We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Luxury”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pure Luxury”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Not the first time at Grand Hotel Wien, and, as Wien itself, the hotel is just getting better with years. Some old hotels have a special "old" smell, but not the Grand. It smells like new.

Location is perfect (20 minutes drive to the airport, 3 minutes walk to Opera and Kartner Strasse), rooms are perfect (i do LOVE the hotel slippers and I always take it home :-)). Nothing more to say, in fact. Pure Empire luxury, pure Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanchez73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Mr Sanchez 73,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
mfuernkranz@jjwhotels.com
+43 1 515801847
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    227
    55
    17
    20
See reviews for
185
552
59
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent two nights again and this time it was perfect. We had an upgrade for both rooms, so the space was really appreciaed. Check in was faster than last time, the concierge did a very good job to reserve a nice restaurant on very short notice.

Breakfast was good, a slight problem with 4 minutes eggs that were in fact hard boiled but it did not change the fact that our stay in Vienna was a great one.
Check out was fast and efficient, and after service was also great as I had forgotten my silk night gown, that they found and sent me back a few days later.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PascaleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear PascaleV,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
mfuernkranz@jjwhotels.com
+43 1 515801847
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location a block from the Opera and very close to other sightseeings.
Hotel is beautiful and "Grand". Our rooms was from a fairytale and room was very big (even though we reserved a standard ones).

Toiletries were as high end as the hotel.

We had a complain with the manager regarding a hair found on the bathtub (totally unacceptable for a 5 star hotel) and they gave us a complimentary breakfast that we enjoyed a lot! (Breakfast had lots of selections to choose from... 5 stars as the Hotel itself.

Great stay and 100% recommendable!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matviajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Matviajero,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Therefore we are taking your comment regarding the hair in the bathroom very seriously. I ensure you that we will spare no effort in order to avoid situation like this in the future.

i would like to express how sorry we are for this unecusable incident. It was never our intention to hurt your feelings.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,


Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The best Luxury Hotel in Vienna with a perfect location!
We loved this hotel, it's location, it's facilities and it's luxurious ambience was the perfect way to see Vienna. The staff was friendly and professional, truly making us feel like VIP guests. The room was spotless, and with a bed that was one of the best I have ever had at any luxury hotel. We must come back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatricSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear PatricSA,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,


Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We actually booked at the sister hotel 'the ring' which is right opposite but their reservation system was down so we were moved to the grand hotel. The hotel has a perfect location which is walking distance to Most major sites. You can walk to stephensdorm cathedral, kartnerstrausse (the shopping street) and also belvedere palace. The hotel is located opposite the opera house.
The hotel is beautiful, extremely grand and very traditional rooms. We stayed in the executive room which was large with plenty of space. When you get to the room there is a bottle of sparkly wine waiting complimentary. Toiletries also smell lovely!
The restaurants are French and japanese we chose the Japanese restaurant which we were not impressed with. Food was bland and very poor selection for vegetarians. The tofu still tasted as if fried in fish oil.
Another thing to be careful of is breakfast. There is a great spread but we had a misunderstanding with saff. Because we were told we had been upgraded from the ring hotel we asked at breakfast if breakfast was included in our room and told it was and shown all the menus. We had 3 days of breakfast which came to 64euros for 2ppl daily and on checkout were charged for all 3days. Now when you go to breakfast you're asked to sign a blank receipt with your room number and signature however I learnt at checkout when I explained I've never even signed for breakfast or seen any bills for it, that they print on the receipt after you have signed it! Not only that they don't show you it after the meal! I was shocked, I've never seen this happen elsewhere, it slime signing a blank cheque. The staff at reception were extremely unhelpful in resolving this misunderstanding so I went back to the ring hotel opposite and the general manager there sorted it out in 2 minutes with 1 phone all after I explained the situation.
Overall the grand hotel is beautiful and certainly is grand but my experience at checkout put me off. Furthermore if I returned I would stay at the ring simply because they were so helpful, it's also a great hotel, good location and is modern
If you go before march 10th there is a huge ice skating rink outside the city hall Rathaus which is stunning with nice food stalls. The great thing is there's no time slots so you get a locker and skate on/off all evening. When lit up it looks amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosh7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Rosh 7,

thank you very much for your comments you have made on the tripadvisor website.

Please allow me to express my depest apologies for any inconvenioence you had to experience during your stay with us. Not only that you had to be moved from the Hotel The Ring to the Grand Hotel. In addition to that you had to go through some unpleasant situations with us.
I am very sorry to for the misunderstanding regarding the breakfast charges.Please believe me when i am writing that it was never our intention to hurt your feelings.
It is obvious that there had been a lack of communication in between the different hotels.

I ensure you that i will bring the procedure of signing guest checks during breakfast to the Execeutive Management. I am confident that we will consider a different handlicg regarding this issue for the future.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future. Regardless if your next stay will be in our sister hotel the Hotel The Ring or here with us at the Grand Hotel Wien.

I remain with the kindest regadrs from Vienna,

Sincerely,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here in May 2012 on a mother - daughter trip. The people at reception were very friendly and helpful and the concierge had great recommendations. We stayed in a twin room - it was spacious and had a vintage-y feel to it (older style furniture). The location was great - just a 2 minute walk from the opera house - we saw a great ballet performance. We went almost every night for a cocktail to Do& Co. which was only a 10 minute walk away and has a great view - you should definitely try a Hugo (sort of a white wine spritzer) when youre in Vienna. We also took a tour bus - which is right opposite the opera house and did the hop on hop off tours.. we even managed to take the tour to Prague - they do day trips - its 3 hours away - and we ended up staying there (although you pay the full price of the ticket) which at the time was cheaper than flying there! We had free wifi in the room and ordered coffee every morning to the room - they didnt have a kettle in the room. Overall it was a pleasant stay but the hotel does feel a bit "old"

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possiblebliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Possiblebliss,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

It is my pleasure to inform you that by latest may all the rooms at the Grand Hotel Wien will be equipped with coffee machines.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed there last year in july. it`s really a nice and royal place to stay in. but the breakfast was not as great as we expected. service was good and reception people were polite and professional. except for one lady at the reception who was very
rude and not helpful at all.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona4_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Mona4_11,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien in 2012. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
Therefore we are taking your comment on our staff very seriously. Please be ensured that it was never our intention to be rude or unpolite. We never wanted to hurt your feelings.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future in to proof that we have learned by our mnistakes.

With the most kindest regards from Vienna,

Yours respectfully,

Marcus Fürnkranz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 361 in Vienna
1,139 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#21 of 361 in Vienna
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#6 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Karntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing