We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe in one of Vienna’s best hotels”
Review of Cafe Imperial Wien

Cafe Imperial Wien
Ranked #11 of 134 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $73
Cuisines: Austrian, Deli, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Reviewed July 11, 2018 via mobile

The cakes were exquisite and the service impeccable. Have the Crepes, however the ambience is nothing special and does not reflect the granddure of the Hotel Imperial.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Ricklars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 563 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2018

During our stay at the Imperial Hotel we ate here four times for breakfast and once for dinner. We always received a warm welcome. Service during our meal was helpful and attentive but not too stuffy. The dinner menu wasn’t extensive but there was a reasonable choice of traditional Austrian food. I couldn’t resist trying the Wiener Schnitzel (particularly famous following Rick Stein’s visit here) and it didn’t disappoint – easily the best version I tried in Austria. I ordered the small portion which was just the right size for me. The schnitzel was very light, puffed up perfectly and well-seasoned. The accompanying veg was nice too. My husband ordered the Tafelspitz. We both agreed that it was very tasty but in all honesty I can’t say that it was the very best we had tried. For a romantic meal, make a reservation and ask for one of the cosy window seats for two. Prices not too outrageous. Really handy for a pre/post concert dinner if you are going to the Musikverein.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank top-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2018

The Hotel Imperial is definitely one of the best hotels in Vienna, actually it is probably the best. The food in the cafe is excellent, well prepared and well presented by truly professional, helpful and friendly staff.
For a taste of old Vienna try the schnitzel and the kaiserschmarrn both a speciality.
We can't wait to go back again, hopefully in February 2019.

Date of visit: February 2018
1  Thank DVBUK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2018 via mobile

An ideal break during a long walk in Vienna.
Centrally located and part of the elegant and chic Imperial Hotel (a Luxury Collection Hotel).
We sat outside on the comfortable terrace.
The menu is very elaborate and offers a large variety of sweet and savoury choices.
There is a display with cakes and pastries from which to choose.
We had pancakes, plum tart with vanilla sauce and ice coffees.
Everything is served in an elegant way and came in generous portions.
Prices are midrange but worth the venue and the quality of what you get.
Next time in Vienna we will try the café inside for hot dishes.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank OlivierFromBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

Whether you opt to eat inside or outdoor, the Cafe Imperial is the perfect place to 'taste' Vienna. It offers elegance without pretentiousness. Friendly, efficient service and a varied but not overwhelming menu. The food is fresh and good value for money. The 'torte' is fabulous as is the coffee. Once you sit you may not want to leave!

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank DGJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Imperial Wien also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Imperial Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing