We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Vienna you can experience true royal atmosphere”
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #28 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In Vienna you can experience true royal atmosphere”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have been in Vienna and beside the charming streets, boutiques, and city culture, a place that should be considered is Grand Hotel Wien. The historical palace is a resemble of history and royalty. The service is outstanding and the location is superb. Definitely I recommend this hotel to the most demanding visitors. Even a coffee at the bar is an experience.

Room Tip: A Deluxe superior room provide additional space in a high ceiling room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'ajbhu', great review, thank you very much! Happy to read that when staying at the Grand Hotel Wien you can experience a true royal atmosphere..........I also thank you for recommending us to other travellers, much appreciated! Looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    227
    55
    16
    20
See reviews for
183
549
59
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is great bargain, especially if you are a member of Leading Hotels of the World chain - that would give you an automatic upgrade in Grand Hotel. The hotel in conveniently located, close to the Vienna Opera. I've stayed there numerous times and never had negative experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexK-N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'AlexK-N', thank you very much for your review, it is much appreciated! It is indeed a fact that if you are a member of Leading Hotels of the World your receive specials at the Grand Hotel Wien. Good to read that your have stayed with us already a few times and that you never had a negative experience, we will keep up the good work! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were in Grand Hotel Wien again, this time only for one night. We got much better room than we ordered, but for the same price, so a great satisfaction and gratitude. And room was the same as our last stay :-) I love this hotel, its furnishing and atmosphere. This luxury bathroom and heated floor ensures than I feel like a Princess :-) High carpets, luxury curtains, very comfortable sleeping, aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah :-) The hotel staff is proffesional and nice, it is next reason, why we come back again. The Breakfast is rich, so amazing and glas of delicious Austrian sparkling wine for breakfast guarantees perfect start into new sunny day :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eTrezalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'eTrezalka', great review, thank you so much! You described your stay at the Grand Hotel Wien so detailed! Good to read that you loved the Grand Hotel Wien hence I am looking forward spoiling you again for your next stay, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for a few days in early September. Found the staff to be very pleasant, and the restaurant to be unstuffy while still providing excellent food and service. (Michelin star quality in my opinion!). The only slight downside was the gym was being rebuilt and was closed while we were there. I hope to be able to use it next time though!

Very much looking forward to visiting again.

Room Tip: Upgrade, ask for a city view. We got a balcony which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'Foxsake', great review, thank you! Good to read that you liked the hotel, the location and our facilities. As to your comment on the fitness, we have closed our fitness room as we will built a new spa including extensive fitness facilities which we will open mid December 2012. Looking forward welcoming you then! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We did not stay at the Grand hotel (too pricey for our budget) but when funds permit, perhaps a retirement gift, we would definately do so. We still enjoyed the lobby area and the most elaborate washrooms we've ever used. They are on the basement/lower level but open to the public. There is marble everywhere and gold plated sinks, taps, as well as fresh orchid flowers. After relaxing in their sumptous sofa in the lobby and then washing up in their grand washroom, we both felt that it was the least we could do to pay back their hospitality and eat our dinner here. We were not dissappointed. We were in the mood for sushi and had unfortunately missed their Sunday sushi all you can buffet from 12 to 2:30 pm. on the upper floor of the hotel. We did have a look inside and it is a nice but typical japanese restaurant.

We opted to eat dinner outside on their ground floor terrace which overlooks a main street. The food was very good and the service attentive. The pastry dessert were excellent, especially the strawberry eclair.

The next day we were in the area again and decided to have lunch at the ground level sushi restaurant. There are a few tables outside as well as inside. This is the sister restaurant of the previously mentioned main restaurant upstairs. The sushi plates are varied and reasonably priced for the quality and quantity received.

If we're back in Vienna we still have 2 top floor hotel restaurants that we have not yet sampled at the Grand, and hopefully, this next time, we will be able to afford to stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendanBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'globetroter111', thank you for your great comments on a few of the hotel facilities and the 2 japanese restaurants we operate. I can say, please do stay with us for your next stay in Vienna, it is worth it! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This was my husband's and my first visit to Austria and there was no better way to start than our stay at the Grand Hotel Wein. We had a beautiful, modern room with a marble bathroom with 2 sinks! The staff who greeted us was friendly and helpful. Our concierge made several recommendations for dinner and must-see attractions. My only criticism was the 38 Euro per-person cost of breakfast in the hotel dining room. C'mon. We went next door to Illy and had coffee, a vegetable omlette and a roll for 9 Euros. Worked for us. When we were in town, we visited some of the other nearby hotels in the same (high) category) and the Grand Hotel Wein won hands down. It was even priced better than the others which we investigated prior to our selection.

Room Tip: If you have an American Express platinum card and book through Amex, you will get a room upgrade. Ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'Marcia523', this is a great review for which I say : Thank you! Happy to read that we made your stay to an unforgettable one! As to your comments on the breakfast, these are international prices, you pay even more in cities like Brussels, Paris, London or partly Moscow. Happy to read that the Grand Hotel Wien was better priced than other hotels. Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

In the heart of Vienna a real 5* hotel. The rooms are very good equipped and very comfortable.The breakfast its very delicious (till 11.00) but the service need more attendant.The bar in the entrance of hotel is very cosy.The location is great,everything is walking distance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psychoAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear 'psychoAthens', great review, thank you! We will review your comments on our service a bit more in detail. Looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien, I remain, with best regards from Vienna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 360 in Vienna
1,392 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#3 of 360 in Vienna
849 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#7 of 360 in Vienna
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Karntner Ring 9, Vienna 1010, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing