We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth making a detour to visit”
Review of Cafe Central

Cafe Central
Ranked #7 of 101 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Austrian, European, German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: This famous traditional café with its 130 year history was first opened in 1876 and at the turn of the 20th century it was a popular meeting point for leading lights in the world of art, literature, politics and science such as Arthur Schnitzler, Sigmund Freud, Peter Altenberg and Leo Trotzki. Then, like today, the legendary literature café was a meeting point for all ages, regular guests, Viennese locals and visitors. Unique architecture combined with the best coffee specialities, classic Viennese cuisine and finest home-made pastries make every visit a special experience. Daily Live Piano Music from 5pm on! Reservations are strongly recommended to avoid waiting time - upon availability. Many thanks in advance for your understanding!
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Worth making a detour to visit”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had really nice food in here, sausages and cakes. The atmosphere is very grand and historic. The coffee was good too, and the service was quick and friendly. It's worth making a detour to visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flying_and_Eating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,968
    2,523
    728
    217
    185
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great historical Vienna cafe”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice breakfast, great pastries, wonderful atmosphere. Highly recommend to all. Plus they have live piano performances every evening.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank d_lt_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our hotel concierge recommended this cafe while in Vienna and I agree! While we only had late afternoon beer and appetizers, so can't really comment on the food, it was perfect. The interior is magnificant and a pianist played throughout - it's easy to picture the historic figures seated at one of the nearby tables. I do wish we had more time in Vienna so I could have enjoyed a dinner here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mvp724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tea Cathedral”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was an experience in typical Viennese style in terms of the coffee and tea culture of years gone by. The inside of Cafe Central is really beautiful and coffee, tea and selection of cakes are of the highest quality to be found anywhere. My wife decided to go back a few times to really soak in the atmosphere and reflect on the conversations and social interactions that may have taken place there around the beginning of the 20th century.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank boskojb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast Time Review: First time Melange, Excellent Tortes, Good Ambience, Average Service”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I and the wife arrived to this cafe for breakfast, we were taken back by the grandiose architecture, and the ambience. Not that we haven't seen something like this, but it was different. The place was lively with live Piano. We had to wait for the waiter for a long time, and were not impressed with the service. However, once our order was in place, we started building a different perception. If you are in a rush, then this place might disappoint you, however we were here to relax, and were not disappointed. They have an amazingly delicious collection of cakes and tortes (tried two of them). My first time Melange experience was also very good. The cafe is the oldest in the town, and serves you news paper in 18 different languages. If you are in Vienna for long, then do take an hour long pit stop early morning for some delicious breakfast. It's worth it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rocksaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Central also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing