We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great people, good rooms, central location”
Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #128 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I do agree with all the good things said about this place, and there is no real need to re-iterate them her again. Fabulous location, very friendly staff, good breakfast, spotless rooms… the list goes on and on. The facade of the hotel and entrance in the first floor looks like every apartment complex in Vienna rather than a hotel which may be a bit of a surprise, but don’t let the first impression put you off. You would miss the best value for money in Vienna.

We stayed in room 61 on the sixth floor. It is a clean room with not the most precious old furniture which is great if you are there with a 5 year old as we were. It is a recently renovated and specious room with a kitchenette. The kitchenette is in a separate small room and equipped with a tiny table in the corner, a gas stove with two fields (no oven), a small fridge with a small built in freezer, a coffee maker of the sort where you need ground coffee beans and a filter bag, a sink, and dishes, cutlery, pots and pans. You’ll find everything needed to cook simple meals.

The bedroom has a double bed with two brand new (16 July 2013) rather firm mattresses, a good sized TV with many local stations plus the Italian RAI and CNN. We had a single bed for our son at the end of the room. There is a large wardrobe which was big enough to accommodate all our cloth as well as our 3 large suitcases, and it also has a small safe with a key lock.

We were there in summer and the weather was glorious. As the room has no air-condition, we first thought it may be an issue, but the temperature fell during the evening to cool the room and it was a pleasure to sleep with open windows. The room gets rather warm during sunny summer days which may be an issue if your child still needs a nap. This room faces away from the road into a courtyard. While this may spoil the view a bit, it makes this room very quiet for a hotel in the middle of it all.

The bathroom is newly renovated and the toilet in a separate room. Shower and toilet are neat and clean.

This brings me to the great location of this hotel. It is literally across the road from the State Opera and just around the corner (50meter) from the main shopping mile. The underground trains U1, U2, and U4 at station ‘Karlsplatz’ are c. 200 meters away which connects you to virtually every corner of the city within minutes. A weekly pass for ALL public transport in Vienna city for a week costs as little as 16 EUR and is valid from one Monday to the next. Just ask at Pension Suzanne where to get them.

Food shopping: A ‘Spar’ – a small grocery shopping centre - is on the same road as your underground train, approximately 250 meters from Suzanne. Again ask for directions at the Suzanne if you did not see it on your stroll around the block. The logo of the ‘Spar’ looks like a green Christmas tree in a circle. You’ll find that beer is ridiculously cheap there: 500ml wheat beer is 79 cent and can be bought there as well.

If you are after more reasonable priced shops than what you will find in the touristic epicentre, go to Mariahillferstrasse. This is a shopping street which offers everything you can wish for. If you ask yourself where the people of Vienna go shopping, this is the spot. Take the U2 from station Karlsplatz in direction ‘Aspernstrasse’ to station ‘Volkstheater’ (5 minutes). Now change underground trains at station ‘Volkstheater’ to U3, direction ‘Ottakring’. Two stations later you can leave at station ‘Zieglergasse’ and you are at Mariahilferstrasse. It sounds a bit complicated, but ask for a map of the underground route in the Pension Suzanne and you’ll see it is no worry at all.

If you are in Vienna with kids, there are good playgrounds in the Stadtpark which is a 15 minutes walk or one station from station ‘Karlsplatz’with the underground U4 to ‘Stadtpark’ direction ‘Heiligenstadt’. Pretty much every park has a good play ground which was a positive surprise for us. If it is getting hot and you are looking to cool down, go to the Gänsehäufel which is a lido at an island in Donau river. It takes about 30 minutes by public transport to get there and is well worth it, especially if you have kids. It only costs EUR 5 entrance fee and features a nice water play pool for all age groups, a wave pool and other pools as well as beaches at Donau river. To get there, take U1 from Karlsplatz in direction Leopoldau to station Kaisermühlen-VIC. Then follow all other traveller to the bus station 200 meters from the U1 station. Take any of the busses 90A, 91A or 92A until station ‘Schüttauplatz’. In the bus is a digital display at the front of the bus showing the next station. Press the stop button to signal the driver that you want to leave. Don’t be shy to ask for directions, everyone speaks English, but you will probably not need it.

And a last one for the kids, the Naturhistorische Museum has a nice dinosaur exhibition. Getting there: U2 from your very familiar station Karlsplatz to station Volkstheater (two stations). Well… I told you Pension Suzanne is in the middle of it.

And yes, if you ask yourself where we will stay in Vienna next time and where we will send all our friends and family, it is the Pension Suzanne, our little place in the hearth of this fantastic city. I sit in the kitchenette as I type this report and I am sad that our stay here nears the end.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ooO_HH_Ooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 777 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

Pension Suzanne has an old world charm with modern conveniences and clean, spacious rooms. It absolutely could not be in a better location, as it is mere minutes from the Ringstrasse, subway station, State Opera, and main shopping street in Vienna. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and breakfast is great. The pension reception is on the 2nd floor (American style), so you must enter through what looks like a business building. We will definitely be staying here on our next trip to Vienna!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Pretty much ditto everyone elses statements. Excellent location. Could not be much better. Our room with king (two twins) was large. Had both a couch and two chairs. Old world charm and decor done in a nice way. Friendly staff. Plenty of choices for breakfast. Really no negatives.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This pension is fantastically located, just around the corner from the Opera, and full of old-world charm. Gilt mirrors, framed oil paintings, velvet chairs, deep red carpet with green beds - a bit like being in a David Lynch movie! In a good way! The staff were always friendly and helpful. They keep their reservations in a big pencilled-in bit of paper instead of a computer - I love that too! No A/C which can be a problem in a heat wave - it's been up to 36 degrees (97 degrees Farenheit) the last few days so I reluctantly ended up moving out to a hotel with A/C. But next time I'm back in Vienna I will be back here for sure. (Only other negative, the lift is sometimes a bit temperamental and doesn't come when you call. I just took the stairs). But overall, this hotel was a real find and I heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: I had a room looking out to the back on the 6th floor, was very quiet. You're looking out to ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwitraveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights in April. Pension Suzanne has an old-fashioned, comfortable feel. We stayed on the 8th floor overlooking the small courtyard parking lot in the back. There was a narrow patio that we could step out on and look at the rooftops. No views, but not ugly. The room was very quiet due to the location.

The room was sizable with a full kitchenette and bath down a hallway. Furniture, light fixtures, tables, etc. were all cheerily old-fashioned in a way an American traveler would expect in Vienna. The room was clean, as was the bath. The only issue was an odd plumbing fix for a steady drip coming from the wall-mounted water heater, which caused a very slight smell. Other than that, the bath was very nice and clean.

Service was very good. The proprietors were always happy to give advice and directions. Breakfast, although served in a somewhat formal room, was casual and friendly. The food was typical for all our breakfasts across Bavaria, but not lacking for anything.

Pension Suzanne is very nice place to stay in an outstanding location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saxonole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in May. The location was very good with easy access to the subway and sights near the Hofburg palace. Lots of restaurants nearby. The breakfast was a little limited compared to other hotels, but very adequate. The bathroom was a little small but the room was spacious and clean. Some of the old fixtures were a novelty. The owners were very helpful and I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernie_OPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here in 2005 and were delighted to book another stay for our 2013 visit. You just can't beat the location -- just steps from the Opera, Albertinum, and the entire downtown area via the pedestrian street. Some positive changes since our first stay -- free wifi and new soundproofing windows to complement the delightful old world feel of the large rooms. The breakfast was wonderful and our group rated the coffee the best we had on our trip. Hope we can make another trip to Vienna sometime -- thanks to Michael and the entire staff for a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ret48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#178 of 358 in Vienna
415 reviews
Inner City
Starlight Suiten Hotel Renngasse
Inner City
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
Ruby Lissi Hotel Vienna
#32 of 358 in Vienna
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
K+K Palais Hotel
K+K Palais Hotel
#37 of 358 in Vienna
1,296 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 358 in Vienna
812 reviews
Inner City
Pension Neuer Markt
Pension Neuer Markt
#189 of 358 in Vienna
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#117 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: $103 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing