We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You Pay a Little More, But It's Worth It.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Imperial

Cafe Imperial
Ranked #8 of 102 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian, Cafe, European, Central European, Delicatessen, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
London, UK
Level Contributor
146 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“You Pay a Little More, But It's Worth It.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Café, provide very high quality cakes, snacks and meals. Although the prices were a little higher than ‘in the street’ the quality of food and speed of service was excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheLondonGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    109
    40
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pianezzo, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Looking worse for wear!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was a few years since I had last been to the Café Imperial and it is now looking very run down. Chipped furniture and an overall dowdy look. Living on it's reputation but lost all the grandeur!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heinrich D, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Cafe Imperial, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear “Stefanie B”,

thank you very much for taking your time to share your experiences and impressions with us and the entire TripAdvisor Community.

It was with great concern that I read that we did not live up to your expectations with the condition of the Hotel and especially with the Café Imperial itself. The Hotel Imperial was originally built in 1863 and most pieces of furniture in our Café as well as throughout the public areas are antiques, and such we are extremely careful to restore them to their original look, always trying to keep the atmosphere that the hotel has maintained over decades.

To keep the unique atmosphere of the Café Imperial is a matter that is near to our heart and we want to exhibit this honest tribute to Viennese traditions also in the 21st century. The interior decoration and atmosphere combined with the high level of service are those very special elements which set us apart from other Hotels and Cafés in Vienna.

Again, I regret that we seemed not to have been able to meet your expectations and I can therefore only thank you for your patronage and honest comments.

Kind regards,
Heinrich Dominici, Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good afternoon Strudel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Got atmosphere and amazing staff and food. Love the piano....
Make sure to make reservation during the weekend after the concert as it usually full

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank YonitG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolo, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Touristic yet elegant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Grate cafe for a piece of cake after a concert in the near musikverein. The atmosphere was really elegant, but in the terrace it is much more easy.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One visit was not enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were so impressed with the atmosphere, ambiance, service and quality of food that we just had to make a second visit to this Cafe during our short stay.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Imperial also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing