We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Suzanne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Suzanne
Ranked #66 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Christmas in Vienna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We were visiting Vienna for the Christmas markets and Pension Suzanne We got 2 wonderful rooms for 5 people, so we could gather at the end of the day for happy hour or snacks. The rooms were clean and large. The breakfast was great with a choice of cereal, yogurt, cheese, and a big pot of coffee or tea. Everyone was very cheerful and helpful with giving directions and advice. Its absolutely in the center of everything, so the location couldn't be better.

Room Tip: the curtains are light, so if you want a dark room, ask for one that doesn't face the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    277
    54
    10
    2
See reviews for
174
317
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Clean, comfortable, central, welcoming and an excellent breakfast. We stayed here with our grown up son for two nights. They had made a double room into a triple for a meagre 20 euros extra per night. They kindly looked after our bags for the day that we checked out. We arrived at 9.30 am and we were allowed into our room immediately. All in all we could not recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Polly_B_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Pension Suzanne was a perfect place to stay in Vienna. It is owned by people who care about their guests and warmly welcomed us. They were always happy to answer any questions and made helpful suggestions as well especially for our night at the Opera telling us how to get there, where to eat. We had a good size comfortable room and the hotel is centrally located so it is easy to walk to many sights. The morning breakfast (free of charge) was not only good but served by a most gracious and welcoming hostess. In spite of the less than glamorous entrance, this hotel is delightful and will definitely be on our list for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbugsueToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Pension Suzanne for 3 nights back in September. We couldn't have been happier with our selection of hotel. I will be echoing other comments here, but the location is indeed fantastic. Being so close to the Opera House, Karntnerstrasse, the Hofburg and Karlsplatz station made this just ideal for us. The room we had was clean and comfortable and came with a small kitchenette that came in handy.The only downside to our stay was that the elevator was not working at the time(I have read here that it has since been fixed!) But a nice young gentleman carried our luggage to our room and we found this to be only a slight inconvenience. Overall the service was excellent. We enjoyed the breakfasts that were served each morning in the pleasant breakfast room. And when we needed to get to the airport early to catch our flight home, the staff made sure we had breakfast even though it was earlier than the usual serving time would start. We really enjoyed Vienna and are hoping to return in a couple years time. When we do we will certainly make plans to stay at the Pension Suzanne again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank brewcrew_12211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just return from a 5 days holiday in Vienna and stay at the wonderful pension Suzanne. This is definitely the best location you wish to stay while visiting Vienna!! The room was perfect for our needs - we had a 4 person's room with 2 double beds. Very clean and comfortable and every day we got the room clean and fixed. The breakfast buffet is reach and varied, and all staff around are pleasantly and always there for you with any question needed.

Room Tip: do not hesitate to make reservation - you will be pleased with this place for sure!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I spent four nights (12/3/12 - 12/7/12) at the Pension Suzanne for my first-ever trip to Vienna and it could not have been a more perfectly located property for my visit. The Strafinger family and their staff could not have been more friendly or more helpful.

I was traveling solo, so I was in a single room that was approximately 10 feet x 12 feet with a rather large bathroom (approx. 7' x 10') with a full bath and hand-held shower. It was nicely furnished with antique tables, desk, and wardrobe. It also had a small television set. It faced an inner courtyard (no view), so it was generally free of noise; however I could hear trash dumpsters being emptied in the morning.

The building that it's in is unremarkable--it appears that the rooms are scattered through an apartment building. Mine was on the 7th floor (with elevator).

In the reception area, there's a small desk with a computer for Internet access (free).

The biggest selling point, aside from the staff, is the location. It's just steps to the Staatoper or the Hotel Sacher or Kartner Strasse, the main pedestrian-only shopping district. A block away is the ring tram and a subway station (U-bahn), and two blocks away was a small grocery store if you wanted to purchase any groceries. I was able to walk to the Musikverein for a concert in less than 10 minutes.

The breakfast served is a typical German/Austrian breakfast with cereals, yogurts, cheeses, cold cuts, hard or soft-boiled eggs, breads, rolls, and fruit.

My only complaint (a minor one but enough to warrant a less than perfect Service rating), is that when you make the reservation on their website, they will follow up with an email asking for a credit card number to hold the room. I understand that is the norm, however, I was reluctant to provide my credit card information through an unsecured email in this day and age of identity theft. I prefer credit card transactions take place over a secured, encrypted website. We obviously worked through that successfully.

They also stated that even though the would use the credit card to hold the room, they preferred that the final payment be made in cash. (I also understand that's more common in Europe than in the U.S.)

It's a great experience for the value, and should I return to Vienna, I would definitely make Pension Suzanne my "home."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zed1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed based on Trip Advisor reviews, and found it a most pleasant place to stay. The approach from the street caused us some anxiety before we arrived...this is not a sweet little old lady's old house, but the pension is a collection of rooms over a Japanese restaurant and in front of a small theatre. HOWEVER, once inside...the management staff cannot be beat, every single person attentive, professional and warm in their treatment of us. Everything was as advertised. The room had a small kitchen and was spotlessly clean.
METERS from the Stadtopera and some great evening walks through a Vienna getting ready for Christmas. We were able to enjoy our stay at Vienna without needing a taxi, as the location was close to every amenity we could wish.
Internet and a quite adequate breakfast buffet were included in our room, along with taxes. No surprise expenses.
VERY PLEASED.

Room Tip: We were on sixth floor, facing the theatre/courtyard side instead of the road. Try that side of bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeStembers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Inner City
Pension Aviano
Pension Aviano
#184 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Suzanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Suzanne

Property: Pension Suzanne
Address: Walfischgasse 4, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Location: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Vienna
#38 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#118 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Suzanne 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pension Suzanne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Suzanne Hotel Vienna
Pension Suzanne Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing