We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian delight in Vienna”
Review of Al Borgo

Al Borgo
Ranked #17 of 4,158 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $56
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Inner City
Description: We are located in the first district of Vienna between St. Stephen's Cathedral and the city park. Our chef and his team prepare with passion and craftsmanship delicious Italian specialties. The fresh preparation of food is for us a matter of course, as well as a changing menu. Whether the evening by candlelight or sunlight during the day, we pay attention to your culinary convenience six days a week. In this special atmosphere, we complete comfort and modernity. All friends of Italian cuisine are well received at The Ristorante "Al Borgo".
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Italian delight in Vienna”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went for dinner to Al Borgo and were positively surprised. Staff are very friendly and helpful. After a classic prosecco we selected dishes from the monthly special menu, dedicated to lamb. The starter, a formation with minced lamb was delightful and the lamb medallions were succulent. Portion are healthy, leaving just enough room for a tasty dessert, a home made truffle chocolate with white chocolate ice cream inside. Certainly a place to remember!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PHL-ADC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Manager at Al Borgo, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
thank you for the good feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    229
    49
    19
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“The best italian in Viena. Basta!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Don't wait me to explain you everything- just go there and enjoy! The ambiente, the italian friendliness with rough(and delarious)humor from Alf..( sorry)from Giacomo.
Just adored it with my wife and believe me, this is a place to try.
PS! By the way, the food is remarkably good and they have some spectacular grappas as well)))

Helpful?
Thank Andrus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Manager at Al Borgo, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
thank you very much - we love your comment: "just go there and enjoy" :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Table for one, unfortunatrly, whilst on business in Viennna. But, using tripadvisor, i booked at this italian and WOW.
I will return as pork in varous ways doesnt excite me.
Cheers

Helpful?
Thank Eitch
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Al_Borgo_Vienna, Manager at Al Borgo, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
thank you very much, hope to see you at your next business trip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for any occasion”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've been here several times and find that the manager is very friendly and willing to accommodate changes to the menu.

The food here is always of high quality, particularly the beef and tuna carpaccio, mushroom soufflé tartlet and truffle pasta. I would recommend this restaurant for any occasion, ranging from casual catch-ups to business meals.

This restaurant makes you feel at home & well taken care of.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan19851301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Italian food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a Italian restaurant with very good food and good location. We had dinner there and had pasta, meet and some taste of the entrees. Everything was very good - the waitor was singing songs from the Godfather and did even know why - smiling and very friendly with good service. They did forget us sometimes so we had to wait for one of the dish on the table and they forgot to bring us the whine menu - we then got it after some time and after one of the guests stood up and drag the service to our table. But the food is very good and not that expansive.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingisund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Borgo also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Al Borgo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing