We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Ranked #2 of 209 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location and great hostel”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Really enjoyed our time at this hostel. We had a room to ourselves and had plenty of privacy even though it was a bustling hostel. The room was typical of a hostel, basic but clean and with our own bathroom. It felt very secure with hallways having secure doors only accessible with your room card. Hostel is very close to city centre, only 15min walk or you can get the underground which is close-by also. You can make your own breakfast or get one provided for €3.90 which was quite a nice selection of buffet type foods. Bar is open in the evenings if you want some drinks and play some pool. Overall I'd really recommend this hostel for the price/location.

Room Tip: Travelling as a couple I'd recommend your own room. Ours was good size and we had the bit more p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmcguinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    501
    100
    25
    26
See reviews for
50
241
445
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at Wombats for 3 days and it was a nice experience. The hostel gives you very good directions to the hostel so it was very easy to find. We arrived before check-in and the staff was really nice and let us check-in early. We had a private 4-person room and it was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was also very big and nice. The bar area was nice and seemed to be pretty busy most nights. The drink prices down there are also really great so take advantage of that! The staff was great at check-in, but after that they were pretty unhelpful. When we asked for some suggestions of things to do, they did not seem to know anything about their own city. The location was pretty good, it was about half an hour to walk to most of the tourist attractions but it was super close to a metro station too so everything was accessible. One heads up, on sundays, nothing seemed to be open so we had to walk like half an hour to find any food for dinner. Also, there is a really great restaurant close by, Blaue Lagune, that everyone should go to! Overall, it was a pretty good experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great location, just one block from the subway, and walking distance from the Ring area. It's very easy to get there from Wien Meidling (train station). The hostel is really nice and really clean, the staff really helpul and the breakfast (like in all Wombats) it's amazing although you have to pay like 4 euros, which is really cheap because it's all you can eat. Among the 3 Wombats in Vienna, I guess Naschmarkt is the best!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaVila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room with private bathroom for 2 nights in May:

Pros:

Very easily accessible.
Friendly staff ready to answer any questions.
Very clean and the shower was one of the best I have ever used.
Common area great and bar has good atmosphere with cheap drinks.
The breakfast was great for €3.90.
Loads of information given in the wombats leaflet, a great help to us.

Cons:

The rooms were so hot, we felt like we were literally melting even with our fan on.
While wifi is offered it's not the greatest, could not skype family at home as connection so poor, even basic searches took ages to load.
Lack of plug sockets in room, could not have a charger plugged in if you wanted lamp on.

All in all a great hostel and would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nicflo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I have never reviewed a place poorly, ever, until now. My boyfriend and I stayed at Wombats for 3 nights, and we really wish we would have spent an extra $10 and stayed elsewhere. I have never encountered such rude and oblivious staff in the 9 years I've been travelling. The staff was clueless about every question we asked. There was one girl who was a sweetheart and actually took the time to look things up for us, such as bus times, etc., but the others gave the "I don't know" response and left it at that. One girl at the desk actually greeted us with "what?" Unless you know Vienna well enough to not need directions or advice about anything, don't stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The best hostel I have lived in my trip. Advanced technology of the locker (no need to prepare your personal lock), nice staff, cheap price of the breakfast (all you can eat), the good location, stable WIFI, a big kitchen with a reasonable price are the selling point of the hostel. But having to beware of the size of the room, it is quite small for 6 bed dormitory.
P.S. The central market is near the hostel.There are many cheap supermarket that you can go!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotingc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Wombat's is a really nice backpacker place: good atmosphere with travellers & fun people who mix and mingle. Friendly and helpful staff.

Rooms are good. Bunk beds are comfortable but nothing special. A bit ramshackle to be honest. Lockers are very well done: you lock them with your hostel card. Bathroom and toilet are in one room belonging to the dorm and it's not too well isolated in terms of noise.

There is a really nice bar which is so well situated that no noise could ever annoy people who sleep in their rooms. Plus a very nice common area which is also used for breakfast plus a big kitchen. The kitchen is ok equipped. All facilities are ok in terms of cleanliness.

The location is very good at the Naschmarkt. Easy to walk to main spots and go out at night.

We met a lot of nice people, had fun, slept well and really enjoyed our stay! We'd come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGirlOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 361 in Vienna
1,610 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 209 in Vienna
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Property: wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 209 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing