We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and inexpensive hotel in the center” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Das Triest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Das Triest
Ranked #84 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent and inexpensive hotel in the center”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel is right next to TU Wien and very close (~5min walk) to Karlsplatz.
Hence, no public transportation problems.
The hotel is very clean, and has working air conditioning (which is a bit rare in Vienna).
The breakfast was pricey (~20 Euro per person), but there is a multitude of much cheaper places within 100m from the hotel, from cafes to full-fledged restaurants. If you are in a money-saving mood, there is a supermarket across the street.
The only entertainment system they have in the hotel is iMac -- you have a large-screen iMac with blutooth mouse and keyboard in every room.
The personnel is friendly and helpful.
Shop around for prices before ordering. Some companies also have company discounts there, so it's worth checking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zm_Gorynych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Zm_Gorynych!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer. I am really sorry that you found the price of our breakfast to high, although we do believe that it offers good value for the price also compared to other hotels!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    254
    78
    22
    13
See reviews for
84
312
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a great hotel with very easy walking to the centre and also the hatsch market (great eating places.). The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the courtyard very inviting.

The only fly in the ointment was we never got to have dinner there. The first evening there was a wedding party and later on another one, so the restaurant was not open to us, which is how we found the hatsch market. We were told it would be open the next evening but when we enquired were told it was fully booked. Again we had to got out to eat and as we had had a busy day felt more that aggrieved of a taxi ride to an unknown restaurant. Evidently the restaurant is always well booked and it would have been good if we had been told this right at the start when perhaps we could have made a reservation. I don't think I have even been in a hotel where you can't eat when there is a restaurant.

Really a pity as we liked it very much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Clare261!
Thank you for taking time and sharing your experiences at Das Triest!
First of all I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced with our restaurant. Please let me assure you that we normally find a place for our hotel guests, it was only at these two evening due to the wedding party and another one not possible!
Nonetheless we will leave a note for our future guests that it would be better to reserve in advance, as our restaurant is very popular in Vienna!
I hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again. Please feel free contacting me personally at any time and I'll take care on your reservation and will arrange a table in our restaurant as well!
Best regards
Michael Willars
Reservations & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I changed into this hotel when I arrived in Vienna in a heatwave and had a room in a non-A/C hotel. This hotel is charming, discrete -- air-conditioned -- and despite being on a busy street, with trams, is quiet. Breakfast was good -- some days there was granola, some not, some days the eggs were over-cooked, some not. Nice public spaces, and a really helpful staff made this a pleasant trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daithesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear daithesong!
Thank your for having chosen the Das Triest Hotel for your recently visit at our amazing city.
We are more than happy that we could fulfill all your expectations and that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
I hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again. Please feel free contacting me personally at any time and I'll take care on your reservation.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Reservations & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and the location was spot on-handy for the centre and metro/trams

Staff very helpful and rooms very nice-check out the Conran connection

Breakfast possibly the best we have had!

Overall great stay and we will return

Room Tip: The rooms looking into the inner courtyard were nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david7721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear alan b!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
I truly hope that you will visit us in the future soon again and please feel free to contact me personally if you need any assistance.
Best regards
Michael Willars
Revenue & Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Great hotel in a convenient location: 10 minute walk to the opera. Lovely courtyard for breakfast. the breakfast was very good with also a lot of organic stuff.
the room was spacious and we enjoyed the retro touch of the bathroom.
i would return there

Room Tip: even if we were on the side of the main street with the tram we had no issues of noise at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlerital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear dlerital!
Thank you so much for your superb review. We feel more than grateful that you've enjoyed your stay with us at Das Triest!
Luckily this summer is a good one so all our guests are able to enjoy the beautiful inner courtyard for breakfast and dinner with barbeque!
I hope you will consider Das Triest in the future again. Please feel free contacting me personally at any time and I'll take care on your reservation.
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Reservations & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a convenient location--easy walk to Old City. Lovely courtyard for breakfast each morning and also available for dinner in the evenings. Staff was very helpful--good experience. Three adult daughters traveling with us who shared a triple--it was very spacious and comfortable for them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliep1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear juliep1221!
Thanks for taking the time and sharing your experiences with the TripAdvisor community. We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us especially in terms of our service and amenities we offer.
I am glad that you had good weather during your stay and could enjoy our beautiful inner courtyard for breakfast and dinner as well!
Well, I think there is nothing else to add, than saying: “Thank you for being our guest”!
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Reservations & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is a nice hotel. Conveniently located near the tourist attractions but not in the middle of them which is a good thing for Vienna. From the hotel, you can walk everywhere so you don't need the metro at all. The room has nice design, I liked having the Mac in the room, I especially liked the bathroom having a retro design. Though the shower cap had its problems, looking vintage shouldn't mean broken (or not working properly) in my book! It was annoying. I had a problem with breakfast also, it was included when I booked but the front desk asked me to pay so I did. In the end I contacted the agency and found out it was included! Maybe this is a trap so don't fall for it! I was annoyed enough about the issues that I didn't book here next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raindeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDasTriest, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Das Triest, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear raindeep!
Thank you for taking time and sharing your experiences at Das Triest
I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced and would like to assure you that this is not our normal standard!
Please be assured that we do not want to trap anybody in paying an extra breakfast, this was a terrible mistake from our side in entering your reservation information. In case we have not yet refunded you for that please feel free to conatct me personally and I will take care that you receive your refund!
I really hopte that you will give us another chance to show you that we can do better than that!
Best regards from Vienna
Michael Willars
Reservation & Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Le Meridien Vienna
Le Meridien Vienna
#83 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,763 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Josefstadt
The Levante Parliament
The Levante Parliament
#135 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Radisson Blu Style Hotel, Vienna
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand
Grand Ferdinand
#95 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Das Triest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Das Triest

Property: Hotel Das Triest
Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 12, Vienna 1040, Austria
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Vienna
#53 Family Hotel in Vienna
#59 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#61 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Das Triest 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das Triest is a classic design hotel in the heart of Vienna. It is the masterpiece of Sir TerenceConran of hotel design in Austria. Located in the trendy Freihaus Quarter it is only 5 minutes walkingdistance to the state opera and the famous Naschmarkt. St. Stephens cathedral is reachable in a 10 minuteswalk. Some 300 years ago the building was the main station for the horse-drawn postal route fromVienna to Triest. The original stables with their vaulted ceilings were converted to lounges, suitesand conference rooms with distinctive flair. The awarded restaurant Collio spoils its guests with northitalian cuisine. The mediterranean courtyard is one of the busy city´s cherished quiet spots. The perfectplace to have breakfast or BBQ during summertime!Let us be your home away from home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Das Triest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Das Triest Hotel
Das Triest Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing