We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe Central- a good choice for the Vienna Cafe Experience”
Review of Cafe Central

Cafe Central
Ranked #8 of 102 Dessert in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Austrian, European, German, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: This famous traditional café with its 130 year history was first opened in 1876 and at the turn of the 20th century it was a popular meeting point for leading lights in the world of art, literature, politics and science such as Arthur Schnitzler, Sigmund Freud, Peter Altenberg and Leo Trotzki. Then, like today, the legendary literature café was a meeting point for all ages, regular guests, Viennese locals and visitors. Unique architecture combined with the best coffee specialities, classic Viennese cuisine and finest home-made pastries make every visit a special experience. Daily Live Piano Music from 5pm on! Reservations are strongly recommended to avoid waiting time - upon availability. Many thanks in advance for your understanding!
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cafe Central- a good choice for the Vienna Cafe Experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

The desserts are great, and the cafe has a warm, welcoming and bright vibe. It's a bit expensive but worth it. Very historic, nicely furnished, great food, (try the white coffee). There are bunch of waiters rushing around and it is usually packed. If you need something don't hesitate to ask them for it because they will not stop to ask you.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadnerb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,890
    2,483
    711
    211
    179
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
242 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Cakes wonderful, atmosphere beautiful”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a must see in Vienna--- its so pretty you want to just keep ordering coffee to stay! I had a great chocolate cake( white, milk and dark) and the only problem we encountered was when asking if there were nuts in any of the other cakes because I am allergic. I used the german word nusse/nussen and the waiter said there were none, but there were. We were told that he was new so he didn't know. Luckily nothing happened because I didn't even try it, but that could have been deadly. The waiters were friendly and took the cake off my bill without my saying anything. I would return because it is beautiful and the food was great, but would ask more than one person about the ingredients next time!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Domfas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“beautiful venue and fantastic apple strudle”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We poped in here one lunchtime in October and it was pretty busy. By the time we left, the customers were queing out of the door. The staff were poilte and helpful and the apple strudle was the best that I tasted in Vienna. The interior is absolutely stunning. The only small negative (as they are clearly very sucessful) is that its slightly off putting eating, when you are sat within eye shot of the queues of hungry clients, waiting to be seated or waiting for you to hurry up so they can sit down and eat! Dont let this put you off. Fantasitc place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nostalgic and beautiful place”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a perfect place to have an intimate conversation, read a book, write anything, savor delicious sweets and amazing coffe, contemplate the past and dream about the future. Just lovely!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andresluis8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
210 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Surprisinly Reasonable”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This cafe was recommended in a few guides so I felt obliged to try it. It is in the most fashionable part of town and is very nicely appointed to I was quite surprised when my cafe-au-lait, English Tea and pastries were less than $15. I expected considerably more in this environment.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NHtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Central also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Cafe Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing