We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location modern style” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Das Triest
Ranked #85 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location modern style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed for two nights and it was ideal for sightseeing and access to bars and restaurants. The hotel bar is well stocked and stylish. Our room had an Apple TV/internet, plenty of room and v comfortable beds/linen. The staff were very helpful and pleasant throughout. My one negative observation would be to have tea coffee facilities in the room.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room over looking the street rather than courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear jim b!
It is a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us. We will think about a solution for the tea and coffee making facilities in the room and will have something appropriate if you maybe come back the next time!
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    254
    78
    22
    13
See reviews for
84
312
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Hotel Das Triest is a nice choice in Vienna. It is very near all of the historic sites--around the corner from the Vienna Secession building and within walking distance of all of the museums. The room was large, clean, and comfortable, and the front desk staff was very pleasant. It is a very good value for a design "boutique" hotel. On the down side, the surrounding neighborhood is not very beautiful, and it had a rather business like feel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Susan M.
On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel Das Triest I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna.
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

My family took a weekend trip to Vienna and chose to stay at Hotel Das Triest after reading some nice reviews. The hotel is close to transport and not far from city center but a bit tricky to find, and our taxi driver even had to stop and ask for directions.

We were given rooms on the 5th and 6th (top) floors which were tastefully decorated, as you'd expect from a place designed by Terence Conran. The room on the 5th floor was of an average size with a juliet balcony overlooking nothing interesting. The room on the 6th floor, however, was much bigger, with a small sitting area leading to a large private balcony. Across the hall is the communal balcony with a lovely view over the city and the trams passing by.

The trams passes in front of the hotel and the closest stop is a block away. Alternatively it's about a 30-min walk to the old town, a perfect chance to work off that giant schnitzel you'll obviously be consuming while there.

We had dinner at the hotel restaurant one evening and although the food was good and service attentive, we were literally the only guests they had throughout the entire evening. That was a bit awkward, and I felt sorry for the chef for being so underutilized!

Overall, I'd say it's a nice hotel for those who prefer minimalism over ambience. We had a comfortable stay, but next time I'd probably pick somewhere closer to the old city with more buzz.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the best view and access to private and communal balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FollowThatBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear FollowThatBug!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were in Vienna last week and stayed at Hotel Das Triest. The fantastic room we had at the hotel made our stay that much more memorable. We had requested a room for 3 people and were assigned a suite. Ask for room 306. It's at the end of the hallway, therefore the biggest square footage. It was such a huge and comfortable room, looking at the St. Stephan church. The bathrooms are amazing (the water sprays a bit too strong, but we loved it). The room is airy, bright, comfortable. They have designed everything to perfection at the hotel. We booked through Hotels.com and paid 100 Euros a night, including breakfast, which was just amazing. There was even champagne at the breakfast table. The staff is amazing, friendly and helpful. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the centre, very conveniently located. Overall, I cannot say enough good things about this place. The floors higher up have patios or terraces I think, so I don't know what they may be like.

The only negative thing was the internet was working slow in the bed as it was the furthest away in the floor. But it worked well, standing by the door ;)

Room Tip: Room 306 (I guess 206 is the same) has the biggest square footage and is huge. Double windows, very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear lorin m!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Let's just say that this hotel has quite a few positive points but also a couple of negatives. Let's start with the good bits. The hotel is very close to a tram stop and a big underground train interchange at Karlsplatz. Rooms are very clean with very swish bathrooms, and good desk space, as well as large wardrobe. We had a room facing the street; the trams along that street are quite noisy during the day but no problems at night. (We had requested a room facing the courtyard but they were fully booked.) Staff at reception were very friendly and smiley. Only a short (10 min) walk to the opera house, Kärntner Strasse and the Stephansplatz and 15-20 minutes to the Hofburg Palace.

Now the not so good things:
The area around the hotel is not really the most attractive of areas, being a little on the dirty and noisy side, a bit of a contrast from the centre of town. WiFi connection was not so good, being intermittent most of the time, fantastic one second and then rubbish the next. Shower (over-bath type) was a little too powerful and so sprayed across the room making the floor very wet. But perhaps the biggest downer for us was the high breakfast price, as 22 euros each, the highest we've ever seen in a hotel. As a consequence we ate breakfast every morning in the Anker bakery in Karlsplatz underground station; coffee, juice, bread and croissant for 6 to 8 euros each.

Overall the hotel serves its purpose, but it lacked that "icing on the cake" that I always expect from a 5-star hotel. You'll get a good night's sleep in this hotel, that's a certainty, but if you're looking for extra touches, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThamesDanube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Daniel A.!
It is a real pleasure to read such a detailed feedback and it is good to hear that you had an overall fabulous stay with us.
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna.
I am very sorry that the WIFI did not work as well as normal during your stay, we have already made an update to all our systems so this will not happen again and has not happened since then!
We do believe that we offer an excellent choice and high quality on our breakfast buffet and looking at the prices of most 4 and 5 star hotels in the inner city which are between 20 and 35 Euros, we do believe that our breakfast buffet is at a very reasonable price.
Thank you again for sharing your detailed feedback on the TripAdvisor page.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Vienna just off the main tourist area. Most of the typical places for tourists were at least a 20 minute walk to the opera house area, but this hotel has beautiful comfortable rooms, a large bathroom, and it's only two blocks from Naschmarket and restaurant area. The staff was very professional and always pleasant. We did not purchase a breakfast package, so we found a cafe a half a block away. As well as a bank machine a few doors down. I would stay there again!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Judy G.!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
It makes me proud to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I am delighted that you were satisfied with the service you received from our employees.
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Das Triest offers the perfect combination of chilled vibe, easy access to the city and friendly, attentive staff. I've stayed there on many occasions and always had a great time, whether it was a business trip or a family vacation. Rooms are well designed and internet access works simple and reliable. Before the enjoyable breakfast, I usually take a stroll through the Belvedere gardens which are just around the corner: nice way to start the day!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulHaslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear PaulHaslinger!
It makes me really proud to read that you enjoyed your time with us again and again and I am delighted that you were satisfied with the service and amenities we offer!
Looking forward seeing you next time!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#82 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#136 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Property: Hotel Das Triest
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#53 Family Hotel in Vienna
#59 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing