We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely restaurant to spend the evening”
Review of Al Borgo

Al Borgo
Ranked #16 of 4,234 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: We are located in the first district of Vienna between St. Stephen's Cathedral and the city park. Our chef and his team prepare with passion and craftsmanship delicious Italian specialties. The fresh preparation of food is for us a matter of course, as well as a changing menu. Whether the evening by candlelight or sunlight during the day, we pay attention to your culinary convenience six days a week. In this special atmosphere, we complete comfort and modernity. All friends of Italian cuisine are well received at The Ristorante "Al Borgo".
england
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lovely restaurant to spend the evening”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

we visited this restaurant on the 15.06.2013,after reading about it on tripadvisor .
it was a lovely restaurant very clean and graciously decorated.
the food and wine was excellent and the staff very friendly on leaving the manager called us to have a drink with him at the bar.,
a very pleasant evening ,well worth a visit if visting vienna.
cost for four people two course each and wine 120 euro good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglandDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Dianne, thank you very much for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    235
    53
    19
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian Cuisine”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived without a booking on a Monday night and were accommodated graciously with a table.
Food was fantastic, a combination of modern and traditional Italian.
Wine offerings by the glass were good (try the Syrah) and were a perfect accompaniment to the meals.
A great night all round with good service and fantastic food and wine.
Two entrees, two mains, four glasses of wine and a dessert will set you back about 100 euros but it was well worth it.
Dining standard is smart casual to romantic.

Walking distance from the Hollmann Belatage Hotel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tripbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear tripbaz, thank you very much for this nice summary. We are looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“THE most enjoyable experience we had in EUROPE!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I had heard of this restaurant thanks to,Trip Advisor but I wanted to make sure that we had a special time so I called the owner and told him how important this was to us......when we walked in we didn't even have to say our name (probably because we were the only party of 5 at 7pm) they greeted us at the door like family...From the moment we walked in, we felt as if we had known these owners for decades. Absolutely the most enjoyable dinner of our entire two week trip. The owners and our waiter sat down at our table & brought different italian drinks, various dishes and tastings and they were that way with everyone in the restaurant. It's like you get great food and a family style floorshow at the same time....we had a blast!!! At the end of the night they sent us on our way with a bottle of Averna-Maro Giliano because they just thought we would enjoy it. If your ever in Vienna you have to,check this place out! Unless you are a stick in the mud, I guarantee you will not be disappointed!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rfamily9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Hello again,

thank you so much for this wonderful review. It was our pleasure to host you. The entire crew hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Truly excellent”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Food and service were excellent. The dining room is very pleasant and the diners have plenty of space. We ate at several Italian restaurants in the area and although we found other good ones as well, this is the clear choice and the one we'll head for immediately next time we're in Vienna. We ordered fish and vegetarian dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aritenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Aritenga, wow it's wonderful to here you positive feedback about our restaurant. We are looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good Italian Restaurant at the right price”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

All good, from food to service, good ambient, and priced for what you get. The waiters were very personable, Italians of course, the ambient is quite, not a trap for tourist, the menu with good food choices, the wine list is simple but complete. Price is not cheap, but aligned to what you would pay in a good Italian restaurant in Italy. Close to the subway station and the center for a walk after dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alelupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Inhaber at Al Borgo, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Alelupo, thank you very much for this great summary! hope to see you again at Ristorante Al Borgo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Borgo also viewed

 

Been to Al Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing