We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All day eating in wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Central

Cafe Central
Ranked #7 of 103 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: German, Austrian, Cafe, European, Soups, Central European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: This famous traditional café with its 130 year history was first opened in 1876 and at the turn of the 20th century it was a popular meeting point for leading lights in the world of art, literature, politics and science such as Arthur Schnitzler, Sigmund Freud, Peter Altenberg and Leo Trotzki. Then, like today, the legendary literature café was a meeting point for all ages, regular guests, Viennese locals and visitors. Unique architecture combined with the best coffee specialities, classic Viennese cuisine and finest home-made pastries make every visit a special experience. Daily Live Piano Music from 5pm on! Reservations are strongly recommended to avoid waiting time - upon availability. Many thanks in advance for your understanding!
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“All day eating in wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We found Cafe Central on a Sunday night and decided to have dinner there. We had a great time, we had sausages and some sort of cheese fritters with beer. Followed this off with cake and coffee. Whats not to love! Great service, very friendly and frankly you could sit there all day and just soak up the atmosphere and the beautiful space. We had a great time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mitchoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,717
    2,378
    678
    198
    171
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Cafe Central is loated in the wonderful Palais Ferstl which is a jewel itself. Depending on the time of arrival it might be you have to queue up to get seated but the atmosphere in cluding a piano player in the afternoon is well worth it. Will definitely go there again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
233 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“High ceilings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We went for early dinner on Sunday (5-ish) and were able to secure one of the 2 free tables. Large restaurant with high ceilings and life piano music.
The menu is not extensive and largely Austrian: we tried the Austrian soup with veggies and knodel and the steak tartare. Both were nice.
Atmosphere is nice but service not to good. Might be because it is very touristic as it is mentioned in all Vienna guides. But if you are walking around in the neighborhood Otis a good place to crash for comfort food or cakes and coffee/hot chocolate

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We walked a fair bit to get to this place after reading the reviews on trip advisor, It was a huge disappointment, While the ceilings are high and the place has an old world charm about it, there was no atmosphere. Just looked like an old place. Maybe we were very disappointed with the food which was just average. We didnt have dessert. We asked for water and they did ask whether I wanted still or sparkling and i said still but regular water. They got me a bottle for which I was charged 5 euros! In vienna one can drink tap water and even buy a bottle for as low as 0.5 euros! this was a bit too much. I wish restaurants didnt do this! We also went there for the music. It was there but intermittently as the person kept taking breaks.
All in all not worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friendlytipsMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“only for coffee and cakes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

A very nice place to visit. wonderful sealings in a big nice hall. cakes are good but warm food is of no value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank coulapic7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Central also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing