We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #22 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Good location, great rooms not modern but nice, good service. Was a nice stay in Vienna, close to the main attractions ( Albertina, Hofburg..)and the shopping area. We enjoyed it and will come again for sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Xavier B.,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    202
    48
    13
    16
See reviews for
159
482
50
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham
Level Contributor
197 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

What you get when you buy a quality hotel is quality service and The Grand delivers. The concierge is outstandingly professional, and this is what you pay extra for. We had an overnight stay booked with Leading Hotels and got a reasonable price.

And everything else, location, cleanliness, sleep quality, noiselessness are all as you want them.

The hotel is disabled friendly.

Our one complaint is WIFI is charged, alomst everywhere in Wien has a free service.

Room Tip: Breakfast at Cafe Schwarzenberg is a short 50m walk away and EUR9 well spent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazy_amersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr Amersham,

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.
I ensure you that we are taking your comment regarding the free WiFi very seriously. We do offer indeed a free base Wifi in the hotel.We are very sorry if this option had been to slow for your personal needs.We are already trying to develop a faster free based internet for our customers.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahoghill northern ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for six nights at the end of October. Because we booked on line, we has free champagne delivered to our room shortly after arrival. All staff without exception were friendly and helpful. Fine dining restaurant Le Ciel was among the best restaurants we have ever eaten in. The bar in the hotel lobby was cosy and comfortable. Our room was everything we could have wished for. Location was very central to all sights. Everything spotlessly clean. Just loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Nan F. ,

on behalf of the entire staff we I would like to take the liberty to sincere thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien.We highly appreciate your positive comments on our product and services.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I kicked off our two week (Vienna, Prague, back to Vienna) 40th birthday/15th anniversary trip at the gorgeous Grand Wien. From the moment we arrived, service was flawless. The lobby's giant chandelier will stop you in your tracks and sets the tone for what will be a luxurious stay. The rooms are large, with increadibly high ceilings, and are beautifully decorated. The bathroom is large, clean and has all the amentities. There are several highly rated restaurants inside the hotel, as well as a shopping galeria that offers clothing, accessories, drugstore, and small grocery. You are also within walking distance of popular shopping squares and the opera house, where a large screen plays the performance going on inside and offers outdoor seating to enjoy the show for free. Of course the experience of staying at the Grand Wien wouldn't be complete without grabbing a window table in the lovely Rosengarten and enjoying a slice of their famous Ring Cake while watching the world go by. This hotel definately contributed to my falling in love with Vienna, I hope it will do the same for you.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bluepoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. 2bluepoints

I would like to take the liberty to sincere thank you for your recent stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. We are very happy to read that you did enjoy your time at our hotel as well the beauty and charme of the city of Vienna.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

As you walk through the front door, you already know that the hotel is perfectly located, the staff is friendly, and the hotel is beautifully appointed. As your stay unfolds, you are delighted to learn that the staff is very knowledgeable and service oriented and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Many of the sites you'll want to see are within a 20 minute walk. The bus tour recommended by the Concierge is very good for an overview of this beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Jim W.,

Thank you very much for your recent stay at the Grand hotel Wien.We appreciate your comments as it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great hotel. Excellent location. The room is big enough. The personnel is very polite and professional. There is the swimming pool. You can rent a swimming suit. What I didn't like, that the restaurant was working only until 22.00 p.m. It's not convenient. However, I can definitely recommend to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OldMoscower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

The hotel is elegant and the staff was very courteous and helpful. The hotel is in a great location. Its a block to the Opera and the main walking street down to St. Steven's cathedral. Its another block or so to the Hofburg palace. There is a subway station at the Opera and it takes about 10 min. straight shot on the green line to the Schonbrunn Palace.

Room Tip: Park the car. Everything is accessible by walking Iraq using the subway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doncur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Hotel W, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Doncur

We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at Grand Hotel Wien.It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team, who I am certain will be encouraged by your remarks. As a member of The Leading Hotels of the World, the hotel continuously strives to meet your needs and expectation.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

MARCUS FUERNKRANZ
Guest Relations and Quality Manager
Grand Hotel Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#27 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#26 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
#16 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#18 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most modern and luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing