We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for wine and a light snack”

Wein & Co Naschmarkt
Ranked #855 of 4,161 Restaurants in Vienna
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Wine Bar, Bar, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Mariahilf
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
118 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for wine and a light snack”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stumbled on this place while walking to Naschmarket. Wonderful place for wine and people watching. The staff was very friendly and helpful in their recommendations. We each had a glass of Austrian white wine, as recommended by our waiter. We also really enjoyed a crostini snack, one with roast beef and horseradish and the other with grilled vegetables. Just right for us. We were there in mid-afternoon when it wasn't crowded, but it looked like reservations might be in order during busy times. We did walk through the adjacent wine shop which has a nice selection.

We found ourselves at this same place again several nights later, when we again had excellent wine and a panini sandwich; very good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    52
    23
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A must-do when you're in Vienna”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Friends of us, who have lived in Vienna over 40 years, took us to the so-called Naschmarkt. The word "Naschmarkt" means eating/snack market in English. The restaurants are not that great but the atmosphere is fantastic. This is where the the "Wiener" go for their Saturday afternoon drink. Go and enjoy it.

Helpful?
Thank vincenthalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great wines”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I enjoyed the wine selection and the fun of this ... Ahhh... 'Fast wine bar' . We were there for late night and everything was very good, including the service. It is not a bohemian bar. Everything is very urban and clear. I first thought it was only a crowded swine store. The smart look isn't bad though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nekoandrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
247 reviews
224 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Wines Selection”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wine and Co is a wine shop and restaurant where you can buy your favorite wines and even have it there. If you want to try other wines without trying the whole bottles, you can try them by glasses and they have monthly specials. They serve snacks like cheeses, cold cuts, sandwiches, etc., to go with your wines. The place is busy after work and full with Viennese going for drinks before going out for dinner or going home. Great ambiance, friendly services and good prices.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helenz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
450 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Excellent for sourcing drinks”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Swedish friends visiting Austria commented on finding themselves in a reversed world: At home, shops are open on Sundays, with the notable exception of the state-owned alcohol monopoly store "Systembolaget". In Austria, however, all shops are closed, but you can go to Wein & Co after hours and fulfill your needs of drink.

While you are there, why not taste one of the wines in the monthly selection? For free? (Swedish comment: "Cannot believe people are not seriously drunk here!")
The interior is a bit bare, but stylish. The only complaint that I would have are the prices of food. Nibbles to your wine are ok, but a bit on the expensive side, but I would stay clear of having dinner there. Besides, there are too many other tasty options right over the street on Naschmarkt.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CasssandraCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wein & Co Naschmarkt also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Wein & Co Naschmarkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing