We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend hotel”
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Das Triest
Ranked #94 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Don't be put off by exterior when you arrive as inside awaits a real gem of a hotel. Smart, classy and modern but not cold. Staff absolutely make your stay and were cheerful and couldn't have been more helpful. Lots of nice little touches and when asked for extra pillow brought to room in minutes.
Location not glamorous or buzzy but very convenient for transport access and short walk to centre. We liked it as slightly away from the crowds.
Had dinner Christmas Eve and meal very good. Popular with well heeled locals and nice not to be over run with children. Wine cellar good but pricey.
Disappointed that restaurant closed Xmas day and Boxing Day but restaurant recommendations more than compensated.
Small lounge area very comfy especially when log fire blazing.
Agree about absence of tea making facilities in room and road noise. Not problem in winter as double glazing excellent but would be noisy with windows open - would ask for courtyard facing room.
This would have been a 5 but for restaurant and bar openings and bathroom towels and robes very worn and were sadly more 2 than 5*!
Would definitely recommend and will visit again and hopefully next time experience nice fluffy new bath linen.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear 58eddie!
We are more than happy that your have enjoyed your time with us and we could fulfill all your expectations.
Further we are very grateful that you have taken time to share your experiences with us.
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced with the bathroom towels and robes, hopefully you will consider us for your next visit to our amazing city so we can show you that this is not our normal standard!
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

323 - 329 of 739 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great location and a nice boutique hotel that is quite different to the large chain hotels. The hotel staff were very friendly, attentive and gave us some great restaurant recommendations. Our room was great, nice toilettries, mac TV and a really comfy bed. The bath robes were a bit tired and could do with replacing is my one gripe. Breakfast was really good - excellent selection and quality. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for somewhere a bit different in Vienna. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torygould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Torygould!

Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
We will forward your comment about the bathrobes, for which we are really sorry, to our Housekeeping Manager to take appropriate action
I will make sure to personally thank our employees for these great efforts in providing you a memorable time in Vienna. We would be delighted to welcome you back whenever your travels bring you to Vienna again.

Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location is good.
Our room was huge but not conveniently accessed. We had to carry our suitcases up a flight of stairs by ourselves, after we went up and down the elevator a couple times because we were told it was on a wrong floor..
The Vienna travel guide in the room is super cool and helpful. Different people from the creative scene are interviewed about their favorite spots and things to do in Vienna!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azeebazee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear azeebazee!

Thank your for having chosen the Das Triest Hotel for your recently visit at our amazing city!
Further we are very grateful that you have taken time to share your experiences with us.
I am very sorry that you found the stairs to your room inconvinient, with your next stay we will of course provide you with a room with easier access!

I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.

Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

very good location.
great buffet breakfast.
amazing collection of gins and whiskeys and much more in the bar !
had room on first floor at the street side - no noise problem at all.
close Karlsplatz christmas market which is much nicer than the one at the Rathaus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vera Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Vera Z.!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Das Trieste was perfectly fine but by no means impressive

Our hotel room wasn't ready for 1.5 hours and the restaurant was not welcoming to take us in whilst we waited. The lobby areas are very plain and the lobby toilets not clean.

We had a garden suite which was fine but only one pillow each which was uncomfortable.
Housekeeping was poor our breakfast was not cleared out the room for over 24 hours and we didn't get any fresh towels.

The bar is great though Average overall but very surprised it has a 5 star rating as isn't luxury and average service.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Olivia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Olivia R.!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community.
I really would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced!
Our Check In time is 3 pm, of course we do our best to provide the rooms at an earlier time if possible, but if we are fully booked the night before and the guests are allowed to check out until noon, we are of course not able to provide rooms before that time.
We are also sorry about the apparently poor standard of our housekeeping and can assure you that this is not our normal standard!
Hopefully you will consider us again in the future to show you our normal standards which we are offering to our many satisfied guests.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely quiet room with a garden terrace. The breakfast is more than enough for sightseeing and to fill you up. Location is very good and close to Karlspkatz which is useful for getting around including the trams. Very close to the centre and the opera is close by. The bar was good for a night cap. We enjoyed our stay here and it's so close to the nachtmarket with lots of bars and restaurants. Recommended for a sightseeing trip.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank the_Geee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear thesweatys!
Thank your for having chosen the Das Triest Hotel for your recently visit at our amazing city.
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the future!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Good location just down from Karlsplatz and about 5min walk from the Opera house and U bahn.
Hotel is stylish and contemporary but not amazingly so. The rooms were clean and we welcomed the fact that they were all non smoking. They gave us a room at the front which was nice but you could hear the trams running past every 3-4 mins so they kindly switched us to a room at the back which was much quieter. The rooms lacked coffee making facilities but that was the only negative as it was clean and comfortable and served our 2 night break just fine. Service was good and breakfast was included and ok. All in all a good location and hotel to stay in for a city break in Vienna.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Denise H.!
We are more than happy that we could fulfill all your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#73 of 359 in Vienna
2,980 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#144 of 359 in Vienna
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand - Your Hotel In The City Center
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#20 of 359 in Vienna
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#53 Family Hotel in Vienna
#59 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#69 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $141 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing