room was quiet and very nicely furnished (although some of the furniture was a bit cheap - pretending to be antique, but not being!). There is no swimming pool at the hotel, which is disappointing, but there is a Spa, although we didn't use it. The treatments are very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear MLP,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.


Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
vfernandez@jjwhotels.com
+43 1 515801847
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

and walking distance main attractions. All what you can expect from a Grand Hotel. Not cheap but not extremely expensive either. When going back to Wien I book the same hotel.Seperate classy smoking bar which i like.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa A, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Philip0010,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Vanessa Alvarez Fernandez
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
vfernandez@jjwhotels.com
+43 1 515801847
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

A lovely, comfortable hotel, grand in aspect but not in attitude. The staff is charming and helpful, the rooms are comfortable, the location is excellent. The breakfast, however, is ridiculously expensive; go down the street to the Cafe Schwarzenberg instead.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Solwnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Solwnuk,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Please allow me to say that i am sorry to read that you had been unhappy regarding the value of our breakfast. We are actually very proud of offering a breakfast buffett that contains not only local specialties but as well specialties from Japan or the Arabic world. As well i would like to point out that all the warm dishes such as fried- and scrambled eggs, breakfast steaks, waffles etc. are made a la minute and not stored in a chafing dish. Therefore we consider the price of 32.- Euro for the buffett including all extras in addition with champagne a very fair offer compared to other hotels in Vienna. We do offer as well continental breakfast or offer the guest to choose their breakfast from the a la carte menu like most of the coffee places in Vienna do.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
mfuernkranz@jjwhotels.com
+43 1 515801847
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring Hotel
The Ring Hotel
#27 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most modern and luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing