We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent room, clean and very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”
Ranked #3 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2011

An excellent option to stay in Vienna. I've been in the private room with my husband, for 3 days. It's lovely and very clean. The tube station is in the same street and right in front of the hostel. There is a free market full of nice food/ restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silvia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

We've booked a double insuit room, so we felt like we were in hotel for the hostel price. Not sure that Wombats Naschmarkt is the cheapest one but seems to be the best one. Clean rooms and lobbys, friendly atmosphere, nice staff ready to help you with all the quuestions you have. And very nice location, just 15 minutes walk from historical center.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malysh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We only had one night but have to say of the huge hostels I've been to this was one of the best. It was massive but the room was very clean, it all looked brand new. The first staff member I met was a bit rubbish but after that everyone was really helpful and friendly. It's a good location and an easy walk into the city centre.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingkiwi84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Wombats, as usual, is just perfect! Is within a short walk from Vienna City Center. Bar is very fun, and the common areas are perfect!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaniMolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days and we thought it was perfect. Sparkling clean interiors and a very fresh, young look. Not to mention the location- about half a minute's walk from the Kettenbruckengasse metro stop which is just a couple of stops from either Miedling or Wien Westbahnhof.
The buffet breakfast is plentiful and cheap. It cost us just 3.70 Euros each. The place even has its own bar which is open until about 4 am or so. We even got free drinks when we checked in and a free breakfast on our last day there. Excellent service. The best part was how helpful and efficient they were when we were running late for a couple of tours. They seem to be connected with Vienna Explorer and I would highly recommend their tours too.
Wombats even has a huge board telling us about special events that week, train schedules, tour options, day trip information etc. I cannot recommend this high enough. Just book it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HariniIyengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My expectations were lowered a bit on arrival when we were met with a bus full (about 60) teenage girls who were also checking in. Luckily, aside from the initial noise and congestion at check in, it was an overall quiet stay at the Wombat's Naschmarkt location.

The Pros:
- Excellent location. The Naschmarkt is just across the street and is home to hundreds (more?) of great food stalls and restaurants. The U-bahn is a quick walk (less than five minutes) away. It's an easy walk to Karlsplatz and other areas.
- Friendly and helpful staff. From offering restaurant suggestions to providing change for the laundry to having umbrellas available for rent, they seemed genuinely interested in helping newcomers to Vienna.
- The room - a Double Bed Private with ensuite - was very spacious. Huge windows that could be opened definitely helped. The shower was one of the best I had in Europe. (Just be sure to bring your own toiletries.) It was surprisingly quiet, as well. There's a mandatory quiet time of 10pm and while I never say anyone actually enforce it, I don't think there was a need to.

The Cons:
- The bed was very soft, pillows almost useless. Not very comfortable.
- The common areas were stifling hot.
- There's free WiFi but in the lounge only. The lounge took on an odd tech-zombie vibe. Everyone was sitting in the sweltering room, staring down at their devices and not interacting with each other. Trying to find a place to sit was often difficult.
- You can leave your luggage with the hostel after you checkout, but it's in one large room with everyone else's bags. The room itself is locked but once you get in there, you could theoretically take anyone's luggage.
- Hopefully a one-off, but the early morning fire alarms were startling. When we asked the staff what the problem was, it turns out "someone with a bad sense of humor" had pulled the alarm three times. There was no indication from staff at the time about whether it was really a fire, just a false alarm or something else entirely.

Not a bad stay, not a great stay. Maybe I'm just getting too old for hostels.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JulieAHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

This new hostel has everything you need!! We stayed there in Sept 2011 and had a great time. It has a fully equipt kitchen, bar/mini nightclub (beer hh, cocktail hh!!), computers, general hangout area. The rooms were huge and clean and the one we stayed in had its own ensuite (8 bed mixed dorm). Very close to the city and train station and across the road from the Naschmarkt- amazing for gormet food! I would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duffy29091988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#158 of 358 in Vienna
1,694 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 219 in Vienna
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT”

Address: Rechte Wienzeile 35, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: $26 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your wombats CITY HOSTEL Vienna “THE NASCHMARKT” reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing