We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to Standards”
Review of italic

italic
Ranked #1,470 of 4,193 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: Tel; +43 1 512 41 22
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
377 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Up to Standards”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had a very nice meal here. All the pastas are home made. My wife had ravioli and I had cappellitti which were both excellent. My beef carpaccio was also excellent. The wine list is reasonable. However there was nothing to "knock our socks off." Perhaps we have eaten in too many good places on this trip. I would not hesitate to go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank datawest20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    66
    30
    9
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“First night excellent, second night average”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I ate here two nights in succession as two different hosts had both selected this restaurant. The first night was excellent - waiter attentive, fish special was delicious. The second night the service was slower and overall it was just not as good as the first night. Food is of a high standard and we had excellent wine, good location and nice decor.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank knowthegoodstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was modern, but not so tasty”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Indeed it is an oasis as atmosphere and service. Yet the food was not superbly amazing, as I was expecting after reading below reviews. We had starters and pasta plus panna cota for desert. While the presentation and starters were really thoughtful and made us want more, the pasta was somehow bland... al dente, but missing something. I would have omitted commenting on it like this if the menu was rich and you could say that maybe simply they don't do pasta well. But for the2 page menu, it is unforgivable to make mistakes...

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Late night oasis”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

On a cold rainy night after the opera we were the only customers. They happily feted us. Have the foie gras creme brûlée -- with the homemade onion chutney. Very nice wines by the glass and great grappa. Ask for Edita -- she's wonderful! And the maitre d was great in looking up times for services at the cathedral the next day.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lyricskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Top restaurant”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I have been there now several times and I really can recommend it, as a romantic lunch/dinner or for a celebration.
It has great atmosphere, noble interior, excellent service and most important the food is fresh and portions not too small.
The service is excellent, very friendly staff and even the chief cook came to us and asked if everything is alright.
The white truffle soup was the highlight of my last visit.
See you soon.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed italic also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to italic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing