We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Location is Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #62 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
258 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The Location is Perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The hotel's location is absolutely perfect. It is in the city center, less than a block from the Opera and the Sacher Cafe, easy walking distance of many attractions, and a block from the metro, the trams, and an excellent sausage stand. Plus, it was amazingly quiet, though my room faced an alley.

The elevator was not working during my visit, though they were clearly trying to reopen it at greatest possible speed -- they were working on it from morning to evening, and from the looks of it, they were rebuilding the entire mechanism. When I arrived, someone was waiting for arriving guests at the foot of the stairs, in order to carry their bags. He was very nice, and extremely apologetic about the inconvenience. Somehow, I never minded.

The room was a decent size, the bathroom surprisingly large (with bathtub!), and it was very comfortable. There was a desk with a nice chair, and a beautiful wardrobe. It looked very appropriately Vienna. The Wi-fi worked well, and the TV had both BBC News and CNN International.

The breakfast room was very nice, and the staff were quite friendly and attentive. Nice selection, refreshed often, and good coffee. (Then again, I never had a bad cup of coffee in Austria!)

All in all, a very pleasant stay. I plan to return with a friend this October.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    277
    54
    10
    2
See reviews for
174
317
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Quainton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights and the room was large and clean with the option of clean towels every day if we needed them. The staff were friendly and were always on hand to answer any queries or problems. The food at breakfast was always fresh and plentiful. with the Location of the Pension being central to the city it is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAB-Photography-Diss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This was our second visit to the Pension Suzanne. We stayed there in 2008 when we were in Vienna for a week attending a Ring Cycle (4 Wagner operas in 6 days) at the Statsoper, which is directly around the corner. We returned this year after completing a river boat cruise down the Rhine, Main and Danube rivers from Basel Switzerland.
Again we were pleased with our choice. The pension occupies the 2d and 3rd floors of a seven storey office building, and has about 25 units. Our room was quite decently sized, with a sofa and side chairs in the living area. The decor is Vienna 1890-1910. There is a tub/shower with a folding plastic shower door that requires a little manuevering, but otherwise works. The staff is very friendly and helpful, checking us in at 10:00 A.M. and allowing us to store our considerable cruise luggage for several hours before our return flight after we checked out. You are given three keys, one for the door from the street, which is sometimes locked, one for the "wing" in which our room was located, and one for our room. The bed was good sized and comfortable.
One is able to easily walk all around the Innerstadt part of Vienna from Pension Suzanne, and we took advantage of that fact. The only problem was heat. It reached 100 degrees the first day we were there [and today, August 7 it is 104 there compared with 103 here in Phoenix AZ!!]. It remained close to that for all the time we were there; and the Pension Suzanne has no air conditioning. A fan was provided which we kept turned on the entire time, with the windows cracked open. We also noted that many stores in Vienna also lack cooling; in fact it is a rare establishment that has it. I would imagine the high end newer hotels all have air conditioning, but suspect that many smaller, older hotels and other pensions, do not. We certainly did not need it in our first trip in June 2008.
We can understand the reviewer who believes that the entrance off the street is not too inviting, but the rooms, while not new, are prefectly fine, and the helpful staff and superb location make this a very good place to stay in Vienna (when it cools down!)
We also enjoyed the typically continental buffet breakfast in an attractive late 19th century room.
We have not compared rates with Vienna hotels, but at around 127 Euros per night (breakfast included), we felt that Pension Suzanne did well in that facet of hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac MD
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The best thing Pension Suzanne has going for it is the location--very central and easy walking distance to most old town Vienna sights. Past that, one can only say that the place is mediocre--adequate but not particularly great. There is definitely a dinginess attached to the entrance and the stairs going up to it, and the period furnishings also give that feeling although the rooms otherwise smell and feel fine. The breakfast is standard continental fare --simple and basic. Rooms are an okay size--not roomy, nor small. The hostess answers questions and helps with anything needed, but is not proactively gracious or welcoming (again a very utilitarian feel about the place).
On the super plus side, the place is very convenient to eateries, car rentals, concerts, underground, and major sights. On the down side, the wifi is really lousy: comes in and goes out so that you can never get all your stuff done without groaning, reconnecting, and moving around your room, or going out into the hallway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inmotion2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Michael was very helpful via email making, and changing reservation. Verified our safe arrival, and all was great. Victorian chairs, couch, desk, table were pretty, albeit not recliner comfy. Five short blocks in either direction to all underground lines.

Relaxing, wide assortment for breakfast with great coffee (got my own china pot!)

Great restaurants across the street.

Long trip? Low cost 14 hour laundry service a block away.

Another great recommendation from Rick Steves!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leib L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Pension Suzanne has a fabulous location. It is across from the Opera House and very close to the main walking street with all the shops and restaurants. The metro which takes you to the airport is a short walk. . The employees were quite welcoming and helpful. If you pay your bill in cash, you receive a nice discount. The breakfast was quite lovely. It was in a beautifully furnished dining room with a nice variety of food. We had five people and were quite comfortable in the spacious two bedroom apartment which has a refrigerator. We really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Pension Suzanne.

Room Tip: If you have a family, the two bedroom apartment is wonderful. The living room is quite spacious and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy-Theo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We liked this small hotel very near the Opera House. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was very good and the convenience of being able to easily walk to everything inside the ring was priceless. The cost was reasonable considering the proximity to everything. Our room was adequate with a small bathroom. Everything looks old fashioned but it was very clean. We'd stay there again if the opportunity comes up to visit Vienna again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 685JimM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#183 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Property: Pension Suzanne
Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#118 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing