We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sloppy error...disrespectful response” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #26 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sloppy error...disrespectful response”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Boiled gluten-free potatoes in pasta water. That's right. I had told the hotel ahead of time that my wife was gluten intolerant and when we ordered room service on our last night, my wife's ceasar salad came with croutons. We sent it back and asked for another. In the meantime, she ate her boiled potatoes (we had asked for baked potatoes) until she saw a piece of pasta in the bowl. Our only conclusion is that the hotel kitchen reuses its water and boiled the potatoes in pasta. My wife called down, and someone claiming to be the room service manager asked rudely, "What do you want me to do about it now?" I then called reception and asked for the general manager, which the front desk said that "they would try" and then I was transferred to a voice mail. We walked out of the hotel and went to a nearby five-star hotel for dinner, the staff of which fell over themselves to ensure a gluten-free meal. When we returned we again requested the general manager, and were told he would not arrive until 9am the next morning. We talked with the night manager who said that humans make mistakes, he could not compensate us, and why should he bother if I am going to write a review anyway. We were checking out the next morning, so I asked again to speak to the general manager at checkout, but the night manager told me that I couldn't leave until at least 10am in case the general manager came in late. Angry we went to bed. The next morning we waited until 9:45am to go downstairs and were met by the guest relations manager. He was more gracious and at least acknowledged that the hotel had not performed at the five star level. He said that although I had requested my all my money back, he was only prepared to give me the room service charge and 20% of our three night stay. I said I was not happy and would give him a chance to make this right. He replied that the general manager had called from vacation in Styria and said no more than 20%. How insulting...our vacation was ruined, but I am glad the general manager is taking a hard line 400km away. I said that this was not acceptable and offered the guest relations manager a week so that he could talk this over once the general manager returned from vacation. My wife and I enjoyed the rest of our vacation in Central Europe and then received an email from someone claiming to be the general manager but with the signature line of Asst. General Manager. He said he would not give us any more compensation since the mistake was room service and not with the room itself. Really, is the room service not part of the hotel? This is disgraceful for any hotel calling itself five star and I wonder if Leading Hotels of the World really checks on hotels it claims as one of their own.

Two small nits: the sheets had a brown stain when we checked in, and the sink didn't drain well.

We found the staff at Le Ciel restaurant to be helpful with my wife's gluten allergy. They said they were not connected to the room service. The other redeeming value of the hotel was its excellent location for sightseeing in Vienna.

But we still feel disrespected and marginalized based on our experience. Why can't Four Seasons open a branch in Vienna?!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anon789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'anon789', thank you for your review. We have taken notice of your complaints and also reacted in a respectful way when you were still at the hotel. I even mailed you 2 times, explaining in detail why we see no necessity in fully sponsoring your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien. We do not see our responses as disrespectful as we have taken all necessary actions in an acceptable timeframe, even corresponded with our partner Leading Hotels of the World. Again, we do apologize for what has happened and have spoken with the respective staff as to your issues. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    215
    50
    14
    17
See reviews for
168
509
55
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been in Vienna and beside the charming streets, boutiques, and city culture, a place that should be considered is Grand Hotel Wien. The historical palace is a resemble of history and royalty. The service is outstanding and the location is superb. Definitely I recommend this hotel to the most demanding visitors. Even a coffee at the bar is an experience.

Room Tip: A Deluxe superior room provide additional space in a high ceiling room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'ajbhu', great review, thank you very much! Happy to read that when staying at the Grand Hotel Wien you can experience a true royal atmosphere..........I also thank you for recommending us to other travellers, much appreciated! Looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is great bargain, especially if you are a member of Leading Hotels of the World chain - that would give you an automatic upgrade in Grand Hotel. The hotel in conveniently located, close to the Vienna Opera. I've stayed there numerous times and never had negative experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexK-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'AlexK-N', thank you very much for your review, it is much appreciated! It is indeed a fact that if you are a member of Leading Hotels of the World your receive specials at the Grand Hotel Wien. Good to read that your have stayed with us already a few times and that you never had a negative experience, we will keep up the good work! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were in Grand Hotel Wien again, this time only for one night. We got much better room than we ordered, but for the same price, so a great satisfaction and gratitude. And room was the same as our last stay :-) I love this hotel, its furnishing and atmosphere. This luxury bathroom and heated floor ensures than I feel like a Princess :-) High carpets, luxury curtains, very comfortable sleeping, aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah :-) The hotel staff is proffesional and nice, it is next reason, why we come back again. The Breakfast is rich, so amazing and glas of delicious Austrian sparkling wine for breakfast guarantees perfect start into new sunny day :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eTrezalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'eTrezalka', great review, thank you so much! You described your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien so detailed! Good to read that you loved the Grand Hotel Wien hence I am looking forward spoiling you again for your next stay, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for a few days in early September. Found the staff to be very pleasant, and the restaurant to be unstuffy while still providing excellent food and service. (Michelin star quality in my opinion!). The only slight downside was the gym was being rebuilt and was closed while we were there. I hope to be able to use it next time though!

Very much looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Upgrade, ask for a city view. We got a balcony which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'Foxsake', great review, thank you! Good to read that you liked the hotel, the location and our facilities. As to your comment on the fitness, we have closed our fitness room as we will built a new spa including extensive fitness facilities which we will open mid December 2012. Looking forward welcoming you then! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We did not stay at the Grand hotel (too pricey for our budget) but when funds permit, perhaps a retirement gift, we would definately do so. We still enjoyed the lobby area and the most elaborate washrooms we've ever used. They are on the basement/lower level but open to the public. There is marble everywhere and gold plated sinks, taps, as well as fresh orchid flowers. After relaxing in their sumptous sofa in the lobby and then washing up in their grand washroom, we both felt that it was the least we could do to pay back their hospitality and eat our dinner here. We were not dissappointed. We were in the mood for sushi and had unfortunately missed their Sunday sushi all you can buffet from 12 to 2:30 pm. on the upper floor of the hotel. We did have a look inside and it is a nice but typical japanese restaurant.

We opted to eat dinner outside on their ground floor terrace which overlooks a main street. The food was very good and the service attentive. The pastry dessert were excellent, especially the strawberry eclair.

The next day we were in the area again and decided to have lunch at the ground level sushi restaurant. There are a few tables outside as well as inside. This is the sister restaurant of the previously mentioned main restaurant upstairs. The sushi plates are varied and reasonably priced for the quality and quantity received.

If we're back in Vienna we still have 2 top floor hotel restaurants that we have not yet sampled at the Grand, and hopefully, this next time, we will be able to afford to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globetroter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'globetroter111', thank you for your great comments on a few of the hotel facilities and the 2 japanese restaurants we operate. I can say, please do stay with us for your next stay in Vienna, it is worth it! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was my husband's and my first visit to Austria and there was no better way to start than our stay at the Grand Hotel Wein. We had a beautiful, modern room with a marble bathroom with 2 sinks! The staff who greeted us was friendly and helpful. Our concierge made several recommendations for dinner and must-see attractions. My only criticism was the 38 Euro per-person cost of breakfast in the hotel dining room. C'mon. We went next door to Illy and had coffee, a vegetable omlette and a roll for 9 Euros. Worked for us. When we were in town, we visited some of the other nearby hotels in the same (high) category) and the Grand Hotel Wein won hands down. It was even priced better than the others which we investigated prior to our selection.

Room Tip: If you have an American Express platinum card and book through Amex, you will get a room upgrade. Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'Marcia523', this is a great review for which I say : Thank you! Happy to read that we made your stay to an unforgettable one! As to your comments on the breakfast, these are international prices, you pay even more in cities like Brussels, Paris, London or partly Moscow. Happy to read that the Grand Hotel Wien was better priced than other hotels. Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#23 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#22 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most modern and luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing