We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic”
Review of Cafe Central

Cafe Central
Ranked #8 of 102 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Austrian, European, German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: This famous traditional café with its 130 year history was first opened in 1876 and at the turn of the 20th century it was a popular meeting point for leading lights in the world of art, literature, politics and science such as Arthur Schnitzler, Sigmund Freud, Peter Altenberg and Leo Trotzki. Then, like today, the legendary literature café was a meeting point for all ages, regular guests, Viennese locals and visitors. Unique architecture combined with the best coffee specialities, classic Viennese cuisine and finest home-made pastries make every visit a special experience. Daily Live Piano Music from 5pm on! Reservations are strongly recommended to avoid waiting time - upon availability. Many thanks in advance for your understanding!
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Classic touristic destination. Very nice environment and pleasent atmosphere. We tried a strudel and had some coffee, everything was good. Kind staff. The price are a little too high, but overall certainly worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,890
    2,483
    711
    211
    179
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“WOW!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Three reasons to go here: 1) great coffee 2) divine cake 3) the grand decor!

This place is a bit of a touristy, but well worth a visit for 1 or all 3 of the above reasons.
Be warned - the sheer mass of selection of cakes will have you dazzeled and you'll spend ages looking a the counter trying to choose. I had a chocolate truffel cake which was delicious but very rich.
The decor is so grand inside that I felt like i had been transported to another era. This is too topped of by all the waiters wearing dicky bows and wastecoasts for their uniform.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 31AMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Why didn't they tell us”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We didn't actually visit Cafe Central because it was CLOSED the weekend we visited Vienna. In fact, they were doing renovations. We checked their website and there was no mention of the closing. Had we known, we would have made other plans for breakfast. Bummer!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daz1249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious and beautiful”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place is cool. If you get anything, get the lemon meringue tart- it is to DIE for. We ate dinner too, hubs had some vegetarian thing with lentils, I had the fried chicken. Food was pretty good. The coffee was really good but not hot enough, the Sacher torte was okay- kind of dry. The ambience and piano playing were lovely. Server was kind of rude to some other guests but really nice to us. Yes, I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NattaTatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Classical and charming ambient and yammy cakes!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Beautiful inferior design and charming and buzzy ambient. Sort of travelling back to the older time.

They have a great selection of cakes! I tried the Sommer Kuss (summer kiss), it is the Austrian's Mille-feuille, named schnitte. Of course, they do have Sachetorte... but why not sth. else but equally authentic! Coffee is also good, smaller than Starbuck's of course.

Cake+ coffee < 9 euro. Yes, it is so in Vienna. The avg. is here.

Waiters and waitress are moving swiftly and being friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jude9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Central also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing