We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Ranked #3 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2014

As usual wombats never fails. We stayed there one night in a private room and it was very clean. The price is awesome for a expensive city like Vienna. The best is that you are in a hostel, but high quality, nice people and awesome location in front of the Naschmarkt and 10 minutes walk from the National Opera. For sure we will repeat next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lluc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

678 - 684 of 1,580 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

This place was pretty much like a really helpful hotel.
Clean and affordable- I don't know anything else you would need

Great location- but just outside of the first district in Wien
One of the better hostel experiences globally
(, said a well-seasoned hosteller/traveller).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank internationalmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

clean rooms and bathroom. Great kitchen space to store food in the fridge, cook and eat (although we constantly got our food stolen from the fridge and storage by other guests!)
The staff at reception were simply the best. The bar staff were also very friendly and the bar itself was a great place to meet other travellers.
I would definitely stay there again (but maybe bring a lunchbox and padlock to lock up my food in there!)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cakesandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

excellent big city hostel run,helpful staff, comfortable dorms. Excellent value breakfast [additional charge].Perhaps a 5 minute walk from the westbahnhoff; easy access to sights with a transit card [though no one ever asked].

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

It is only few minutes walking to U4 public transportation . The hostel is in front of Naschmart. Naschmart offers nice vegetable, food and etc. The hostel is clean , quiet , secured . The staffs are very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended to stay especially fort backpacker. Will stay here again when visit Vienna.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Ich hatte keine große Probleme mit diesem Jugendherberge. Der Naschmarkt, die Kettenbrückengasse U-Bahn Station und die Stadtmitte sind zu Fuß erreichbar. Ich fand es in bisschen schwer, zuerst der Jugendherberge zu finden aber das war wahrscheinlich meine Schuld. Mein Zimmer war sauber und die kostenlose W-Lan hat manchmal funktioniert. Man muss seine eigene Bettwäsche im Erdgeschoss abholen und zurückgeben - das fand ich ein bisschen lästig aber nicht unvernünftig. Die Mitarbeiter waren hilfreich. Ich würde hier wieder bleiben.

(I didn't have any major problems with this hostel. It is within walking distance of the Naschmarkt, Kettenbrückengasse subway station and the city. I did get a little lost trying to follow the instructions to the hostel, but that's probably more so my fault than the hostel's. The rooms were clean and the free wifi worked well some of the time. You have to get your own sheets from the lobby and take them up to the room, then bring them back down on check-out; I didn't find this too unreasonable but a little inconvenient. The staff were helpful. I would stay here again.)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Good location, walking distance to most sites. Full of young people and with a unique and very good atmosphere. The staff is really nice and helpful. Good kitchen area and bar had good drink specials. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leona p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 359 in Vienna
1,663 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 216 in Vienna
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 216 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $18 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing