We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm of Vienna in Central Location”
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Das Triest
Ranked #83 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Charm of Vienna in Central Location”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for two nights on a personal trip in Vienna. This hotel was centrally located with easy access to tram. It's just a short walk from nearby station. The building was absolutely stunning, with nice decor and garden suite. The room was in good size for two people, with triple glassing. As such, one can hardly hear the noise from the tram outside. Milton Brown amenities were nice touch, too. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Overall, it's very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Ben5253!
It is a real pleasure to read such a wonderful feedback and it is good to hear that you had a fabulous stay with us.
On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel Das Triest I would like to thank you for your very kind review and for choosing our house for your recent stay in Vienna.
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    267
    81
    22
    14
See reviews for
86
334
52
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Checked in and had upgrade to garden suite. Lovely spacious room that is great to relax and spread out. Hotel has very helpful staff, lovely amenities, great look that is honed with care. Restaurant is also very good and serves super breakfast. Near major sites so a great stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DTAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear DTAsia!
Thank your for having chosen the Das Triest Hotel for your recently visit at our amazing city.
Wow, what a great review, I think there is nothing else to add than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

I remember staying at this hotel more than 10 years before when it's then modern interior and funky design presented quite a refreshing alternative to burgeois design of other Viennese hotels. In the past years Vienna has changed tremendously and has become quite hip, almost fulfilling its promise of being a capitol of MittleEuropa. Das Triest remained the same; its yesterday's chick a tad tired, possibly requiring some fresh paint. All the same, this remains a wonderfully located, friendly, trendy and comfortable place to stay for a night or for a whole weekend in Vienna. The stuff is ubiquitous and helpful. The rooms spacious and at least mine, equipped with iMac and Bang&Olufsen TV. Still rocking after all these years...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomekCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear TomekCH!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
I hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again. Please feel free contacting me personally at any time and I'll take care on your reservation.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

All in all, very good. A few touches needed here and there (bathrooms are big but need a refresh, paintwork is tired in places and the lobby is a little cluttered with random chairs), but there are positives. Breakfast is excellent, dinner was very good and the staff are attentive and polite. Good location and the rooms looking into the courtyard were very quiet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Stenhouse_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Stenhouse_1!
Thank your for having chosen the Das Triest Hotel for your recently visit at our amazing city.
On behalf of the entire team here at the hotel Das Triest I would like to thank you for your very kind review!
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

just had a great 4 night stay,everything was fantastic,great food,location perfect for vienna city and staff were really helpful and polite!Hotel is a gem,will surely be back. Spacious rooms and bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Jackie J.!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest” and lloking forward to welcome you again in our hotel!
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

we Stayed at the Hotel for 2 Nights as soon as we walked in our bags were taken off us ready to be delivered to our room the Reception Staff were polite & professional and very friendly also very patient as our German is very poor, However all the staff spoke excellent English.
The Rooms were Modern and clean, Apple TV and free no hassle WiFi was a great and welcome touch.
The Breakfast was great very good selection of hot and cold food plus endless supply of Tea & Coffee Even had a glass of bubbly for my girlfriends birthday breakfast really nice touch!
The Bar and the staff were excellent it had a really nice vibe.
We went out for a birthday meal and when we returned we found that my girlfriend had left her hat in the Restaurant the Bar Man found the restaurant phone number and called them they had the hat and he arranged for us to pick it up in the morning we were so grateful and he did this all off his own back superb service and Thank you so much
We both like Running and the staff recommended a route which we ran twice and loved it!!
All in All a truly 5 STAR Hotel with kind & professional staff really made our trip special
To all the Staff at Hotel Triest - Thank you for making our Vienna Trip so Special.

Room Tip: We Stayed in Room 502 which was great clean & Modern! The window looked out over the High street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Mark H!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We had a lovely stay in Das Triest.

The room was very clean, had a mac to use as a TV and computer, such a comfy bed and nice bathroom.

We were very disappointed with breakfast as there wasn't much at all too choose from. Even though we had paid for breakfast I wouldn't even eat anything considering the limited amount of food they had. My fiance had bread which was stale. There was fruit flies all over the fruit. Not happy with breakfast at all!

The towels and robes aren't good quality at all and need replacing.

I would say it's probably a 4 star hotel.

It was a good location but about a 10 minute walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Emma-Leigh B.
Thank your for taking time and sharing your experiences at Das Triest on TripAdvisor.
I really would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced.
We will forward your comment to our F& B and Housekeeping Manager to take appropriate and immediate action.
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future again to show you that we can do a lot better!
Please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#81 of 360 in Vienna
2,883 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand - Your Hotel In The City Center
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#50 of 360 in Vienna
928 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#19 of 360 in Vienna
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Property: Hotel Das Triest
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#53 Family Hotel in Vienna
#59 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#61 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing